We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bascarsija

Bascarsija
Postna ulica 8, Maribor, Slovenia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 62 Restaurants in Maribor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very, very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

In my last review I was a bit harsh on this place. On this years visit my feelings very much changed. I tried the same meals as last year, and to my surprise, everything was just as it should be. The Bey's Soup I complained on in my last review was different, as it should be. No potatoes any more and okra become part of it. My suggestion to the restaurant chef - put a little more okra and serve it with a spoon of cream and a slice of lemon, and that will be it. I also tried kebab, it was very very nice.My wife tried veal soup, she said it was nice also. Compared to my visit last year, the place is now totally packed.Now I can highly recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing food and nice ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Restaurant Bascarsija was recommended to us by Franc- owner of Vila Mira B&B where we were staying. We had a long day having done Pohorje and Ptuj on the same day and we were very hungry by the time we came back to city centre. The variety at this restaurant was good and the food was excellent. And I should not forget to mention the person who was attending us. He made some good recommendations and we had a great experience at this lovely restaurant.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beware of huge portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Excellent Bosnian cuisine, but beware – the portions are enormous. My starter of beans and sausages served with delicious, fresh bread, left me bursting. The waitress then appeared with, or rather half-hidden behind, the meat platter for two. An obscene amount of dead animals furnished the plate. We ate till we were in danger of needing urgent medical treatment but sadly a huge amount of the food went unfinished. It all tasted great and cost around 35 euros, including drinks of beer and wine. A point deducted from service for not warning us we were ordering a stupid amount of food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good hearty Bosnian food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had the Bosnian platter for two, which came out with plenty of food for us. It is centrally located and the staff were friendly. It was recommended to us by locals and we can see why.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great place with unique atmosphere and excellent Bosnian dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The restaurant's interior is a great indicator of how a old city centre of Bosnia's capital city - Sarajevo looks like. The restaurant has it's own sole and a very warm atomsphere. It makes you stay there even for hours. The dishes are all based on Bosnian food and the rumors are saying that the dishes are even better prepared than they are in Bosnia. The food is very tasty, but what impressed me, were the way that dishes were served. In a very interesting container made out of clay.
So, going to Baščaršija isn't only a unique expirience for the stomach, it is also a great expirience for the mind and heart. I highly recommend the restaurant and can say that it is doubtless one of the better restaurants in town.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bascarsija also viewed

Maribor, Styria Region
Maribor, Styria Region
 

Been to Bascarsija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bascarsija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.