We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Aromas Will Draw You In!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indijska restavracija Namaste

Indijska restavracija Namaste
Breg 8, Ljubljana, Slovenia
00386 1 425 0159
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 374 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Upper Bavaria, Germany
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful Aromas Will Draw You In!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I'm no expert on Indian cuisine, but I can recognize great service and a terrific sidewalk cafe environment when I see it. Namaste was just a block from where Free Tours terminates, and the wonderful aromas stopped us in our tracks when we meandered near. The food was delicious, fresh and served in a very appealing style. Two adults and two young children shared two appetizers, flat bread and a single entree (tandoori chicken), and found that to be plenty for lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    16
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Nice location, average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I am surprised to read some of the reviews: the food is not bad but has nothing to do with indian food. The dishes we tried were almost tasteless, I am not a fan of hot food, but spices are an essential part of Indian cuisine which is not to be found at this restaurant.

The location is nice.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We went with a small group to have a few Indian specialities. First impression: we were looking for a seat and waiter was very - harsh or what to say. And than he asked if we will eat and we said we will try just their drinks and that blowed him off. He loudly said ?)*"=! and that was it. And mango lasi is bad too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

First of all I would like to say the food is very nice, my family and I ate there plenty of times. The only complaint I have is with our last visit. The poor service let down the food and spoilt our evening. The waitress who served us was cold and unfriendly. When we decided to dine there (25th July at 5 in the evening), we chose to sit indoors. We politely asked where to be seated, the waitress led us inside and commanded us to sit at a table in a rude and condescending manner. If the waitress is having a bad day, she should leave her problems at home and should not take it out on customers. The bad service outweighed the good food, as the atmosphere was ruined.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenija
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not the place to go if you like Indian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Food will fill your stomach but that's about it - it's bland and uninspiring, the spices don't add up to a harmonious meal. And it's quite costly at that. Plus: the restaurant has a nice location along the river.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indijska restavracija Namaste also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Indijska restavracija Namaste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indijska restavracija Namaste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.