We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in reclusive patio - only during the week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maxim

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maxim
Trg republike 1, Ljubljana, Slovenia
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 372 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Price range: $29 - $117
Cuisines: International, Slovenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food in reclusive patio - only during the week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

As a local i have been here occasionally during the last three years and have always been satisfied. This is a "businessmen" oriented pricey restaurant within an upmarket multistore building with own garage vis- a- vis the Parliament House, nicely furbished, discreet, quiet. In summer, they serve in the patio, you can only come for great wines or cocktails, but food is very good. The chef had a restaurant in Germany before with one Michelin star. I had recently a late lunch in the patio with my wife during the week (it is closed on weekends). Wine list is offering best Slovenian wines, and the menu was mouthwatering. I had quail and my wife sea monster fish. The food was prepared in French style, and actually it is probably the only such restaurant at the time in Ljubljana, even though the chef is of local origin.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ljubljana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“excellent food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have dined on severačl occasions here. The food is very good to excellent. In fapproxomately five meals I had here only once one dish was faulty - not very fres scallops. Otherwise both fish and meat dishes are very good. Staff is attentove end kind, They have a vas choice of excellent wines by the glass. The place is on the expensive side for Ljubljana but worth it. The drawback is the location which is underground in the Maximarket department store. The decoration is nice, but cennot replace sunlight.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Ljubljana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food is great, the prices are not so high, the ambient is very nice,
It is in the middle of downtown...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The new Maxim rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have never been to the old Maxim, but since it was taken over by the chef Andrej Kuhar in 2011 I decided I have to give it a try. My girlfriend and I went there twice and were extremely satisfied both times.

The service was very professional and helpful. It was nice to sit at the fountain in the outdoor atrium, which can be quite romantic after sunset with candlelight. During the previous visit we sat inside and a piano player was playing nice tunes in a nice and spacious dinning room.

The menu changes all the time and the food is great. Here is what we had in our latest visit:

Greetings from the kitchen: grilled split shrimp on a home made potato chip, avocado and tomato chunky salsa

Cold starter: cold venison tenderloin on rocket, wild berries marmalade

Warm starter: scallops and tempura fried cauliflower on a
champagne sauce with grilled cherry tomatoes

Fish main dish: pan-fried turbot fillet on fresh noodles with a bell pepper sauce

Meat main dish: lamb tenderloin served on top of a portobello mushroom, spinach and polenta, demi-glace

At the end fresh raspberries, dark chocolate and port wine, all on the house!

Can not wait to visit again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Glory days are back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

25 years ago Ljubljana had two luxury restaurants, one of them was Maxim, the other Vitez. Both drowned in complete mediocrity, Maxim fighting for survival much longer. Dark ages ensued as can be seen in some previous posts. Luckily, in 2011 the then-CEO of the restaurant owner, the largest Slovenian retailer, managed in to recruit a Michelin starred chef with both experience and patience to restart the story. Mr Kuhar (kuhar means cook in Slovenian language) made major changes in restaurant (and especially in a more relaxed one directly above, in the same department store), and is now trying to restore the past glory.

Parking is easy – a big 2-level basement garage in the same building. It is effectively a cellar restaurant, no great views in spite of huge glass walls. Touch of exclusivity has been added in 2011 with a proper reception. Elegant and impeccable settings. Faultless bathrooms. All proceeds from your arrival to ordering are done by the book, no mistake. Wine list still far below standard for a restaurant competing to be the best in a EU capital, hopefully it will improve in both dimensions. Service faultless.

Cuisine has been perfected by the chef throughout his long career in Germany. Colours compete and combine endlessly on each perfected plate. Now, it becomes a matter of personal taste whether you adore the German interpretation of French haute cuisine, or detest it. If you opt for the latter, you will be disappointed. Surely this is as far from Mediterranean simplicity of flavors and techniques as possible. Also no touch of the local traditions. But a masters's work. I would give it 16+ on a 1 to 20 scale.

Prices are very much on the same level as JB, As and the new Cubo, its top competitors. A vast majority of clients are business people and politicians, domestic and foreign. If you are a foodie and in town for more than one night, go to both Maxim and JB to compare.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxim also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Maxim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.