We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, really bad service!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zlata Ribica

Zlata Ribica
5 Cankarjevo Nabrezje, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
+386 1 620 88 34
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 374 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Price range: $12 - $61
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Slovenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In one of the oldest houses in Ljubljana, the former engraved with the year 1578 which is above the front door wiping out time is already extractor wine in 1790.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, really bad service!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The best thing of this place is the location, but terrible service. We were a party of three that ordered just two salads and a risotto. After one hour we were still waiting for our meal. Just one waiter realized that we hadn't had our food yet so he went to the kitchen to check the remaining time. Twenty minutes later we got our food. The rice was overcooked and tasteless. After this poor service no one apologized.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    46
    39
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice food with a nice view to the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We ate here on a sunday at noon, not to busy. Fast and friendly service. We sat at the window with nice view of the people strolling by. Food was very nice, a bit privy maybe.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food on a Sunday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

First of all this one the few restaurants in Ljubljana that serves late on a sunday night. The food was excelent and the deserts amazing. One of Ljubljana finest!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were attracted by the outside table setting that we sat down for dinner. It was right to the river with people strolling along the street. We ordered the mixed shellfish and roasted lamb with beer. The food was very good but pricey. Total was 64.9 Eur. That was our most expensive meal so far in the Balkan Peninsula. Anyway they offered a dessert wine for the bill. Service was generally acceptable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brabourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It was ok, food good, service poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We thought we'd try one of the classic riverside restaurants but were a little disappointed. The food was very nice and the beefsteak cooked perfectly rare. We had to wait a long time for any service even once it was clear that our plates were empty along with more importantly our wine bottle!! In the end having asked for the dessert menu quite some time before we finally gave up and asked for the bill. The waiter then perked up a bit and talked us into a dessert and Dissarono (was too late by then to start another bottle of wine). The chocolate souffle with the liquid centre was very dry - although I guess the centrer was marginally more moist. At 160 euro's for the three course meal plus a bottle of local white and 2 Dissarono's each really wasn't great value - especially compared to the other food we had over the weekend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zlata Ribica also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Zlata Ribica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zlata Ribica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.