We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dining experience in Ljubljana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Julija

Julija
9 Stari Trg, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
1 425 6463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 371 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience in Ljubljana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My daughter and I on a road trip from Munich to Istanbul stayed overnight in Ljubljana and had the wonderful opportunity to have Julija's restaurant recommended to us. It was crowded, but they found a table for us. The service was extremely friendly, prompt, and impeccable. The food was delicious, and the price, I could not believe how inexpensive that great meal was. I gave a very generous tip to help make up for what I was ready to pay.
Go to Julija's, have a great dining experience and excellent food and service. Worth going back to Ljubljana just for that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    346
    71
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, all at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went to Julija on the earnest and insistent recommendation of our hotel hosts, even though we were tempted to go elsewhere. I'm glad we followed their advice. This is a charming restaurant, both in terms of location and in terms of physical ambience. And the food is really superb -- top quality. The restaurant specializes in traditional Slovenian cuisine, with an international touch. The menu was so full of tempting items it was very difficult to choose! The service was attentive, warm, friendly and helpful. And the price was incredibly reasonable. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A top rate meal (we split an enormous, scrumptious, fluffy cheese dumpling and a large mixed salad, plus she had tender turkey medallions in mushroom sauce and I perfectly cooked sea bass on a bed of chopped fresh vegetables), plus wine and sparkling water for 50 euros. The friendly, charming, and prompt waiter brought us a delicious, complimentary after dinner liqueur to end the meal beautifully.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We made a reservation for a late Saturday night dinner at Julija and we were not disappointed. Great food and service -- along with an excellent bottle of Movia wine.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Best in Ljubljana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went to Julija our first night in Ljubljana both because it was recommend on TripAdvisor and because the host at our rental apartment also mentioned it and recommended it when we checked in.

We were not disappointed! The restaurant is in a great location on a walking street, has a variety of comfortable indoor and outdoor seating. We sat in the back room which is very sweetly decorated in blue Delft tiles.

The service was superb! We told our server that it was our first night in Slovenia, so he was extra kind and walked us through the menu, pointing out which dishes were "traditional". He had an excellent grasp of the wine list and was able to give us background on the bottle we selected.

The food was just incredible as well. I had a ravioli with olives and pancetta. Others in my group ordered pasta with mushroom sauce (mushrooms feature heavily in Slovenian cooking) and rumpsteak. All were amazing. The wine was a perfect match to the meal. It all made for a great first night in Ljubljana!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julija also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Julija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.