We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JB

JB
17 Miklosiceva, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
01 430 70 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 333 restaurants in Ljubljana
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
santa barbara
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Terrific restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

My family of four, including two well travelled adult children, ate at JB at the beginning of our two week trip to Slovenia and Croatia. It was definitely the best meal of our trip. We ordered 4 different appetizers, 4 different entrees and 3 different desserts. We each tasted all of the various plates. The presentation and taste of each dish ranged from very good to excellent. It is rare that everyone in a group such as this tastes everything, and everyone likes every single dish, but we all did. The waiter suggested a local wine, which was excellent as well. The service was outstanding. The restaurant was only moderately busy, but this was aTuesday night, and it was early in the evening by European standards. While we obviously have limited experience in this region, I would be surprised if this is not one of the best restaurants in Slovenia/Croatia. We would definitely eat here again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    37
    13
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gent
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Try the local wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

"Do you want the menu or are you going for the suggestions of the chef ?" that was the question we were welcomed with.
We chose the latter. That's what I always do because the chef puts his heart and soul in his suggestions. We were given the choice between meat and fish as main dish. The choice was at the same time a choice for traditional (meat) or mediteranean(fish). We were a group of 8 and had a mixture of both.
But let's not rush. We were suggested a Slovenian sparkling red wine as aperitif. As I like a good glass of champaign I am always a bit sceptic when offered something that is presented as a good alternative. Well, how wrong can one be. This dark red (dry) sparkling wine (Peneci Teran Jarbec - 58.5€ per bottle) was a real discovery. We all wanted to rush to the shop and get our package to take home ! A must try ! This came with the traditional "amuses bouche" from the chef.
As a starter I had some traditional local pork dish which was nicely presented but did not blow me off my chair. The accompanying white wine was again absolute top. A local, Slovenian that is, Zeleni Silvanec from the Gaube family (22€) in the Maribor area.
The main dish was fish with potatoes and traditional vegetables. A bit too traditional for me.
The dinner ended with a traditional Slovenian cake accompanied with perfectly made ice.

I'm sure this restaurant must be one of the best (if not thé best) in Ljubljana. However, the choice of the dishes could have been a bit more daring, a bit more creative. Next time I'll be in Ljubljana, I'll definitely go back but will choose from the menu (except for the wines for which I will follow again the recommendations of the maitre).

For all those reasons my overall score is a 4. I hope next time that I can tell you that my gut feeling is right and that it really diserves the 5 that I would like to give.

The total cost for aperitif (2 bottles of that exceptional sparkling wine - yes we couldn't have enough of it), starter, main dish, desert and coffee and 1 bottle of red wine and 2 bottles of white wine for 8 persons was 610€. A more than acceptable deal.

Oh by the way, there are some beautiful paintings on the walls.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful JB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Luxury restaurant of author's cuisine. Best fish and meet dishes...Fine desserts and wine list. Stunning chocolate from Nina. Bravo, Janez! I highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Ljubljana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

They are really pros. They even got Michelin's quality stars. Food is delicious. Restaurant is fancy and stylish. also, they have great wine collection.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
578 reviews 578 reviews
459 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Sophisticated cuisine, excellent wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Clearly JB ranks among the best Ljubljana restaurants - by the way, for a 2 million country number of top notch places in Sloveni, making to any good 'must go' list is pretty amazing.

JB is clearly a more of a business than romantic/family place and it caters indeed to this kind of clientele. A little bit off beaten track (mind you, in a 300,000 city, it just means 5 minutes from the city center), restaurant is located on a ground floor of a bit old office building.

The food is absolutely great and chefs shows high level of flexibility to accommodate your requests - having had trouble to chose between the starter of raw Adriatic tuna and low temperature cooked octopus, we end up negotiating half portion of each,mserved together - delicious, especially octopus, looking as if it was caught 5 minutes ago, slightly warm and with few drops of local olive oil. second starter, pumpkin ravioli, was very interesting and good transition to the main course but pumpkin filling was a bit too sweet. For the main we have all ordered sous-vide sea bass, one of the best I ever had, fresh and keeping all its aroma due to cooking technique.

The wine lists contains all the best local & regional producers, including all crazy (in a positive sense) biodynami

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JB also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to JB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.