We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl
Vodnikov trg 5a, Ljubljana, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 44 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Worcs, UK
1 review
“Great central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Petra Varl has a great central location, right by the market, near the castle & short walk to all the bars & cafes by the river. I was really impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of the room - the chocolates on the pillow a nice touch. THere was also a DVD player & some DVD's if you fancied watching a film - though why you would want to in such a beautiful city beats me.
Breakfast was perfect - it was a nice change to be able to make it yourself & eat in your room.

Would definitely stay here next time we come to Ljubljana!

  • Liked — Cleanliness. Central location.
  • Disliked — Stairs to the room could be problem for senior travellers & travellers with disabilities
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    40
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
75
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

Just back from a short trip to Ljubljana/Bovec and stayed two nights at B&B Petra Varl. I have been to Ljubljana many times and this B&B was perfect for our short stay. Clean and pretty room with balcony was compact but comfortable and well equipped. Excellent value for the super central location in the old town. We will not hesitate to book again on our next trip to Ljubljana.

  • Liked — location, decor, price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — not a problem personally but staircase may inhibit less able guests - no lift
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at B&B Petra Varl at the start of August and had a great time. Our room was great with fresh fruit left out for us and a great sized bathroom and facilities.

The location was excellent, once we found it! Beware when you arrive, most cars are not allowed into the lovely cobbled street, so you may have to walk for a minute or so to find the b&b. It is through a lovely courtyard in front of the market. The market was brilliant, right on our doorstep and Ljubljana is a small city, so everything was within walking distance. The B&B is right beside the funicular up to the castle which was quite handy!

It felt more like a private apartment than a b&b, as we had our own small kitchenette, which was stocked with bread, milk, jam, butter etc., and we never encountered any other residents or staff during our stay. It would have been nice to maybe have got to talk to other guests and I dont think we actually met Petra, but it wasnt a big deal as we are quite independent travellers anyway!

If you get a chance, try to see some of Petra's art. We stumbled upon her big exhibition when we were in Tivoli park, and It was great! Well worth a visit.

Overall, a great experience in Ljubljana. We couldn't see very many hotels or hostels in Ljubljana, which makes this little place even more of a hidden gem.

  • Liked — Superb location
  • Disliked — There were a few flights of stairs up to the rooms, so it probably wouldnt suit disabled travellers
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Ok, I'm one of those that clicks and clicks and researches and reads all my options before committing. Let me save you the trouble. This is a great location, great price, and a great place. Really! It is best, however, if you avoid the temptation to stay in one of the rooms with the little balconies for 2 reasons. If it is hot, you won't want to be out anyway, AND the market directly across the street starts at 6am and stores its flowers directly below your room (noisey as they rattle the carts out). Ask for the red room. It is more spacious and more peaceful. Katya has a very nice little closet that she has made into a self serve kitchen stocked with muesli, bread, butter & jams, coffee & teas, milk and juice. There are trays for you to take the meal into bed or in the giant tub. Plus it is clean. We loved Ljubljana (& I'm very finicky)!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

No doubt B&B Petra is the most comfortable room with good value that you can find in Ljubljana. For Euro 55 per night with basic breakfast, you hardly can find such a good place with this price in Ljubljana. Even the hostels in the city could be more expensive than B&B Petra.
Our room is located on the second floor, the window overlooking to partial view of the castle on the hill. The owner Petra & her family are very friendly, they are just staying on the 1st floor. You can easily find them when you need any asisstant. Love this place and the city, you can't miss it when you travel to Ljubljana.

  • Liked — Very nice & clean room, location at city center
  • Disliked — No
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Petra Varl's B&B in April this year. The location was superb, and each morning I went across to the market for fresh fruit to compliment the breakfast.

Our room was immaculate and the little touches including chocolates on our pillow and a plate of homemade cake when we paid our bill on the last night were particularly appreciated.

We would highly recommend a stay at this B&B. We would also encourage you to take a trip to Lake Bled - fantastic place!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — My husband would have found breakfast a bit light had we not topped it up with something from the market, but it was great fun having a daily visit there, so I didn't mind!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

I stayed at this B&B for 5-6 days in April this year and was amazed by how stylish this little room was and how well Petra used each corner of it. There is a little kitchenette, there was some food waiting for us in the fridge, coffee and tea etc. The balcony was huge and very charming, great place to have your morning coffee or breakfast. Placed very central and yet extremely quiet, next to the market where you can get fresh fruits and vegetables, cheese and slovenain sausages... Only few minutes walk from Presernov trg.
Petra and her husband were very friendly. Make sure to check out Petra's art! Apart from being a nice host, she is also a well known and appreciated artist.
Nice bathroom and many big and clean towels in the room.
The only negative thing was that there was coming some bad smell from the bathroom when you let the water run and also the hot water is limited, so don't fill the bath tub with warm water, because at last you will have to shower with cold water.
All in all very satisfied!

  • Liked — Interior and location
  • Disliked — Not much to complain
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl

Address: Vodnikov trg 5a, Ljubljana, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Petra Varl Hotel Ljubljana
b&b Petra Varl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.