We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slovenia/ Ljubljana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl
Vodnikov trg 5a, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Slovenia/ Ljubljana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

All I can say about this B&B is that it's awesome, As we arrived we found a very helpful lady, Ana, she helped us getting our baggage to the rooms and was very informative. This B&B is situated in a very nice place surrounded by restaurants and a nice open market. It is also very well kept and maintained, would suggest it to stay.Vince & Miriam Malta.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    40
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
80
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at Petra Varl for 3 days in June. Everything about our stay was absolutely perfect! :)
Petra was extremely nice and accommodating, she gave us great tips about what to do in Ljubljana and the surrounding area. The B&B is also located right in central Ljubljana, just a minutes walk from all major attractions (Dragon Bridge, The castle etc.)
The rooms themselves are also very nice. There are 3 rooms, the yellow room, the red room, and the blue room. We stayed in the yellow room, and it was great! The room has a nice view, and the bathroom is very updated and has all the basic amenities. The room is pretty much average size, and the bed is comfy. Petra also brought these delicious little pastries to our room everyday, and she left us a really sweet present in the day we left! Overall, the B&B is superb and Petra is really sweet! I'll definitely come back here next time I visit Slovenia!! :D

Room Tip: If view really matters to you, you should try to get the yellow or blue room. They have the nicest v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This B&B was so great, just in the heart of Ljubljana right in front of the lovely market. We stayed for 2 nights in the yellow room in May, and after touring Slovenia we came back for our last night. Since this was a last minute request, they graciously put us in their emergency room, which is sort of part of the owner’s apartment. They also offered us some wonderful homemade cake.
The yellow room was lovely with a good size bathroom and a mini kitchenette with basic breakfast supplies. However we opted instead for the bakery right next door. The Wi-Fi worked flawlessly in both rooms. Definitively a great place to recommend at a very affordable cost. We liked it a lot and loved the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

B&B Petra Varl is ideally situated in the historic centre of Ljubljana. Our room was clean and the owner was very hospitable and helpful. The B&B is located at the foot of Castle Hill and immediately across the street from the open market in Vodnikov Trg. Dragon Bridge and Triple Bridge are within easy walking distance as are many restaurants, historic sites and local shops. A great location in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived yesterday, checked in easily with a gracious welcome and just spent our first night in this great room. It is on the 3rd floor, no elevator, which means a bit of stair climbing. We're in the yellow room, nice size, all amenities (except shampoo) and the wireless has been flawless. The location is so convenient to the market and lots of restaurants, shops, TI and tours! Clearly this owner knows the secrets to operating and maintaining quality guest rooms. Breakfast supplies are bare minimum (coffee, milk, white packaged bread/butter/jam,juice - no cereal) but we're heading out to the streets which overflow with tempting snacks.

Room Tip: Both red and yellow rooms on 3rd floor are nice, facing opposite directions. We received horrible s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

In late 2007 we stayed in Petra's B&B and were very happy with our stay and said so much in our review. Recently, we again spent a night on our way to Trieste and saw that Petra hasn't lost her touch. We stayed in the Blue Room, the one with a balcony, that is a bit smaller but very cozy. It is actually a studio apartment with its own entrance, has a bathroom with a tub, a kitchenette for the self service breakfast (the essential ingredients are provided free of charge) and all the amenities like WiFi, cable TV, A/C, and a hairdryer, an international traveler would expect.
We actually bumped into Petra during a snow storm in her courtyard and she immediately recognized us, "frozen" as we were, and made us some cappuccino and offered us some delicious cake.
What can I say, we felt like VIPs, warmly welcome and almost like at home.
The neighborhood has also changed a bit. Now there's a decent restaurant on the west side of the courtyard and a small bakery-cafe on the east side. The open air market is still there and even in the snow there were a few stands of fresh produce and fruit.
Ljubljana was beautiful all decked in white and Petra's hospitality made it almost magic. We highly recommend a stay in Petra's B&B!

Room Tip: The Blue Room has a balcony where guest can have their breakfast in the summer but the Red Room is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

B&B Petra Varl is basically two rooms, each with its own private bathroom and separate, keyed entrance. We stayed in the "red" room, which is on the uppermost floor, with windows looking out over the back of the building (and over the walking path up to the castle). There is also a "blue" room, which is one floor lower and has a balcony that looks out over the inner courtyard.

Our room was spacious and comfortable enough, with a sort of mini-kitchen installed in a closet. The small fridge was stocked with some bread, jam, juice, etc., and included a coffeepot and a hot sandwich press. If you run out of anything, just ask and they'll bring you more. Granted, this is not the most fancy breakfast in the world, but we didn't really mind. To be honest, there are so many charming little cafes right outside the door, we felt it a shame to stay in for breakfast anyway. (The one morning we did have breakfast in the room, we supplemented it with fresh milk and fruit from the open market across the street.)

Wi-fi was free, password-protected, and we had a good signal in our room.

If you're bringing a car, there are two important things to know. First, the entrance into the courtyard is quite tight. We rented a Mini and didn't have any trouble, but I can see how a larger car might have an issue. Second, courtyard parking isn't officially included or guaranteed, so don't plan on it being available. It's really luck-of-the-draw.

Nothing to say about the location that hasn't been said in the other reviews--it's top-notch! We'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl

Address: Vodnikov trg 5a, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Petra Varl Hotel Ljubljana
b&b Petra Varl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.