We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room, very central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antiq Hotel

Save Saved
You added Antiq Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antiq Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gornji Trg 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Big room, very central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The location was great for walking all around the city center, including the river, museums, restaurants and castle. Our room was clean and nice, with interesting decor and the service was quite helpful. We were interested in renting a car and the price that the front desk found us was MUCH more than we were ultimately able to find online (though it would have been even cheaper if we had booked 24 hours in advance online through Avis).

Room Tip: There was not an elevator so ask for a room on the lower floor if you are less mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antiqhotel, Manager at Antiq Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for staying with us and giving us opportunity to host you.
Thank you for taking the time and giving us your respective comment. We always try to do our best to deliver best service and to please our valued and respective guests.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for you next visit and let us know you are regular Antiq guest.
With kindest regards

Antiq Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    105
    37
    15
    5
See reviews for
28
122
36
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel after Christmas. It was perfectly located near all the attractions, but quiet enough to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep. We enjoyed the breakfast in the morning and thought the hotel presented a great value. We had a car and were able to find convenient street parking 5 min away. We highly recommend a visit to Manna, a restaurant about 10 min from here- a WONDERFUL meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Although we enjoyed our stay and the breakfasts were delicious, there were no lifts in the hotel.We had to carry our suitcases to the 4th floor. (There were more than 60 steps). We were told that the reason for this is that the hotel is so old and it is a heritage building. Escalators will not fit in with the hotel.The hotel is situated in the old part of the city and no cars are allowed there. We had to park our car in a lot about 1km away.It was raining heavilly on the day of our departure and we had to walk with our suitcases and hand baggage whilst carrying an umbrella.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel is quirky and unique. The reception team couldn't be more helpful, the room we stayed in was beautiful (mind your head if you are very tall due to sloping ceiling). It's at one end of the main part of the city & at the base of the castle so in a nice location.
The rooms haven't got lots of walking space but are very personal with all the decor and touches and the bathroom is lovely and clean and light and airy.
The breakfast was lovely, truly truly divine.
There are some rooms on the other side of the patio area with outside stairs leading up to them, they look interesting for the next time.
Would stay here again for the personal touches.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Enjoyed my one night in Ljubljana and the Antiq Hotel. Arrived early but my room was ready. It had a modern bath and an antique balcony with picturesque stairs going down to a small garden. Breakfast at the hotel was great, which I didn't fully appreciate until I had other breakfasts at hotels in Italy and Slovenia. Next door to the hotel was a great little restaurant for lunch, where they play live music daily and have really bargain meals. I had a beautiful salad and large serving of pork loin/potato/veggie for 5 euros, and they said the glass of wine was free. The restaurant employed several individuals with disabilities, so perhaps the food was supsidized, but it was worth 2 or 3 times as much, and was really delicious.

The Antiq was a great start for a tour of Slovenia and Croatia, lots of help from the staff (from carrying my suitcases to the room, to suggestions for sightseeing).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skive, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Based on the absolute rave reviews given this hotel by both Frommer's and Rick Steves, as well as the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, I looked forward to staying at Antiq Hotel in Ljubljana. The hotel is very well located, on a beautiful old square within 5 minutes walking distance of the center of Old Town Ljubljana...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Antiq is just inside the car free zone in the historic center of town and is an easy walk to all the restaurants, shops and sights. It has historic character (i.e., beamed ceiling in my room, hardwood floors) while having updated comforts including a really nice modern bath. My room shared a small balcony that gave access to the terraced gardens behind the hotel. No elevator, but the man at the reception desk carried my bag up for me. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Breakfast was generous and good. One downside was the parking situation. We arrived on Sat. and were able to park for free on a street that was a short distance away; as of 8:00 Monday morning, we had to buy a parking ticket from a machine to display on the dashboard. We checked out at 11:00 and walked to the car only to find ... no car! The three hour parking pass had expired less than 10 minutes earlier and the car had been towed. Carted bags back to the hotel and the receptionist was very helpful in checking a website to see where the car had been towed to and calling a cab to take us there. (He did this so quickly and efficiently, though, that it makes me suspect that guests' cars get towed with some regularity and this part of his routine.) Towing fee was 100 euros which was more than we might have chosen to contribute to the city coffers!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antiq Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Hotel

Address: Gornji Trg 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#12 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historic town centre of Ljubljana, the Antiq Hotel offers 16 charming guest rooms with views of the magnificent Ljubljana Castle or the romantic Gornji Trg square, this cosy boutique hotel is a peaceful haven just a stone-throw away from the busy cobble-stoned streets of the Old Town with its numerous cafes, restaurants and boutique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Antiq Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiq Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.