We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel in Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emonec

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Emonec to your Saves list
Hotel Emonec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolfova 12, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel in Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a small hotel located in the very heart of the city center in Slovenia, almost steps away from the main square. The rooms and the shower facilities are very small, but it was clean and has the facilities required. The hotel is also a bit dated. It has a very hostel like feel to it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a decent spread but can get crowded during peak time and will be tough to find a table, since it is a small dining area.

They have a washer and dryer that is a part of the hotel, and this was very convenient.
If you are on a budget and yet want a great location to stay in, while in Ljubljana, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    205
    109
    39
    17
See reviews for
80
159
39
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The hotel is very basic but clean and quite. We had a car and the receptionist suggested we parked it in a car park just outside the town, as it was cheaper then the one in the main square. The receptionist wasn't very friendly but was helpful enough. The breakfast was very basic. The best thing about this hotel is definitely the location, right in the pedestrian area, easy to walk everywhere. Ljubljana was absolutely beautiful before Christmas, lovely decorations and lights, lots of young people in the streets, a very lively and charming town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Situated in a pedestrian area, right in the centre of the city, it's a great location to be able to explore the lovely city on foot. so I would definitely recommend it. There are a few cons though. We had a car and since we arrived in the evening we had to find an on-street parking space (the parking garage nearby was very expensive). We could only move the car to the hotel parking space in the morning until 10, and when we had to leave, we had to do so by 10 in the morning as that is the time that cars are allowed in the pedestrian area. So best to keep this in mind if you'll be going there with a car. The hotel is made up of various structures - we weren't in the main one, which was good as our room was ground floor, however we couldn't really access Wi-Fi from the room most of the time. The room was clean, but could do with a little more cleaning in the bathroom. Also, some hooks in the room and especially the bathroom would be of great help. We had a room for 5, but the 5th 'bed' was an armchair which opened up as a bad and it was not comfortable at all. So if this is an issue for you, best to settle with hotel before you go. The breakfast was good, with various cereals to choose from, bread, butter, ham, cheese, jams and honey, chocolate spread, various teas to choose from and all forms of coffee (espresso etc from a machine), yoghurt, fruit and cake, and juices. Overall it was a great stay for a reasonable price (given we were there over New Year).

Room Tip: I guess it's worth asking for a room that's not in the main building, to have a ground-floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, Herts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here at the weekend and found it to be in a great location, excellent value, very clean and with extremely helpful staff.

We plan on returning to Ljubljana and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

First let me say that the establishment is spotlessly clean and superbly situated.

Do not choose this hotel for a good experience. The hotel is basic in the extreme and very noisy at night thanks to the congregation of (very happy) young people in the courtyard. The pillows were so awful that we had to ask for replacements, and we did not appreciate 2 hand towels and one bath towel between two. Breakfast was adequate but no more.

I am probably too old to appreciate this hotel (I am 52) so younger people may think this review is rubbish, however, I believe there may be better value for money in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

at first we apologize for noise at night which was caused by our neighbors.

We are glad that you enjoyed hotel location and that hotel room was clean.

We ask every guest to contact hotel reception desk in case more towels are needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ljubljana hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I've stayed here quite a few times, first came based on Rick Steve's recommendation. It is quite basic, yet provides every convenience (except air con). Given it's very cheap, you get a good value, and the location is superb, can't be more central.
Some reviewers complain about walk to parking (a few blocks). Well, the entire Old Town of Ljubljana is car-free, so staying in any hotel here means a walk to your car. The hotel provides discounted parking spots in the garage (you pay 7 euro vs. 38) - what a deal!
Emonec offers many conveniences: free internet, free continental breakfast, they will call an airport shuttle for you, store your bags, let you into your room early, lend you a hair dryer... They are a basic hotel (and charge you accordingly) - so come with the right expectations and enjoy Ljubljana, the hidden gem of Europe!

Room Tip: They offer slightly smaller rooms at a discount - very good value for 2 people or 1 person
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for couple of nights with family. Absolutely the best part here is the location, could not be better. The triple room was also big enough. But this hotel seriously lacks any character, it's very basic. It's a common problem in balkan hotels, the location is good, the building looks nice but the room is filled with cheapest ever bland looking furniture with no interior design. Bathroom was good though. Wifi reception good also. No fridge/minibar in room.

Breakfast was ok, cold buffet style. But again, the interior wasn't that nice, it was like eating in hospital room.

It was quite pricey for what you get. Basically you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#16 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Park Ljubljana
Hotel Park Ljubljana
#24 of 29 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bit Center Hotel
Bit Center Hotel
#21 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#18 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emonec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emonec

Address: Wolfova 12, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Spa Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emonec 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Emonec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emonec Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Emonec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.