We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emonec

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Emonec to your Saves list
Hotel Emonec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolfova 12, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Cheshunt, Herts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here at the weekend and found it to be in a great location, excellent value, very clean and with extremely helpful staff.

We plan on returning to Ljubljana and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    198
    105
    37
    17
See reviews for
74
154
39
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
GB
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

First let me say that the establishment is spotlessly clean and superbly situated.

Do not choose this hotel for a good experience. The hotel is basic in the extreme and very noisy at night thanks to the congregation of (very happy) young people in the courtyard. The pillows were so awful that we had to ask for replacements, and we did not appreciate 2 hand towels and one bath towel between two. Breakfast was adequate but no more.

I am probably too old to appreciate this hotel (I am 52) so younger people may think this review is rubbish, however, I believe there may be better value for money in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

at first we apologize for noise at night which was caused by our neighbors.

We are glad that you enjoyed hotel location and that hotel room was clean.

We ask every guest to contact hotel reception desk in case more towels are needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I've stayed here quite a few times, first came based on Rick Steve's recommendation. It is quite basic, yet provides every convenience (except air con). Given it's very cheap, you get a good value, and the location is superb, can't be more central.
Some reviewers complain about walk to parking (a few blocks). Well, the entire Old Town of Ljubljana is car-free, so staying in any hotel here means a walk to your car. The hotel provides discounted parking spots in the garage (you pay 7 euro vs. 38) - what a deal!
Emonec offers many conveniences: free internet, free continental breakfast, they will call an airport shuttle for you, store your bags, let you into your room early, lend you a hair dryer... They are a basic hotel (and charge you accordingly) - so come with the right expectations and enjoy Ljubljana, the hidden gem of Europe!

Room Tip: They offer slightly smaller rooms at a discount - very good value for 2 people or 1 person
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for couple of nights with family. Absolutely the best part here is the location, could not be better. The triple room was also big enough. But this hotel seriously lacks any character, it's very basic. It's a common problem in balkan hotels, the location is good, the building looks nice but the room is filled with cheapest ever bland looking furniture with no interior design. Bathroom was good though. Wifi reception good also. No fridge/minibar in room.

Breakfast was ok, cold buffet style. But again, the interior wasn't that nice, it was like eating in hospital room.

It was quite pricey for what you get. Basically you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Ljubljana and Slovenia in general is an amazing place. The hotel Emonec although very basic, was clean and tidy and the food was lovely.
The location of this hotel is great, it is right in the centre of the old town and perfect for getting around all the sights in the centre. It is only 5-10 minutes walk from the bus station which has really good routes to all the surrounding areas. L

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Basic accommodations in an excellent location in the old city center. Good breakfast service. Laundry on premises. Helpful staff. Rooms near dreary. Trying to be helpful. More words not needed. Two-hundred yet?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We came here based on the recommendation from the Rick Steve’s book. It was the worst place we stayed at in 15 nights in Croatia/Slovenia. I would highly advise you to stay elsewhere. Eurobasketball tournament was on when we were there so they jacked the prices up from 77E to 95E. I would equate this hotel to a Motel 6 level in the US

Pros:
Location only (but the BW is one block away & would be a far better choice)

Cons:
Everything!
No elevator

I had a confirmed reservation for a first floor room since they didn’t have an elevator but they gave us a second story room anyway

Breakfast had a sign “absolutely forbidden to remove anything from this room” (am I staying in a hostel here?)

No AC

No box spring – mattress was on a wood frame which would not have been bad except the mattress was so poor we could feel the wood frame the whole night

Shower got the whole bathroom floor wet

Surly unhelpful receptionists

Receptionist tried overcharging us for the room & wanted us to pay for parking. When I told her I had the written email with me as to my price & that parking was free she backed down & gave us the correct price.

Room was on roof so if the window was left open anyone could gain access to the room

Parking is 3 long blocks away & up many stairs in a parking garage. Lugging suitcases this distance was not easy!

No hair dryers.

Hotel difficult to find as it’s in an alley


Bottom line: go elsewhere! The BW looked much better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Madam,

our hotel have only ground and first floor. We don't have second floor.

To all our guests who made reservation in advance and request reservation for parking space, we send the instructions by e-mail. On the instructions are written where the parking house is and how far is from our hotel to the parking house.
In case guests not agree with our offer for parking space they can cancel the reservation before arrival.

Hotel is located in pedestrian zone and it is very easy to find.

We don't have rooms on the roof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#16 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#6 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Park Ljubljana
Hotel Park Ljubljana
#23 of 29 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bit Center Hotel
Bit Center Hotel
#21 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#17 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emonec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emonec

Address: Wolfova 12, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emonec 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Emonec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emonec Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Emonec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.