We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emonec

Save Saved
You added Hotel Emonec to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Emonec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolfova 12, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 28 hotels in Ljubljana
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on a guys trip to Ljubljana in December. The cost of the hotel was very low compared with others, and while it was very basic, for the money I was very impressed. The rooms were spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel location is fantastic, bang in the centre of town. If you want a luxury hotel, then this may not be for you. But if you want a very good value base for a cheap city break then I'd strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay in our hotel and Ljubljana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    131
    76
    32
    11
See reviews for
42
110
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just returned from a weeks visit to Ljubljana and have nothing but good things to say about Hotel Emonec. It is bang in the centre of Ljubljana and is the perfect location for all of the attractions. We had a triple room on the ground floor of 1 of the annexe buildings and our room was warm, and spotless. We had clean towels every day, and the breakfast was brilliant for the price of our room and included cereals, breads, jams, ham, cheese, chicken, yogurt, fresh fruits, pate etc and there was a wide selection of teas and coffees. We were near lots of restaurants serving local and international dishes and the people of Slovenia are really friendly and helpful. The Hotel is in the shadow of a magnificent castle which is well worth a visit, as well as being a stonesthrow from the picturesque "Triple Bridge" and "Butchers Vridge". There are a few brilliant pubs including a brilliant Irish Bar called Patricks not too far - but just around the corner is "The Cutty Sark Pub and the Mexicana Resturant which are highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great location in the very heart of the Old Town. Clean and comfortable. Rooms are good size and very comfortable. Nothing fancy but very acceptable. Staff is exceptional and very helpful. I would return to this fine hotel without question and would recommend it to anyone looking for good value in a very pleasant setting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sir, thank you for your nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Mom and I spent a night in this magical town a few months back. I had let the owners Mateja and Ales know that Mom was elderly and could not navigate stairs. They made sure to give us a nice room without having to climb. Also, we had luggage and were arriving at a time when the old downtown area is pedestrian only. The front desk helper knew we were coming and helped us carry luggage from parking a few blocks away- big help! The next morning, we also needed help, this time a little more complicated. To make a long story short, the staff actually moved our car for us, enabling Mom and I to have a nice breakfast, bring the car from parking a few blocks away into their hotel entrance (only open for a short time first thing in the morning,) so we could enjoy a few more hours in enchanting Llubljana- we got to visit the flower/open air market AND check out on time without any worries...The Teamwork exhibited by the staff to take care of us guests was really far higher star rating than this sweet little hotel gets in the reviews. We enjoyed our stay and the magical country of Slovenia. In the park a stone's throw from the Hotel Emonec, also got to hear a live band called 'Fake Orchestra,' which was as good music as I have ever heard... Slovenia is dreamy and real, with the greatest people you could ever hope to meet, a clean and beautiful country and I can't wait to return. Hvala Liepa, Hotel Emonec, for helping make a dream stay for me and my 80 year old Mama!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for your positive review.

We knew your requirements in advance which was much easier for all of us.

We are glad to be part of unforgettable trip for you and you Mam in Slovenia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have stayed here three different times. Each time I have been treated as family by all of the hotel staff. They try to meet any requests I make. To me it does not feel like a two-star hotel. I loved the bed and the small, but cozy, room I reserved each time I came to Ljubljana to visit family. The breakfast was quite good considering the two-star status. There were plenty of choices of protein and fruit. I loved the breakfast they packed for me to take to the airport when I checked out. The location is excellent--minutes from the three bridges and old town which is blocked to traffice or Kongressni trg and the main road Slovenska cesta which allows cars. It was very easy for my relatives to pick me up.

I stayed at the five star Grand Union which is about 5 minutes away, but I much prefer the tiny two-star Hotel Emonec. As a solo traveler I felt very comfortable with the staff and location.

Room Tip: Be specific in what you need as far as beds, etc. When you stay there, don't hesitate to ask an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for your very positive reviwe. We would be glad to welcome you in our hotel again when you will next time visit your relatives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The location is perfect close to restaurants, Franciscan Church and Triple Bridge.
The room was quite big, as well as the bathroom. Breakfast was very good, sweet and salty.
The only thing missing were the toiletries (shampoo, shower gel). The hairdrier was provided upon our request. Would go back again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

the hotel is hidden in the pedestrian area so there is no parking and you have to walk a long way with your luggage. Once you get there you really are in the centre of everything. Rooms are small and a bit prison-like but clean and functional. The breakfast was terrible - i think it was the worst hotel breakfast i have ever had. The juice was just sugar - made from a powder. Coffee undrinkable and pretty mush all there was was white break and processed turkey sausage. Yuck! Stay here for the locattion

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review. We are located in pedestrian zone which is huge benefit for many guests. For guests who travel by car we have parking spaces reserved in nearby parking, 300 m from our hotel. Price is only 7 euro per day. We send all guests who request parking space directions how to reach parking house and all informations about price, location and payment.
We never force guests to book parking space with us. It is just an option. 100 m from our hotel is another parking house; PH Kongres Square, where price for 24 hours parking is 39 euros.
We are sorry that breakfast was not tasty for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Emonec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emonec

Address: Wolfova 12, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emonec 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Emonec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emonec Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Emonec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.