We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different perspective of Ljubljana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Ljubljanica Kanal

River Ljubljanica Kanal
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$15*
and up
Ljubljana Walking Tour with Ljubljana Castle...
Ranked #5 of 141 things to do in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A different perspective of Ljubljana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Seeing Ljubljana from the river gives you an entire different perspective of the city. We did it by taking the boat tour; luckily enough we were alone so had the boat to ourselves which was nice and relaxing. In addition, the captain explained us interesting stuff about Ljubljana as we cruised down the river.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    109
    20
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

very romantic with a lot of bars ,restaurants and with friendly people .The river is very claean and
realy green.Ljubljanica river is popular place in Ljubljana at night.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Boat tour through tourist office”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We asked about a boat tour at the tourist office they called down as one was leaving cost 8 euros per person. Turned out we had the boat to ourselves. It was the best thing we did in Ljubljana. As it was October the captain provided blankets, there was also beer for sale. It was a nice tour we saw European beavers much smaller than North American, the captain spoke decent English told us about all the places as we cruised by. A fantastic way to end the day in Ljubljana.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Cool and shaded walk plus boats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a lovely walk in any weathje, plus you have the added interest of seeing the water and reflections. The canal always has the odd boat on it, ferrying tourist around. If you stay on the land, you will pass lots of great restauarants and cafes and photo opportunites; but go down and have a one hour boat trip (included in the Tourist card) or, if you don't have time, go on the City Tour for one hour and that includes a short boat trip where you have the opportunity to see the three main styles of the town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,949 reviews
1,588 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 875 helpful votes
“That's really wonderful, a perfect romantic atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is undoubtedly my favorite place during my visit to Ljubljana, along both banks of the river hundreds of wonderful bars and restaurants, an exciting and memorable atmosphere.
I believe that this river is the soul of the city and you can take advantage of this beauty for a walk along the river, or for a romantic dinner overlooking it.
Besides that you can also make a tour on the boat along the river, I personally haven't done it but I think it's just as exciting to see the city from a different point of view.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Ljubljanica Kanal also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to River Ljubljanica Kanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Ljubljanica Kanal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.