We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pot za Brdom 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Mons Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Jonkoping, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have to say, this hotel is great for a conference. I have stayed at many Sheraton Hotels in above all North America and they have never lived up to their reputation. In fact, they have often been quite dismal. Not so with Hotel Mons, Ljubljana. The staff are marvelous, food is incredible, rooms are neat and very carefully designed and furnished. True, the hotel lies a few kilometers away from the city centre. You can't really go for a stroll on the town should you wish it,, not without taking a taxi or a bus. Daytime the bus ride is free of charge and runs every hour, so that helps a lot.

I really have only one complaint, and this seems to be a problem with almost ALL hotels irrespective of whether they are in North America, Scandinavia or Central Europe: Why does wifi never work? Fast wifi and internet connection is a big deal when they market themselves, but once you arrive as a guest you find that the internet connection does not really work - unless you want to use it between midnight and 4am! This is when most guests are asleep and you are probably the only one using it. But try daytime and you can't - unless you have the patience to wait 10-15 minutes for a single page to load. This is my only complaint with this hotel also - everything else is great, but the Internet is a disaster. It is fast as the advertising says but it lacks capacity. In time of writing this there are 200 online academics in the building, all with smartphones, iPads and laptops. Presumably none of them can work as they should. I certainly can't. To send an e-mail takes 10 minutes unless the server times out first; ti look up a newspaper online doesn't work at all ... This is doing an otherwise incredible hotel a great disservice. Please increase capacity! You simply have to otherwise hosting conferences will be a problem.

Room Tip: All rooms are presumably good. The hotel is in a secluded location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsLjubljana, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons, responded to this review, today
Dear Roland,

thank you for your much appreciated opinion and review of our property. We are well aware of internet issues and with the ECHA 2014 conference, which was held during your stay, we found out that we urgently need to increase the internet capacity. We just finished with the upgrade yesterday and now our Wi-Fi is fast as never before. When you stay with us next time, we assure that internet connectivity will be fast and will meet your needs. Therefore we hope you accept our apologies and consider returning to our hotel upon your next stay in Slovenia. Thank you.


All best from Ljubljana,

Aleksander Valentin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
4
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I arrived to Ljubljana by car from Zagreb, as part of a summer family travel. We were received by a very friendly and helpful front desk staff that solved what ever issue we had (even getting the puffed dragon mascot for my daughter).
Parking lot is great (I do not drive a Tesla but seems that the hotel will soon be ready to recharge Tesla cars), room was clean and comfortable, TV sets and AC controls worked as expected and the breakfast was very good with plenty of options.
The hotel is not precisely in the downtown area, but it isn't far either. Even though we had a car, we used the hotel's shuttle service to go downtown. It turned out that the shuttle was a taxi that took you downtown and picked you up in the same place at the arranged hour.
I haven't been in any other hotel in Ljubljana so I would be able to compare, but I can be sure there will be no mistake in staying at the Four Points.
Overall: happy wife, happy daughters, therefore happy me :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsLjubljana, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons, responded to this review, today
Dear Nataniel,

thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to host you and your family; even more that all of you had fun and enjoyed your stay in our recently renovated hotel. Indeed we have Tesla Superchargers set at our property, which are there to be used by all Tesla model S owners. Beside our friendly staff, great food and cozy atmosphere, it is one of our main competitive advantages. In the name of all Four Points Ljubljana hotel's associates I hope to welcome you and your family in our hotel soon again.


Best regards,

Aleksander Valentin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very easy to find and signposted-sorry you must be a bit blind to not find the place! Welcomed by a friendly team at reception that offered us advice about our stay and trip to the City and showed interest in us and our dog. No problems with Pets and can walk the dog in the grounds safely. Room was clean and Good TV reception and no problems with the internet. We had a bar meal that was tasty and the bar staff friendly. Maybe more options for food, but thats about the only minus point. You can hear the noise of traffic outside, but in the rooms its not really noticeable. Can recommend the Hotel and like to say thanks to the staff

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsLjubljana, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sisim73,

we are pleased to hear you had a great stay in our hotel and to see you were happy with our service. We are proud of our staff and their hospitality, however there's always room for upgrade to become even better. We will moreover consider your opinion regarding the food variety and concentrate on enhancing food & drinks offer.



I wish you a fruitful September and sending you our best regards from Ljubljana,

Aleksander Valentin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nice hotel, very convinient near the ring of Ljubljana
very practical, good for business
the staff is very nice and helpful
rooms are cleans, quiet
the bathroom is large and clean
the bed was good
they have a nice spa - gym place
breakfast is rich with many choices
the only point you are far from the center so if you want to enjoy the nightlife of Ljubljana this is not the place!

Room Tip: ask for room wth parking view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsLjubljana, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Greg L,

thank you for your much valuable opinion and review. We are located on the outskirts of Ljubljana, which is good to relax and/or work. The night life of course is thus not within a hand's reach, however the free shutle service which operates between the hotel and the city center is convinient to use when you stay with us next time.

In the behalf of the hotel team I wish you a great September and do come back soon.


Sincerely,

Aleksander Valentin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Maybe it was just our GPS but it sent us about a ¼ mile away. We thought we must be way, way off because we were in the sticks. Fortunately, we stumbled on a sign that got us there (and yes, we were still in the sticks!) This hotel is touted as “new”. Well, it’s really more refurbished because it’s clear that this was a soviet building at one time. They did a great job with the renovation. Would have been perfect if they were able to get the AC to work properly and if they had more room for the tiny shower (which had one of the oddest faucets that looked like it should be on a bathtub). We got there on a Sunday (which means the rooms would not be stocked with caffeinated instant coffee according to the maids). To get to Ljubljana you’ll need to drive or have them call you the free shuttle. The downside on the free shuttle is you need to pick a time for them to come pick you up. Parking was free (at least for the time being). Wifi didn't really work. All-in-all, not bad, but not fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsLjubljana, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest 'dctrentster',

thank you for your review which we will take into consideration with the whole hotel team. We are aware of GPS problems and are working on repairing the issue. The problem is change of address and this change is visible only on the upgraded GPS systems. Secondly, we are sorry you experienced inconviences with the shower, AC and the Wi-Fi. Our Wi-Fi network is free to use and is quite strong, however there are some difficulties in usage when the hotel is full and guests are using the network on a wider scope. We will always assure free parking for our guests and also free Wi-Fi. Next time you come to our hotel we will make sure that the shuttle service is operating on a more frequent basis. We renovated our facilites and opened the renovated hotel in June 2014. The building itself is 10 years old and we try to make the atmosphere as comfy as possible.

We value your opinion and again we thank you for your stay with Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons hotel. Come back soon!



Aleksander Valentin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed 6 nights on our trip to Slovenia. This hotel was a perfect spot from which to take day trips all over the country. The staff were wonderful and accommodating.They suggested places to visit and sights to see. They would ask us about our day as we returned, and would remember our favorite drinks and snacks in the bar. We would highly recommend this hotel. The price was very reasonable and included a buffet breakfast each morning. The shuttle to the middle of town was great. Thanks Ljubljiana Mons!

Room Tip: Get a forest view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsLjubljana, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Wendy K.!

Thank you so much for your great opinion. We appreciate it and we are more than happy you had a wonderful stay with Four Points Ljubljana. Come back soon!


Best regards,

Aleksander Valentin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I stayed in this newly renovated hotel in July with my family during our pit stop in Ljubljana whilst being on a reunion trip around central Europe.

It was everything we expected from Four Points - friendly, casual, yet professional and very minimalist and clean. The facilities were crisp new, and check in absolutely lovely - Slovenian warmth and humble service is on par with that we received in Southeast Asia, the staff was beyond helpful and their willingness to assist us felt so genuine at all times. Upon check out, I was greeted by the Manager on Duty which is always a nice, thoughtful touch.

Bed was lovely and pillows absolutely dreamy! The room felt a little bit empty amenities-wise, and I was a bit surprised with the lack of bathrobes in the room, but I blamed it on the fact the hotel opened two weeks prior to my arrival. The Internet was super fast, and food at the bar delish - we truly enjoyed sipping local beer and watching the World Cup. Bar staff was very attentive!

The hotel, in spite of being very young and new at the Starwood journey, is no doubt on the right track. They have great staff and massive potential to be one of the best hotels in Slovenia.

I will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons

Address: Pot za Brdom 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Mons Hotel)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoroughly renovated in 2014, Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons is a modern, urban hotel in the middle of everything the area has to offer. Our free shuttle service runs several times a day to the city center, home to a charming riverbank and historical architecture. At the intersection of two major international highways, our location provides easy access to Ljubljana Joze Pucnik Airport (LJU) and the natural beauty nearby. Stay Busy or Relax. Make time for a good workout in our fitness center, or simply recover from a stressful day in the sauna. Savor local and international cuisines at Atrium, try one of our Best Brews™ in The Bar, and join us for our weekly barbecue in the garden. The hotel also boasts six conference halls and three boardrooms that total more than 1,000 square meters of space. Our facilities feature the infrastructure needed or a successful event, and our planning and catering professionals will ensure that everything runs smoothly. Home away from Home. Enjoy comfortable accommodations in the cozy atmosphere of any of our 114 renovated guest rooms and suites. Stay connected to the office via High Speed Internet Access at the work desk, unwind in front of the flat screen LED TV, and sleep well in a Four Points signature bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mons Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.