We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Union to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Union
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miklosiceva 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Best hotel in Ljubljana. I have stayed at this hotel with my friends for 2 nights in March 2014. It”s my second time in this hotel and it was fabulous. Great services, wondeful position in town centre and very friendly staff. For sure at my nest trip in Ljubliana I will stay in Grand Hotel Union

Room Tip: Get the superior double/twin rooms. Wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lipovsek_Bogdan, General Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Dan D,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your visit in Grand hotel Union Executive.
I am delighted to hear how highly you appreciate our services and hotel staff. It will be my pleasure to share your opinion with everyone in the hotel.
We are delighted to hear that we have won you over as one of our many returning guests and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Mr. Bogdan Lipovsek
General Manager
Grand hotel Union d.d.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    283
    67
    19
    3
See reviews for
87
269
49
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Lying in bed at 2.14 am with no chance of ever getting to sleep because of the bells ringing every hour. Also the air con dosen't work until April and the room is so hot. Counting down the hours until check out. Was supposed to be staying until Sunday but couldn't take another two nights of this.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lipovsek_Bogdan, General Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear “Puertobanus1”,
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay in Grand hotel Union Ljubljana and your feedback.
I am very sorry to hear about your disappointment in our hotel. Grand hotel Union Executive is located in the heart of the city centre, right next to many sights: Three bridges, historical part of Ljubljana and among them also Franciscan church. For some guests the bells are a pleasure, for some rather not. Hotel offers 194 rooms some of them are located far away from church bells and offering a wonderful view.
The changeable weather is lately causing as quite a lot of problems. For the example in March we have experienced the highest measured temperature since 1977. We are fully aware of this problem and we are looking for an appropriate and the easiest solution which will comply with the hotel under the national heritage.
At the Grand hotel Union, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Mr. Bogdan Lipovsek
General Manager
Grand hotel Union d.d.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel once before and was very fond of it. When I came back I was very lucky that it still lived up to all my expectations. Very nice rooms, excellent breakfast (champagne included), free wifi which worked excellent, very friendly staff. And absolutely in the city center

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This really is a Grand Hotel in town. Right next to the town square and the iconic bridges. Easy walk to all the good stuff. Staff were very good to excellent - Courteous, helpful but not intrusive. Church bells were a bit noisy next door - really a pleasure. Like most European hotels, the rooms were overheated with no control of the thermostat.

Room Tip: The hotel is split between Executive and Business wing. Executive is the better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suckley
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It is hard to be too critical of this iconic hotel in the heart of Ljublijana. There are actually two of them which is confusing, for starters. One modern...ish, the so-called 'Business' and the older art nouveau 'Executive'. We booked into the Executive but our room was in the more modern side! The room was fairly standard but did have an unfortunate odour which came and went and seemed to be associated with the drains. Other than that there was little to complain of, save the persisently cold coffee at breakfast. The hotel's main advantage is its position in the heart of this beautiful city. During the Chritsmas festivities there is a huge market stretching throughout the centre which is imaginatively lit and full of activity. There are plenty of good restaurants, including those at the hotel, and on New Year's Eve a spectacular firework display which can be viewed from many parts of the hotel. The staff were particularly helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedbergh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel is large and well organised. The rooms in the old builiding are spacious and airy and the art Deco design works well. It is close to the town and has an excellent restaurant although the menu did not change so we had to sample other restaurants to get more variety. Breakfast was exceptional as was the service. We too enjoyed the celebrations between Christmas and new year and found our whole stay magical.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old building on the second floor at the front and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The saying goes that for hotels, location is very often the most important fact. Well then, the Grand Hotel Union can't be beaten. We spend a couple of days there during the Christmas period and we only had to walk a couple of steps to be at the centre of the celebrations. Ljubljana is simply gorgeous during Christmas and a I can only recommend to go and experience it.
The hotel which was apparently build in 1905 still has tons of charm but may need some investment to bring it completely back to what it once was.
Staff were friendly, good breakfast variety and again a location to die for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Address: Miklosiceva 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#5 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city’s top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana’s events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the elegant restaurant Smrekarjev Hram or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Café, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.