We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still the best...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Union to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Union
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miklosiceva 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“still the best...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel once before and was very fond of it. When I came back I was very lucky that it still lived up to all my expectations. Very nice rooms, excellent breakfast (champagne included), free wifi which worked excellent, very friendly staff. And absolutely in the city center

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    298
    69
    19
    3
See reviews for
96
282
53
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This really is a Grand Hotel in town. Right next to the town square and the iconic bridges. Easy walk to all the good stuff. Staff were very good to excellent - Courteous, helpful but not intrusive. Church bells were a bit noisy next door - really a pleasure. Like most European hotels, the rooms were overheated with no control of the thermostat.

Room Tip: The hotel is split between Executive and Business wing. Executive is the better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suckley
Level Contributor
115 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It is hard to be too critical of this iconic hotel in the heart of Ljublijana. There are actually two of them which is confusing, for starters. One modern...ish, the so-called 'Business' and the older art nouveau 'Executive'. We booked into the Executive but our room was in the more modern side! The room was fairly standard but did have an unfortunate odour which came and went and seemed to be associated with the drains. Other than that there was little to complain of, save the persisently cold coffee at breakfast. The hotel's main advantage is its position in the heart of this beautiful city. During the Chritsmas festivities there is a huge market stretching throughout the centre which is imaginatively lit and full of activity. There are plenty of good restaurants, including those at the hotel, and on New Year's Eve a spectacular firework display which can be viewed from many parts of the hotel. The staff were particularly helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedbergh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel is large and well organised. The rooms in the old builiding are spacious and airy and the art Deco design works well. It is close to the town and has an excellent restaurant although the menu did not change so we had to sample other restaurants to get more variety. Breakfast was exceptional as was the service. We too enjoyed the celebrations between Christmas and new year and found our whole stay magical.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old building on the second floor at the front and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The saying goes that for hotels, location is very often the most important fact. Well then, the Grand Hotel Union can't be beaten. We spend a couple of days there during the Christmas period and we only had to walk a couple of steps to be at the centre of the celebrations. Ljubljana is simply gorgeous during Christmas and a I can only recommend to go and experience it.
The hotel which was apparently build in 1905 still has tons of charm but may need some investment to bring it completely back to what it once was.
Staff were friendly, good breakfast variety and again a location to die for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberg, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Grand Union Executive has probably the best location in town - just one block from the main square. The exterior and interiors both exude old-world charm. It's always interesting to stay in a hotel of historical significance as well.

We had a room on the 9th floor and had a nice view of the city from our balcony when it wasn't foggy. The room was nicely apportioned, and we especially enjoyed the nice bath products. One downside was the linens smelled like cigarette smoke both days.

They had a winter special at the spa, and my wife enjoyed the facial and manicure. She especially enjoyed the friendly and professional employees at the spa.

The breakfast was excellent, with a wide range of fresh local and international options. You could order a la carte food and drinks from the kitchen as well with no extra charge.

I would highly recommend staying here if you go to Ljubljana if you want a centrally located, classy hotel to enjoy touring this beautiful town from.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are renovated; therefore, I recommend suggesting one of those. Also, don't ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Michigan USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Possibly the best, most comprehensive breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. Room was never too crowded and there are so many choices it was nearly unbelievable. Plus, they will cook something directly to your order, if you wish!

Hotel location is excellent one 1/2 block from the main square and right near the river. Hotel has 2 reception areas, but it was never explained how or when to use which one. The guest rooms are extremely spacious on the 5th floor at the newer end of the property. The 3 rooms we had all included a full bathtub/shower combination and twin beds, with 2 large windows.

The only real problem I had was that when we arrived, the maid was still cleaning the room and I had been told it was ready. I immediately noticed that the room was extremely warm and she agreed. She turned off the heater in the room, but not in the bathroom. When I woke up the next morning the bathroom registered more than 89 degrees. Maintenance was called and when I returned to the room 10 hours later it was still 86.5 degrees! This was in December and I was told the only thing to do was to open both windows widely. There was no explanation for the problem, but I was uncomfortable for several hours, sitting in the cold trying to get the temperature in the bathroom at a reasonable level.

Also, the duvet cover was worn and frayed along the edges - not in keeping with the overall impression of the hotel. However, there were many high quality bathroom amenities and a safe that was easy to use.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Address: Miklosiceva 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#5 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city’s top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana’s events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the elegant restaurant Smrekarjev Hram or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Café, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, HRS, Otel, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.