We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Union to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Union
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miklosiceva 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

as a flight attendant and having stayed in hotels around the world this hotel is expensive and does not offer good value for money like most hotels in Ljubljana all overpriced rooms outdated in need of refurbishment air conditioning is a joke and basically for the price you pay you might as well go to Slovakia or Tallinn where the hotels are much better luxury compared to most hotels in Ljubljana. very disappointing overpriced and breakfast area was like waiting for a bus in a small third world country

Room Tip: rooms all seem to be noisy in general
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    315
    72
    19
    4
See reviews for
103
302
54
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location to sightsee the city but that is it's only saving point. The rooms are tiny and the air conditioner not very effective. Noisy with the window open. The breakfast room is like a "zoo" not enough seating,difficult to get service for a coffee Not in any way a relaxing start to the day. Difficult to get information from the staff regarding the area. More like a business hotel for overnight than a relaxing place for a holiday

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
261 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is right in the center of the city and is very walkable. The rooms are very functional as opposed to luxurious- but comfortable. (The pictures posted on TripAdvisor show it, so just look at the pix for a sense of the style) I was in a smallish room with a full-size bed- spotless and a nice quiet floor. The bathroom's tub/shower combo is the kind you step up into, so if you're elderly or need assistance you'd want to check on what your shower situation is. The reception staff was very nice, and told me that this was where a former US president had stayed! The town itself was a lovely surprise and this is a great base to explore from. Unfortunately I missed breakfast because we left the hotel at 5 am but it is included in the rate.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city, nice considerate staff , big comfortable beds, within walking distance to the railway station ,shopping ,restaurants and all attractions .tasty varied breakfast .perfect

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Union is in the Center of town, close to shopping, restaurants, and all manner of business. Within walking of Three Bridges and the Castle. On our pillows was the BEST chocolate I have ever tasted! Breakfast is a huge buffet with everything anyone could want including a chef for custom egg dishes.

Not a Five Star only because room service, though quick, is not extensive, and there was a loose fixture in the bathroom.

We will always stay here when visiting Ljubljana!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband is staying in this hotel regularly during his business trips and is talking about it in superlatives, so it was the first choice for our private trip in Ljubljana. But, I couldn´t be more disappointed. We got room 827, which was on the smoking floor. You couldn´t smell the smoke in the hall, but you could smell it in the room when entering.
If you are staying 100x in non smoking room, why do they give you on 101st time smoking one?
The room was quite nice, but it was definitelly not the kind of "wow" rooms. It was more like "ok, so the carpet matches with curtains" room. The window was dirty with hand prints, there were also stains on the mirror. But we came to Ljubljana to enjoy the city not to watch window, so I didn´t make a big deal from it and told at the reception only when checking-out.

Bathroom was very small, so you could sit on the toilet and brush your teeth in front of the mirror at the same time. The shower cable was leaking and on the bathroom door I also find some finger prints.

Fortunatelly, my husband has a small discount in this hotel, so we payd little less, but still. The standard doesn´t match the price at all. If I was guest paying the full price I would be mad with all those faults I found in the room.

There was also only one blanket on the bed, but the second one was brought to our room without problems.
Not to only criticize, I have to mention the breakfat which was superb, the coffee was delicious and the breakfast exeperience let me forget my dissappointing from the room.
Hotel is just at the centre of Ljubljana, so you have everything max. 10-15 minutes from the hotel. The parking is very expensive(cca 17 Euro/day), but we had a parking at friends, so this didn´t bother me.

I would probably go to tis hotel again (for the breakfast), but I would make sure to get better room, which they must have - at least according to the reviews here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Grand Union Executive hotel wonderful experience. We loved the spacious airy, modern and well decorated and comfortable room in the center of old town Ljubljana. The breakfast was superb in a large dining room with a large variety of healthy tasty hot and cold foods . The staff were friendly, helpful and spoke English well.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor facing the street and above the doors. It was quiet, bright, large an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
3.9 mi away
G Design Hotel
G Design Hotel
#2 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#16 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
2.4 mi away
Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
#5 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#9 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Address: Miklosiceva 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city’s top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana’s events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the elegant restaurant Smrekarjev Hram or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Café, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.