We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for business and pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Union to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Union
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miklosiceva 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place for business and pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel offering ideal location, style and comfort quality. The staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable with good beds, pillows and good bathroom. Breakfast is excellent with great variety and quality. Indoor pool is nice with an adjacent exercise room that has some nice equipment all be it a bit small.
Room service options are OK, but could do with some additional variety. That said the town square is only a block away with tons of great eating options. The location is outstanding and couldn't be a better hotel to stay at in Ljubljana.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    315
    72
    19
    4
See reviews for
103
302
54
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

It is 100 meters from triple bridge, which is the core of Old Town Ljubljana. The staff was helpful and kind. The room was large for any country. The breakfast had everything you could want and was included in a fair rate. The parking at 17 euro was a bit high and would be my only con. We really enjoyed Slovenia and this Hotel is one of the reasons.

Room Tip: We had a view out the front of a beautiful building and no noise room 247
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights during the Slovenia portion of our Eurotrip and booked based upon previous reviews as well as price. This hotel is located in the absolute best possible location in the city so close to everything. The hotel staff are very nice and accommodating. There were a few issues when we checked in like we had been given a room with 2 "queen" beds which were perhaps smaller than a full size bed in the US when requesting a king size bed and due to the number of bookings no other room was available so we upgraded to a suite. The extra cost was so worth it the suite was large and spacious and perfect for our week stay. If you are staying more than a few nights I would definitely recommend a suite. The staff was incredibly helpful in arranging transportation, recommending restaurants, providing directions that even my directionally challenged self could follow and arranging nightly tea delivered to our room. I do wish the room had in room coffee and tea facilities. The breakfast choices were ample and the buffet was really nice though again because of the number of guests was quite crowded in the mornings but no problem the staff again arranged to have it delivered to our suite. The hotel could use a bit of updating and maintenance especially the beds and bedding but that is just details (because none of it is bad it is just different than the rest of the hotels we stayed in during our Eurotrip). The hotel is superbly located and the staff makes the hotel a wonderful place to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Me and my wife visited Ljubljana in mid August 2013 for few days and picked this hotel online for its great location. Unfortunately, I was unable to book a room with street view in the old building. Still, I have sent them an email seeking ways to upgrade. They responded promptly offering solution when we already there. Finally, they helped me to get a new (probably the best) room in the hotel (Room 158) with a nice balcony and a splendid view on the old streets of Ljubljana. (When observing the hotel from the street we have realized that this is probably the only room with balcony - at least in the old building). And they made it for no extra charges! :) So I am really grateful to all the employees of this hotel. They are very kind, responsive and really helpful.

Room Tip: Room 158 in the old building is really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Best possible location you can think of in Ljubliana, friendly staff, nice pool, garage, very big rooms with separate kitchenette... This hotel has it all! Only thing to improve: the size and quality of the bedding in some rooms (too hard and the cover was much too small for two people and, as it happens in most of the hotels, the quality of the mattress in the foldable bed was awful).

Room Tip: Corner rooms facing the street are huge and have great views (mind the bells in the Franziskaner Chu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

the hotel is very nice, full of history. the rooms (at least the one I stayed) are quite small but very clean and pleasant. breakfast amazing, one of the widest choice I saw, unfortunately the breakfast restaurant was a bit too crowded every morning. a nice experience overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was staying in Union Executive couple of times over last 6 months due to the business meetings. The hotel is in a really great location, just few steps from the Ljubljana old town and walking distance from railway station. The rooms are big and clean. There is and wifi internet connection free of charge in all rooms. Breakfast is OK.

The swimming pool is on the 7th floor, so if your room is close enough you can hear who is swimming :)

Room Tip: Ask for room far from the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
3.9 mi away
G Design Hotel
G Design Hotel
#2 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#16 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
2.4 mi away
Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
#5 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#9 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Address: Miklosiceva 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city’s top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana’s events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the elegant restaurant Smrekarjev Hram or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Café, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.