We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Union to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Union
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miklosiceva 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for only one night during our tour of Croatia and Slovenia. It was a nice hotel and quite popular. There was a rumour that the President of Slovenia was staying there when we were there as there was a lot of security personnel around the place. The room was quite comfortable - a small balcony - but we really didn't have a view. The hotel is very close to the old town and, as it was Sunday, there were plenty of eating places, markets and street entertainment. Breakfast was quite good but we really didn't have much of a chance to appreciate the finer points of the hotel as we dined at a local restaurant and left fairly early next morning.

We loved Ljubljana and would like to return some day. This hotel would certainly be high on our list to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    247
    61
    18
    3
See reviews for
78
237
46
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I booked a single in this hotel for one night in the mid 130 Euro range on a non-refundable basis. I showed up with my luggage at about 10:30 in the morning long before official check-in but was advised pleasantly that if I could return at noon, they could probably find an early check-in room for me even though the place was fully booked that night. The front desk people were consistently pleasant and helpful. I checked my luggage and went into the salon/bar for a cup of coffee to figure out my agenda for the day. It was "medieval"day in Ljubljana and there were many dress-up pageants and fair activities going on literally one block from the hotel which is right behind the Franciscan Church - an excellent location.

Anyway, I returned around check-in time and was advised that they had run out of singles so were giving me a double on the top floor. It turned out to be a relatively large room furnished in the modern Danish style in woods and earth tones, with a large bathroom (and tub) and nice amenities. It also had a nice view over the main street, but was quiet at night. It was a little warm up there and I could not seem to get the AC to turn on, but I let that be. The only thing about the room that was a little weird was the presentation of information about the hotel - on the desk, there was a stand-up binder filled with flyers and inserts about various things, but I could not find a standard hotel binder that contained the usual information about room service, TV channels, restaurants etc.

I had a martini in the bar before dinner and was pleased to discover that the bar man actually knew how to make one - I will forgo describing the kinds of weird concoctions I am used to getting in Europe in response to a request for a vodka martini. The guys at the front desk recommended a moderately priced Italian restaurant a block away from the hotel: it was empty but for me, but the food was quite nice and the Slovenian cabernet was impressive and inexpensive.

The bed was comfortable and I was up at 4 am to catch the airport shuttle (arranged by the hotel). I did not get to sample the breakfast that I think comes with the room.

This is yet another excellent Ljubljana hotel. Whether you would prefer this to the Hotel Cubo depends on whether you like boutique vs.large. You really can't go wrong with either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

i was there in middle septembre and the hotel was very nice
near the central district and all the town attractions
the tourism office is very near , from where you can choose and book from many tours proposed in or outside the city

very generous , rich and good breakfast
the people there speak english so no problem to communicate and ask the questions that you may need

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I only stayed one night in this lovely hotel. Nice spacious and well equipped room, immaculately clean, quiet and with comfortable bed. Not breathtaking but with enough old charm and a friendly, very helpful professional service. Extensive breakfast. Seemed great value for August!!
Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Upper floors to catch the fantastic view of the Ljubljana castle and city panorama.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The building is one of the most beautiful art nouveau buildings in Ljubljana. My room had a fantastic view over the rooftops to the castle and the cathedral. Breakfast was superb, and we also had a wonderful meal in the garden restaurant one night when it was raining too hard to go out. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the rooftop views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Bled, where I was before Ljubljana, is much lovelier, and this hotel was fine, but not spectacular. Room a little dated-feeling, but bed was comfortable. There are nice art-deco details throughout the "executive" part of the hotel.

But there aren't enough elevators, the breakfast was a little overcrowded (and not very special), and I don't think it was great value. I enjoyed it, but it was pretty standard.

Tip for breakfast: the tea is suprisingly good, particularly the "youthful" tea, which tastes of lavender.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We are a family with grown up children and have traveled extensively with our car through out Europe, staying in 4* and 5* hotels. We visited Ljubljana for the first time last year, it was just a stopover in a city we had not visited before, on our way from Ancona to Wien . We loved the hotel and the city so much, that this year we made a detour on our way from Kroatia to Muenchen just to visit the city and stay at the hotel Union again.
The hotel has everything a visitor would want. A beautiful building, very comfortable and big rooms, very good and friendly service with everyone speaking fluent english, a garage for our car and a location at the edge of the old city, so we could arrive by car at the doorstep and visit the old city on foot. The room had all the amenities we needed, bathrobes and slippers for all guests, unlike some 5* hotels in Europe, huge beds and as we were staying on an upper floor, a view of the old city. Breakfast buffet was very rich, a disaster for my diet!
This year when we arrived a nice surprise was awaiting us: our rooms had been upgraded. We stayed at the new building in even bigger and more comfortable rooms than last year.
The only thing that was not available was triple rooms, despite the fact that there is plenty of room for an extra bed even in the standard double room.
We have the best opinion about hotel Union, we recommend it and we will visit it again whenever we find ourselves in Slovenia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Address: Miklosiceva 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#6 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city’s top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana’s events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the elegant restaurant Smrekarjev Hram or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Café, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.