We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime City Location with Old Charme” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Union to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Union
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miklosiceva 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Prime City Location with Old Charme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I only stayed one night in this lovely hotel. Nice spacious and well equipped room, immaculately clean, quiet and with comfortable bed. Not breathtaking but with enough old charm and a friendly, very helpful professional service. Extensive breakfast. Seemed great value for August!!
Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Upper floors to catch the fantastic view of the Ljubljana castle and city panorama.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    314
    70
    19
    4
See reviews for
101
300
53
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The building is one of the most beautiful art nouveau buildings in Ljubljana. My room had a fantastic view over the rooftops to the castle and the cathedral. Breakfast was superb, and we also had a wonderful meal in the garden restaurant one night when it was raining too hard to go out. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the rooftop views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Bled, where I was before Ljubljana, is much lovelier, and this hotel was fine, but not spectacular. Room a little dated-feeling, but bed was comfortable. There are nice art-deco details throughout the "executive" part of the hotel.

But there aren't enough elevators, the breakfast was a little overcrowded (and not very special), and I don't think it was great value. I enjoyed it, but it was pretty standard.

Tip for breakfast: the tea is suprisingly good, particularly the "youthful" tea, which tastes of lavender.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We are a family with grown up children and have traveled extensively with our car through out Europe, staying in 4* and 5* hotels. We visited Ljubljana for the first time last year, it was just a stopover in a city we had not visited before, on our way from Ancona to Wien . We loved the hotel and the city so much, that this year we made a detour on our way from Kroatia to Muenchen just to visit the city and stay at the hotel Union again.
The hotel has everything a visitor would want. A beautiful building, very comfortable and big rooms, very good and friendly service with everyone speaking fluent english, a garage for our car and a location at the edge of the old city, so we could arrive by car at the doorstep and visit the old city on foot. The room had all the amenities we needed, bathrobes and slippers for all guests, unlike some 5* hotels in Europe, huge beds and as we were staying on an upper floor, a view of the old city. Breakfast buffet was very rich, a disaster for my diet!
This year when we arrived a nice surprise was awaiting us: our rooms had been upgraded. We stayed at the new building in even bigger and more comfortable rooms than last year.
The only thing that was not available was triple rooms, despite the fact that there is plenty of room for an extra bed even in the standard double room.
We have the best opinion about hotel Union, we recommend it and we will visit it again whenever we find ourselves in Slovenia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent three nights at Grand Hotel Executive. The rooms are spacious, most of them with a balcony. The location is excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is the best buffet breakfast I've ever had. A delightful place.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The rooms were lovely and spacious, the swimming pool was mainly empty and great for relaxing and reading on the sunbeds and the breakfast featured a wide selection of worldwide food. The location was great for you could walk straight into the great centre where there is loads of cute cafes! I had a really enjoyable and comfatable stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed just for 1 night in a nice room with a really big bathroom. Everything is clean and new looking, a big flat-screen provided. Bed were good, mattress not very soft, no noise from the streets.
Right in the center of the town, maybe a bit expensive.
Very rich breakfast buffet is to be mentioned, which leaves nothing to be desired.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
3.9 mi away
G Design Hotel
G Design Hotel
#2 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#16 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
2.4 mi away
Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
#5 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#9 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Address: Miklosiceva 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city’s top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana’s events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the elegant restaurant Smrekarjev Hram or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Café, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.