We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great seafood - medium risotto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restavracija Valentin

Restavracija Valentin
Vodnikov Trg 5, Ljubljana, Slovenia
+386-0-59-041-111-386-0-31-350-879
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 386 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chowder, Seafood, Pub, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great seafood - medium risotto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Located next to the market, gives the restaurant a bit more local flair than touristy - which is nice. Variety of seafood is great. Good english and friendly service (which I experienced everywhere in Ljubljana). My choice (seafood risoto) I regretted a bit. The seafood part (muscles, shrimp, squid) was fresh, good and lots of in it. The risotto part was a tiny bit disappointing i have to say (aka tasteless). Still quite a good experience, prices seem fair compared to other restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    42
    21
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanwrtyd Wells
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely one course lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

OK, the sun was shining and the local wine was very pleasant and cheap, but a very large plate of calamari fritti was perfectly cooked for a budget price and, despite somewhat grumpy service,I was a very happy boy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good and fresh sea food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I had a grilled sea bass, with grilled vegetables. Perfect. Service good, wine not so, a bit sweet for my taste.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We ordered a fresh fish plate for 2, but the waiter brought us a fish fillet plate, saying that he brought us something better then what we have ordered, because it had a tuna steak... My mistake for accepting.. They weren' t fresh and had an heavy oily taste.. The tuna was really overcooked... Couldn't eat much, but felt like I ate a whale...On the other hand the neighbour's fresh grilled fish looked amazing...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely sea food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Ljubljana does not have many restaurants offering seafood, and this is finally a great place to come if you like fish! Very good food, generous portions and nice setting. Lunch is a great value, too. Will be back for sure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restavracija Valentin also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Restavracija Valentin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restavracija Valentin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.