We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit on a saturday morning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Market

Central Market
Vodnikov trg, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
386 01 42 594 37
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 104 things to do in Ljubljana
Attraction details
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Visit on a saturday morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you choose to visit the market make sure you do so on a Saturday, between 8 and 12 o'clock. This is because Saturday is the only day of the week when all stands are full and you get the real experience. Start at the Cathedral on Pogačarjev trg and visit the eco market. Than visit the underground market and finish with the main market. If you want to buy local produce choose the eco market or visit the costermongers that do not sell at the begining of the market.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not in our plans...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

During my research before the trip to Ljubljana, I did not come across this market until I was there. It was simply invigorating to come across such a splendid place in this city. The colors of different edible and non-edible products, the aroma of many fruits, vegetables, cheese, meat, spices, etc. was fantastic. The most important aspect of the market was the happy ambiance that vendors and customers conveyed. Some vendors displayed Ljubljana products while others displayed products from other countries such as Italy. One Italian lady was attracting customers nearby by occasionally announcing her products. This, by no means, disturbed the vibrant atmosphere of the market. In fact, it added more enthusiasm in vendors and customers equally. Before leaving this market, I was able to buy few items (spices and gifts). It was a fun and memorable experience in Ljubljana.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Must see and eat at in Ljublijana!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

There is a fantastic market in the city of Ljublijana! We were so sad that we had already eaten our lunch at a nearby restaurant on the canal because the food vendors at the market were amazing! I would highly recommend skipping a restaurant for lunch, and heading here to try all kinds of local and regional great food for a cheap price!

A MUST SEE!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This is what I call a market.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Truly central market offering fresh fruit and vegetables. There are so many kinds of fruit and vegetables. Enchanting smell of fruit makes you feel like tasting it all. Everything is fresh. Flower, fish, meat and cheese markets can be found in vicinity. Definitely worth seeing and tasting. You can also get something to eat from near food carts offering fish, hot-dogs and others. All nicely in the city center.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bantry, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a lovely, busy market offering food, drink and the inevitable tourist stuff in a lovely location between the river and the castle hill.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Market also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Central Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.