We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff, small but modern rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vander Urbani Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vander Urbani Resort to your Saves list
Vander Urbani Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Krojaska ulica 6-8, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
209 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great location and staff, small but modern rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We originally picked this hotel because I loved the idea of having a tiny infinity pool on the roof of a hotel in the middle of the city. When we arrived it was raining and then they also told us the tiny pool is under maintenance and therefore closed. I however still think it looked great even though it wouldn't have been fit to actually swim in due to its size. I loved the hotel even with the pool being closed, the rooms very smaller than tiny but they were very modern, stylish and clean. The Molton Brown bath products wee also a nice touch. The breakfast wasn't huge and they were running out of stuff quite early, but everything they had was delicious. The staff was very helpful throughout the stay. The location is very nice as it is right next to the river and in the city centre so very close to all the shopping and restaurants and within walking distance from the Ljubljana castle. The only downside is that there is no way of getting very close to the hotel by car. We parked our car in the garage recommended by the hotel and decided to walk from there. We didn't think that the distance sounded so bad, but there are stairs and then there was some road work so that we had to take a detour to reach the hotel. I recommend you taking them up on the offer to come and help you with the luggage, then you only have to do one set of stairs and then they will drive you to the hotel with a little cart. We learned that the hard way and were more than happy to use this service after checking out. The hotel has a deal with the parking garage so you get it for a bit cheaper (for 15€) than you'd get it otherwise.

I highly recommend this hotel, we really enjoyed our stay in Ljubljana and the Vander Urbani Resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanderUrbaniResort, Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Linda

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. One of the main priorities of Vander is its location, such as we couldn’t be more in the centre but unfortunately also true that it is a pedestrian zone not available to reach it with a car directly.
However guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! And with help such as yours we are motivated to improve ourselves even more.
We are happy our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay!
We really hope you will come back to visit us and next time enjoy our lovely terrace and the pool of course.

With kindest regards,
The Vander team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    59
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
84
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed at Vander Urbani over the Christmas period in 2013, and I neglected to post this review sooner.

The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Ljubljana, which makes it very convenient for walking to the open-air market, shops, town square, and cafés and restaurants. It's situated in a pedestrian zone, so the nearest that a taxi or car can get to the hotel is a few blocks away. This is only a minor inconvenience and should not affect a decision to choose this wonderful boutique hotel.

The rooms are efficient, modern, and clean--everything one could ask for in a boutique property but it's not a full-service hotel, so if you're looking for a huge fitness center, business services, etc., that's not what the Vander Urbani is all about.

What sets this hotel apart is the amazing staff. For English-speaking travellers, the language proficiency is excellent (as I found it to be throughout Ljubljana). Furthermore, they all seem to want to go above and beyond to take care of their guests. I found myself there on Christmas Eve and despite the best efforts of the concierge, we could not find a restaurant that would be open for dinner that evening.

No worries--the staff decided to keep the restaurant open well beyond what was planned, so that they could serve dinner to me and a couple of other guests in the same situation. I am still amazed that several of the kitchen and waitstaff stayed at work for this--when they should have been at home with their families--just to make sure that we had a nice meal on Christmas Eve. What a truly remarkable gift!

I'm planning another visit to Ljubljana this summer and I've already booked my room at the Vander Urbani. While I can't promise that the staff will go so far out of their way for every guest, anything--truly--is possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We truly appreciate your kind words about our comfy and modern rooms and especially our lovely staff. We work really hard to serve the best food in a great environment and also we are trying our best to make our guest feel like home. We are more than glad to see those efforts pay off on your last visit. We will make sure that the staff gets the right recognition they deserve.
We are very happy that you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
With kindest regards,

The Vander team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

It's the fourth time we go to the vander. The atmosphere is there really design and cosy. The rooms are very comfortable and modern. Having a lunch outside is a real pleasure. It's very well situated. We'll come back certainly very soon. I feel there like home.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Allow us to thank you sincerely on your wonderful remarks. Since we are a small boutique hotel our main goal is to let our guest experience the local energy at its full charm and feel like home. So, in your case we are proud to have achieved and shared this experience with you.
We truly are looking forward to continue to share these moments with you in the near future.

On behalf of Vander family, we give you our best regards.
Vander team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel is really nice, cosy and modern. The pool in the terrace makes it look like a private house in the centre of the city. And Liubliana is really really nice. On top of that, the staff is very welcoming and really willing to help. What an excellent discovery.

Room Tip: Try to find if it's possible to have a toilet which is not very modern and full of design but in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Allow us to thank you for your precious time to share your opinion with us. It means alot to us. The pool terrace is our most precious treasure and we are more than happy that you found it delightful. We took in note your remark about the bathroom and we would like to let you know that we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.
Again thank you for choosing our lovely hotel for your stay in Ljubljana and of course you are more than welcome to stay with us any time.
With compliments,
Vander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The design of the hotel is very imaginative and build quality is very good.

Sleeping quality is amazing, with good mattresses and nice temperature. The spacious bathrooms are the highlight of the rooms, where furniture is one of the best I've seen in hotels.

The location is its biggest advantage, being right in the middle of the centre of Ljubljana, facing the river and a 1-5 minutes walk from all the sights, bars and restaurants.
The rooftop is small but nice, with a nice view of the city from the small infinity pool.

Breakfast is delicious but not as rich in variety as it would be expected for this price.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try and book the rooms with a view to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with all our staff. You will be happy to know that, as a result of guest feedback like yours, we do realize that we are staying on the right path, furthermore it gives us the motivation to improve ourselves even better.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warm wishes,
Vander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is a very comfortable boutique hotel with comfortable beds, big rooms and imaginative decor, right in the middle of the downtown area overlooking the river. Breakfast is pretty decent, and the staff are friendly and professional. Our room was great, but as another reviewer mentioned, the air conditioning doesn't work properly and on the last night I found it somewhat stifling. Great shower room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments and give us your feedback.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We truly regret that you had a problem with the air condition. We would like to extend our sincere apologies, be sure that we have fixed air condition in room where have you stayed.
Once again, we would like to apologies for the inconvenience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, to bring back your confidence in our property.

Best regards,
Vander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at Vander Urbani for two nights in early May 2014. The design of the hotel is amazing and we were impressed with its location: all attractions were within walking distance and some of the best places to eat and drink were just around the corner. Our room had wonderful river view. Bed and bathroom were perfect. The roof top bar has nice views and is perfect for an afternoon coffee or drink by the pool. If you like design and luxury we strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Book Room 36 for an astonishing view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most kind review on TripAdvisor and particularly for praising efforts of our deign, our location and the comfort of the rooms in general.
Thank you for being our guest and thank you for sharing your positive experience of Vander with other Tripadvisor readers.
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,
Vander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#6 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
3.8 mi away
G Design Hotel
G Design Hotel
#2 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#15 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
0.3 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#4 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vander Urbani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vander Urbani Resort

Address: Krojaska ulica 6-8, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vander Urbani Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first member of Design Hotels in Slovenia.Vander lies on the river bank of the River Ljubljanica in the lively centre of the old town. Vander's heart beats with the Old part of Ljubljana, where old and new co-exist in a passionate embrace. Everyone can find a place at Vander. Whoever comes to Vander, will leave with the feeling as a local - "Ljubljancan". The external and internal renovation was designed by SADAR + VUGA architects. 16 exeptionally designed rooms are available. All bathrooms offer Molton Brown cosmetics. We offer a perfect sleep with Frette bedding, Moroso armchairs, Diesel and Floss lightening. A roof top terrace with an infinity pool deck is offering a special sensation. All kind of events can be organized on a terrace. The hotel has also wine cellar, restaurant and wine bar. The most exquisite ingredients from Slovenia are used by the Benjamina Launay, our Chef de Cuisine and his endless inspiration. Ecological awareness is not just a fashion statement for us. It's a way of life and business. Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Vander Urbani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vander Urbani Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.