We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pri Mraku Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pri Mraku Guesthouse to your Saves list
Pri Mraku Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rimska 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Good central choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Pri Mraku is perfect as a gateway to central and old town Ljubljana. The standard rooms are a little basic (no aircon, but it wasn't hot during my time over there) and outdated (carpet) but do the job. Breakfast is a big plus and the staff is friendly as well. 2 minutes from the river and old town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    55
    50
    12
    0
See reviews for
12
45
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our vacation in Slovenia. Yes, it was very hot when we were in Ljubljana and we didn't have rooms with air conditioning, but if you get a room in the back and request a fan, you'll be fine. (Though you'll miss the woman across the road on the street side who spends most of her day hanging out the window and taking care of a lame pigeon!) Buffet breakfasts are fine, with the usual meats, cheeses, and bread - though the coffee machine could be placed in a better place to allow better access. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter but you miss the street action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was solo on business trip for 10 days, so in such instances I like hotels where I feel a bit at home. Exactly the right place for my needs. Friendly and helpful staff, good food (basic, but the kind you can have every day without getting sick of it), cheap wine including the one home-made sparkline rosé made from the 30 m² vine arbour. I saw reviews complaining about the absence of air conditioning. Note that there are rooms with and rooms without, with about 10€ price difference. So pay attention to the details if you book online; don't just check for lowest prices.

Room Tip: Roomq on the north are quiet (courtyard garden view), and very bearable without AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seongnam
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It's a bit far to walk from train/bus station...took us about 30 minutes...but once you get there the location is good right in the middle of town...breakfast was pretty good and staff were helpful...however, I thought 90 Euros was a lot for a very basic room (didn't even have AC)...but Ljubljana's accommodation prices seem pretty high on the average...Nothing was wrong with the place though...pretty safe bet if you can't find a lower priced non-hostel room...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

In April 2012, I rented a car in Frankfurt with Sixt (the best deal then) and drove through Germany, Austria, Slovakia (Bratislava only) Slovenia and Croatia for 25 days. I stayed in 20 hotels and spent an average of 72 Can/US dollars per night, which is way cheaper than the prices in Canada and USA. Based on this experience, I will rate those 20 hotels.

THIRTEENTH REVIEW: PRI MRAKU GUESTHOUSE, LJUBLJANA, SLOVENIA

This hotel needs renovating. It looks outdated, even to me, who tend to think that old hotels in Europe are charming, not just plain old (I'm a romantic lady, I guess). My room was dark and small, but clean, I have to say. Staff was nice and helpful, which made me feel better about the place. The location is very good, walking distance to main attractions and to the river. A bit expensive for what it offers, but, as I said, the location and the staff made up for the worn out room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here two nights as part of a group tour.. Our room did not have AC, but they offered us a fan which helped a great deal. The hotel is very clean, room was adequate, breakfast was very good, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If traveling in summer, request a room with air conditioning when amking the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The hotel was the first place of accommodation in a recent tour I took of Slovenia & Croatia, and I stayed for three nights. I stayed a total of three nights, arriving in Ljubljana one night before my tour officially began. I emailed the hotel to arrange the accommodation for the first night, and it was easily booked along with transfer from the airport (9 Euro per person). The airport transfer was waiting when we arrived and the driver was courteous and pleasant. The room I booked for the first night was a twin with air conditioning (#406), and I was able to keep the room for the other two nights of the tour (even though the tour covered only the rooms without A/C). The room was clean and quiet, facing rooftops rather than the main road. Others in my group with rooms facing the road, however, found their rooms very noisy (particularly due to the combination nearby bar and Euro Cup football tournament underway). Breakfast offered plenty of variety, with hot and continental options. Best of all, the location of the hotel was great, close to the major sights and charms of Ljubljana, and about a 15 minute walk to the train station.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the main road are quieter. A/C comes at a premium, but might be worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pri Mraku Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pri Mraku Guesthouse

Address: Rimska 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pri Mraku Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pri Mraku Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pri Mraku Guesthouse Hotel Ljubljana
Pri Mraku Hotel
Pri Mraku Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pri Mraku Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.