We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel very close to centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Ljubljana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Ljubljana to your Saves list
City Hotel Ljubljana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalmatinova 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel very close to centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in July 13. exceptionally close to centre of town around 3-4min walk round the block to triple bridges. Good service on reception on arrival. clean and nicely decorated hotel. Breakfast of a good standard. wifi not available everywhere in hotel but I was lucky to have arrow near the terrace. Only comment is lack of air con fans only but in fairness the recent 30+C heat is probably exceptional. Otherwise a great choice for a short stay in Ljubljana....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    363
    158
    40
    9
See reviews for
133
210
69
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, TZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Very standard business hotel downtown. Location is walkable to the main square, bars and restaurants, and the train station. Taxis always at the ready out front. Good access to the park for morning runs. Breakfast is outrageously over-priced and the rooms lack any hint of character, but both if those are standard features of business travel...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with free wifi and good breakfast, snacks / salads in the garden terrace, lobby with lovely aircon - front of house a bit abrupt and not extremely helpful but ok - sabastion the bar man great happy helpful and just lively chsp - other bar man a bit sharp - make sure you book the superior room - my double was very small and basic no aircon and 2 beds pushed together £25 per night extra for aircon and leper double bed great for sight seeing and great breakfast choice

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I arrived Ljubljana train station nearly midnight. I found the hotel without any difficulty. When I check in, the reception staff greeted me very professional. The room is very clean, even though I stay there only for a few hours. I checked out very early for Postojna and the breakfast was not yet ready. However, the reception staff allowed me to pack something for breakfast. It's a pity I can only pack a sandwich. There are great choices and plenty. I hope I can have it there. The location is also very good. It is only a few minutes walk to the historical centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed there on our road trip from Thessaloniki , the location was very good near the historical centre, the parking very easy to find. The rooms soundproof, the beds nice. Breakfast was really rich, the price they offered to us was very logical. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

we were on a guided tour from Budapest to venice and our hotel was city hotel in ljubljuna. we read the t/a reviews of city hotel and can agree with most of previous reviews. yes, the rooms are small, again the rooms are small. my wife and daughter stayed here in 1975 and there has b een many improvements, and it looks like more in the past years. the location can't be beat. steps from the city square and heart of the city, cathederal and fort/palace on top of the city. the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay as pleasant as possible. the lobby is large,inviting for guests to lounge in overstuffed chairs, enjoy a cocktail with others and meet old friends. free computers in the corner to use, Wi-Fi in all rooms(free). also a small space is made for a library and papers are put out each morn to keep in touch around the world, such as intl. herald tribune, financial times. this was something we did not encounter in our three week trip in other stops.
the breakfast was wonderful, large selections, variety to suit all needs and we also has an evening meal in our package which was also appealing and filling. an outdoor patio is also available when weather permits.since we were bussed I can not comment on parking. but again, for location, breakfast, Wi-Fi, all free and great staff support we didn't hear any negative comments from our touring group.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a great base for exploring Ljubljana, especially if you get a good deal on the price (we did). The rooms are really large, everything is well-appointed, lots of sockets, large bathrooms with good showers. There is free wi-fi in the foyer downstairs, in the bar etc., but not in the bedrooms. Best of all is the breakasts: buffet choices, hot and cold, local and national, something for absolutely everybody. The staff at reception are very friendly and speak excellent English.

Room Tip: A high floor is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#6 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#18 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Park Ljubljana
Hotel Park Ljubljana
#23 of 29 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#20 of 29 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ljubljana

Address: Dalmatinova 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Ljubljana 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel is located in the very heart of Ljubljana and is an excellent choice for both business guests and tourists to discover the charms of Ljubljana and Slovenia. It has a wonderful view of Ljubljana Castle and the city cathedral, and an ideal location just a stone’s throw from the historic old town. This pleasant hotel among the vibrant city inns, shops, and attractive historical buildings offers local Slovenian and international cuisine as well as a state-of-the-art congress center. The Jože Pučnik international airport is only 25 km from the hotel, and the main railway and bus station is only 400 m away. The hotel is easy to access from all of the city’s major roads; once in the city, you simply follow the blue hotel signs. Ljubljana’s City Hotel is the successor to the venerable Štrukelj Hotel, which opened in 1907. The current hotel excels in its friendly staff, the warmth of its rooms, and a broad range of services found at an excellent location in the very city center. City Hotel has 201 rooms, three luxury suites, an underground garage, a conference center with four meeting rooms, a library, a terrace, an Internet corner, a restaurant, and a bar. City Hotel’s complete makeover concluded with its opening in September 2007. The “basic” and “standard” rooms were renovated, and the “superior” rooms were moved to a completely new part of the hotel. All of the rooms use a card-locking system and all of them have free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your City Hotel Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ljubljana Cityhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Ljubljana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.