We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Ljubljana, Slovenia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel to your Saves list
Central Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miklosiceva 9, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Ljubljana, Slovenia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel in downtown Ljubljana, perfect location and service, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    131
    59
    11
    2
See reviews for
25
110
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We chose the Central Hotel for its convenient location to the railway station and the old town. It was satisfactory for our 3 night stay in Ljubljana, but a little disappointing compared to other hotels of a similar price we stayed at on this trip in Croatia, Italy and Austria. Our room was quite small, fitout was fairly basic and cleanliness was a little below our expectations. The breakfast buffet was good, as was the breakfast room. Overall, we didn't think the Central Hotel met its 4-star rating, and we'd put it at 3-star.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Hotel has great location right in the middle of town. Easy walk to tourist destinations & train station. Hotel is next to the police station, so I could hear the police cars coming & going all night. There was also construction nearby that started early in the morning

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knowyourworld
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Part of the larger Union Group of hotels, this is the budget-friendly option.
Well-located close to both the centre and the main bus and train stations.
Perfectly adequate room for my needs, well-stocked mini-bar, satellite TV, air-conditioning, free WI-FI, excellent shower and quiet ambience.
Breakfast is very good with a wide variety of choice.
I did not have so many dealings with the staff but found them to be very pleasant and helpful.
I would recommend and definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Swimming pool and Fitness centre located in the main Grand Union Hotel further down the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

A 5 minute walk to the railway station. Similarly a 5 minute walk to the old town by the river, very picturesque. Very nice hotel, lovely room, large bathroom, nice room, comfortable bed. Lots of TV channels and a lot in English.
Very friendly staff, nice breakfast with mixture of hot and cold food.
There is a sauna on the top floor but we never used that. There is a coffe/snack bar attached to the hotel.

My wife and I stayed there for one night on Friday 18th May as a stopover and would definitely stay there again.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Very nice property about a ten minute straight level walk from train station. Had a bit of difficulty finding it as we arrived after dark . We wandered around for a few minutes and asked a couple of people. Funny thing was we were standing right in front of it, but there was no signage at eye level. We were below the canopy and the name of the hotel was above, out of view. Good for a chuckle upon reflection.
We stayed for 2 nights during third week of March. The hotel was very quiet... not many guests. The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean, and very modern. Beds were comfortable. Nice showers. The breakfast buffet had many hot and cold choices and you could also order custom made items. Felt totally safe walking about after dark. Plus the police station is right across street from hotel.
We loved Ljubljana which we found to be a buzzy energetized little city. Charming riverside bars and cafes. Friendly people. Lots and lots of young people /students out enjoying the spring sunshine. The hotel is a short 5 or 10 minute stroll from the downtown historic area and about the same distance from the lovely park and art gallery.
We would go back to Ljubljana in a heartbeat, and would choose this property again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bogota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed there for a night while visiting Ljubljana. The rooms are quite comfortable, wifi included in the hotel fare, the breakfast was from 7 to 11am so it gives you a lot of time to go for a late breakfast. The options is the usual things: different types of cheese and ham, thick sliced grilled bacon, yogurt, bread, toast, coffee, milk, you can also ask for a fresh espresso, milk, cereals, the offer was quite good.
The staff was really friendly since me and my friends did the check in. the location its perfect.
The bed and pillows were ok, the bathroom a bit small although my friend's bathroom was bigger.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the top floor, the view is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: Miklosiceva 9, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel is a comfortable and cosy Ljubljana hotel. Its unique location in the city centre gives it a special sense of practicality and comfort. Central Hotel offers comfortable accommodation with 71 hotel rooms and 3 suites at good value rates The equipment in the rooms and suites: cable and pay-per-view TV, direct telephone, an internet connection by the writing desk, a mini bar, a safe, a bathroom with a shower or bath-tub and a hair dryer and anti-allergenic floor covering. All rooms in the hotel are air-conditioned. The hotel has smoking and non-smoking rooms arranged by floors. The hotel also has a laundry room, where guests may have their laundry washed and ironed for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.