We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could easily be done better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Contemporary History (Muzej Novejse Zgodovine)

National Museum of Contemporary History (Muzej Novejse Zgodovine)
Celovska cesta 23, Ljubljana 1001, Slovenia
386 1 300 96 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 57 Attractions in Ljubljana
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum explores the history of Slovenia during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Mainz
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Could easily be done better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A lot of interesting exhibits but unfortunately arranged in rather a confusing way. A few arrows directing the visitor through a chronological order would go a long way to improving the experience. The computer exhibition on the ground floor, though lacking in information, provides a fascinating insight into the evolution of the machines. Beware though: finding things that you used in your youth, in a museum, will make you feel old!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

If you are interested in the country's near history, this place is worth a visit. A bit hidden in the northern corner of the Tivoli park in an old mansion, but not expensive visit (and every first Sunday in a month is free access).

Downstairs had a temporary exhibit, this time computer history. This has no signs or information whatsoever in English but the actual exhibition had all signs also in English.

Lots of items and photos from 1900 onwards covering the major events of the country.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very interesting, well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My mum and I visited the museum on a recent day trip to Ljubliana, as we wanted to learn more about the recent history of Slovenia. It was very interesting and described events in Slovenia during the world wars and then the rise and fall of communism, with exhibits to bring it all to life. The signs were in English as well as Slovenian so we could understand everything, which was a big help, and we got a lot out of our visit. It's slightly tucked away in the Tivoli gardens and is not that easy to find (some large signs would be nice!), but it is well worth seeking out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Such an interesting museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We found this museum so interesting. Well laid out displays and very informative. I didnt know too much about Slovenian history and the museum certainly enlightened me!! We were the only visitors on a hot April afternoon and it meant we could really take our time and absorb all the information on offer. We also appreciated the good English translation of all documents. It was of course sad at times to read of the peoples' sufferings.
A really excellent museum - set incidentally in a gorgeous parkland.

I was a little puzzled by the pink tank outside (pink, why?) and irritated by the tourists clambering all over it taking photos of each other.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Who knew Slovenia was so young and has had such a chequered history...Europe's Eastern Battlefield. Lots of interesting facts in English which was very useful.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Contemporary History (Muzej Novejse Zgodovine) also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to National Museum of Contemporary History (Muzej Novejse Zgodovine)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Contemporary History (Muzej Novejse Zgodovine), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.