We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay in the center of Ljubljana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Union Business

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Union Business to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Union Business
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miklosiceva 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
trieste
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A nice stay in the center of Ljubljana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel surprised me very much.
The location is good, in the city center and just 2 minutes walking distance from the heart of the old city.
Rooms are big (altough maybe they need to be a little bit renovated...)
Extra: beds and pillows are very comfortable.
Personal of the hotel is very nice and always at disposal.
FANTASTIC breakfast buffet in the morning - big choice of sweet and salted things
I suggest this hotel for business stay in Ljubljana

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    127
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
33
85
27
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Don't be put off by the somewhat grim exterior; the hotel is extremely comfortable, relatively stylish and contemporary inside. It's not exactly got stacks of character, but unless you're looking for a romantic hideaway I can't imagine many people objecting to that.

Room sizes are generous, beds are great, breakfast is excellent and so is the service. The icing on the cake is the location: it's literally a two minute walk to the Three Bridges in the centre of the old town.

Summary: a perfect base for almost any type of trip to the Slovenian capital.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed in the Grand Hotel Union-Business while on a business trip to Ljubljana. The hotel is a great choice, located less than 5minutes walk from the historical centre. Rooms are very spacious and very well equipped and decorated. All the necessary amenities that will make you feel comfortable and also allow you to work are available. The level of cleanliness is also very good. I had no noise problems but some colleagues who were staying close to the elevators complained about noise during the night. Breakfast was very nice with a great variety of products. The staff is generally efficient but they don't seem very friendly or happy with their jobs. Finally, this hotel, as a part of a complex that also includes the Grand Hotel Union-Executive, is a good choice for business meetings but seems like a labyrinth with long corridors, up and down stairs etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is well located; room spacious and clean with all necessary equipment. Big desk to work provided. Breakfast food OK. One minus: the heating/air conditioning were making noise and there was no option to turn it off. Also the temperature was quite high with no possibility to lower it down, but there was possibility to open windows/balcony. No view and the building itself does not look anything special from outside. I would recommend for business trips like mine

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel was very nice. Staff was very polite and friendly. The rooms were clean, lots of bathroom amenities, free wi-fi and just very nice in general. The breakfast buffet each morning had everything you could want. My family and I were very impressed. There were even mints on the pillows!

Great location too! Two blocks from the main square!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights on a business trip to Ljubljana in November. The hotel is in a good position, very close to the old town and central to everything. I was allocated a room on the 8th floor which was spacious and well equipped with fridge, safe, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, in a hotel. I also had a large balcony with a fabulous view of Ljubljana and surrounding mountains. The staff in the hotel were helpful and friendly and nothing was too much bother. Breakfast was included with my room and it was an amazing spread and well worth it. I had one evening meal in the hotel and it was probably the best meal I had during my visit. The food was lovely, well presented and the restaurant staff were polite and helpful and made you feel special.
There are also leisure facilities in the hotel and free wifi also available throughout. I would highly recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will have a better view of the city and surrounding mountains. I was on 8th floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Despite the simple hall and welcome desk, this hotel is quite good for business purposes.

Located in the city heart, is close to shopping and restaurant area.

Wide rooms, good wifi service and fashion furniture allow people to have rest or to work without pain.

Good breakfast buffet with minute ready omelettes.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#6 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#14 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#16 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
3.9 mi away
G Design Hotel
G Design Hotel
#2 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union Business

Address: Miklosiceva 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#11 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union Business 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and comfortable Grand Hotel Union Business enjoys a privileged location in the financial and shopping district of Ljubljana's city centre. Renovated rooms feature elegant design, high-quality furnishings, free WIFI access and relaxation options adjusted to the requirements of every traveller ... Perfect combination of spacious rooms and modern facilities. Elegant a la carte restaurant with delicious cuisine is led by the head of Slovenian national culinary team. For a delicious warm or cold cake, visit the The Grand Union Cafe and enjoy the unique confectionery based on ancient recipes. Unwind at the indoor swimming pool, during a sauna or a massage and enjoy the souvenir shop, a fashion boutique and a jewelry shop. The Grand Hotel Union provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with a capacity for up to 800 participants and many other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Union Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Union Business, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.