We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location, modern rooms, would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Union Business

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Union Business to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Union Business
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miklosiceva 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great central location, modern rooms, would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and I have to agree with the other reviews on TA. The location is great and we used the parking underground as you don't need a car. The room was modern and very big. All normal facilities. There is a pool which we didn't use. The town centre is 2 mins away and everywhere is an easy walk.the only minor point is that I thought the breakfast was only okay especially for a 4 Star hotel. I wood expect "real" breakfast cereal in this type of hotel and while the rest of the hotel staff are very friendly the breakfast staff could smile a bit more.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    102
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
69
23
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Union Business hotel for three nights in May. On arrival I thought I may have made a mistake as the building is ugly! However I soon changed my mind. The reception staff were very friendly and check in was quick and efficient. The room and bathroom were huge, very modern and clean. The breakfast provided was plentiful and enough choice to suit everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I am visiting Ljubljana two to three times a year since more then thirty years.Only twice I did not stay in Union Business ...but I returned to this hotel because of the friendly and attentive staff and the perfect location in the heart of the city. Shops,restaurants and theaters are in walking distance and your car is in the hotel own garage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is not terribly attractive, inside or out, but the location cannot be beat. The rooms, unless you get the ones on the Executive side, face other buildings, so there is no view whatsoever. Be sure you ask for a non smoking room during the reservation process, as the smoking rooms smell very very bad. The breakfast buffet was excellent, both hot and cold, and you can order an omelette if you like. They are a little short on good fruit, no berries, even though strawberries are in season now. The staff mostly seem to be sullen, no smiles, and short with answers,.

Location is superb, the castle is right behind the hotel, and the river is a few steps away, with all the restaurants, bars, cafes, etc.

If you don't plan on spending a lot of time in the room, it is fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

a brilliant location, friendly and quick staff, spacious and comfortable rooms with a great view. I was there on business, so I also enjoyed the main hall in which I felt like I was in the XIX century.

Room Tip: my 6th floor was just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is in a brilliant location, 2 mins away from the Triple Bridge etc. Everything is in walking distance. It is modern and clean. The bathroom is lovely and clean with a nice shower etc. Giant spread for breakfast, in fact too much choice! Staff all very friendly and smiley. Tried to help out if we had questions and very polite. All in all, an excellent stay at this hotel and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Last minute booking, 5+ minute walk from train station. Very helpful and professional desk staff, quite a hoot to see my personalized welcome message on the flat screen TV as I entered my very clean, large, comfortable room. Internet was free and fast. Used the pool and spa facility to freshen up. Few minute walk to the river and 3 bridges for the choide of shops and restaurants.
With a 5:30 am departure, they booked a car to the airport for me and put this very reasonable charge on my bill - best to avoid negotiations with taxi drivers. They also packed a large breakfast to go for my early departure. This hotel is certainly on my repeat list and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Union Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union Business

Address: Miklosiceva 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union Business 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and comfortable Grand Hotel Union Business enjoys a privileged location in the financial and shopping district of Ljubljana's city centre. Renovated rooms feature elegant design, high-quality furnishings, free WIFI access and relaxation options adjusted to the requirements of every traveller ... Perfect combination of spacious rooms and modern facilities. Elegant a la carte restaurant with delicious cuisine is led by the head of Slovenian national culinary team. For a delicious warm or cold cake, visit the The Grand Union Cafe and enjoy the unique confectionery based on ancient recipes. Unwind at the indoor swimming pool, during a sauna or a massage and enjoy the souvenir shop, a fashion boutique and a jewelry shop. The Grand Hotel Union provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with a capacity for up to 800 participants and many other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Union Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Union Business, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.