We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lev Ljubljana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lev Ljubljana to your Saves list
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vosnjakova ulica 1, Ljubljana 1000 , Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
North Governorate, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just spent 3 nights and 4 days at the Hotel Lev in Ljubljana. The hotel was perfect for our needs and we totally enjoyed our stay. Yes, there was constant "drizzle" for the whole four days, but that didn't dampen the spirits of the people of the city, or our spirits for that matter. We really made use of the hotel umbrellas to visit the national museum (fabulous), the national cathedral (awe inspiring), the Ljubljana Castle (great views), and to spend nights down by the river enjoying the traditional hot mulled wine. (Don't expect to get tipsy on this concoction, since I think it is mostly apple cider. But it is perfect for a cold, damp evening by the river with the hundreds of other people enjoying the Christmas lights.) Back to the hotel. We were given an upgraded executive suite (unsolicited) at the same price as a regular double room. Of course, this is smart business for the hotel, if the room is available. (Why don't the airlines do the same???) Our first day, since we were headed to an interview after being half starved by an airline which will remain nameless, we wanted a quick lunch. We went to the hotel dining room and had the complete lunch menu of the day for a reasonable price. The soup and pork roast was very tasty and went a long way toward satisying our pork cravings, since we live in the middle east, where it is not available. The included breakfast each day was excellent. The service at this hotel is always friendly and personal. The breakfast would benefit from having an egg chef for custom orders, but this does not take away from the overall quality. Today for lunch I had a lamb roast that was expertly prepared with a roasted bell pepper stuffed with herbed cottage cheese, followed by the house special dessert: brule la tonka (English cream and chocolate mousse.) Overall it was a wonderful stay in a beautiful hotel and a beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    185
    77
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
149
33
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the best place to stay in Ljubljana.
only 5-10 minutes from the city center and very close to the main exits of the city.
Very nice rooms and agood service.
Breakfast is very rich the best VFM you can get
The hotel parking is a bonuse

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripdave
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No fault of the hotel, but the entire time we were at the Hotel Lev, it was pouring rain. What this means is no aimless exploratory walks. Every time we left the hotel we had to have a goal and a purpose.The restored historic area is only a 10-15 minute walk away, but warning, it does require a couple of turns and crossing of a major boulevard. Get a map, clear directions or have your Googlemaps open.

The hotel is a modern structure with all of today's amenities, wifi, safe, etc. included. Breakfast is served off of the lobby. Attractive bathroom and nice linens. Is the Hotel Lev the most luxurious hotel in town or located at the absolutely best location? No, but it will more than meet your needs.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekero, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the second time I stayed in Hotel Lev. They market themselves as a 5 star hotel, on signs, which is maybe exaggerating, but overall it's a decent hotel with, clean, nice rooms and a large breakfast buffet. The only bad thing was the red wine in the minibar, it was really not good and it was stored in the fridge. This is also something I pointed out to the receptionist when checking out.
But, they still charged me full price...

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceh_Tomo, General Manager at Hotel Lev Ljubljana, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear »Markus_ Klofelt«,

I would like to thank you for taking the time and sharing your positive opinion of your stay in Hotel Lev.
We would like to inform you that as of January 2014 Hotel Lev is a 4 star property. Due to adaptation to market needs and hotel’s relative size to our small Ljubljana’s market, we decided to move the hotel into this category, which has proven to be a smart choice.
Now, our goal is to make Hotel Lev a perfect 4 star hotel and in relation to that we appreciate your comments, since they indicate the areas where we will definitely focus on more closely.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope we will have the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Kind regards,
Tomislav Čeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the second time I stayed in Hotel Lev. They market themselves as a 5 star hotel, on signs, which is maybe exaggerating, but overall it's a decent hotel with, clean, nice rooms and a large breakfast buffet.

The only bad thing was the red wine in the minibar, it was really not good and it was stored in the fridge. This is also something I pointed out to the receptionist when checking out.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A good value hotel, with small but reasonably well equipped and clean room. No iron, but one arrived within 5 mins of calling down in the am. Good and extensive breakfast buffet. Service at reception and breakfast was friendly and efficient.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

things which were great:
- great customer service (very polite)
- restaurant offers excellent food
- good locations, 5minute walk from the centre

thing which could be improved:
- its a complete maze trying to walk from the underground car park to the hotel reception
- breakfast was average, good choice but average quality

Room Tip: restaurant is well worth a visit, slightly pricey but good service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lev Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lev Ljubljana

Address: Vosnjakova ulica 1, Ljubljana 1000 , Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Lev Ljubljana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lev is the best choice for everyone looking for classical elegance and modern comfort. Based on tradition and modern trends is offering a perfect accommodation in the centre of Ljubljana. 13-floor high glass exterior of the hotel offers a magnificent view of the city. Hotel is offering 173 rooms and suites with a sophisticated lighting concept, warm coloured lampshades and modern artwork. Recently renovated superior rooms offering different types of mattress hardness and pillows and high speed internet access are a perfect environment for business travellers with large working area, comfortable chair, possibility of a total blackout by means of electronically handled curtains. Classic and elegant standard rooms are tailored for leisure travellers who would like to escape for a simply get away from the daily grind. These ornately furnished rooms cater for a wide range of activities and offer magnificent views of the city centre and the castle. In a la carte restaurant Pri Levu, guests can enjoy endlessly in an exquisite modern cuisine with Mediterranean touch. Hotel Lev is the place to Meet with 6 meeting and conference rooms on the 13th floor with beautiful views around the city. In the ground floor, there is a newly refurbished conference and event hall which can host up to 400 participants and it is as such an important gathering place for business visitors. In this hall, working breakfasts, business lunches, gala dinners, receptions and parties can be organized. For the hotel guests parking in the hotel's garage can be provided as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lev Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lev Ljubljana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.