We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slovenska cesta 34, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 hotels in Ljubljana
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

It’s an easy walk from the train/bus station to the hotel. The hotel is situated a minute walk from the “pink church” and square.
Check in was efficient.
Room 337 has a foyer before the main room and the bathroom off to the left. There are large windows that open. There’s a desk with chair plus a double bed. The lighting is a little lacking but the bed side lamp is enough for reading. There are plenty of electrical outlets. The wi-fi is included and works pretty well. The safe gave us a lot of trouble…it is large enough for a laptop but it is placed in a high cabinet out of my reach. At five feet nothing, I know I am below average…but, it could be better located. My six feet husband had to reach everything for me. Further, the instructions to input your combination are not accurate and we set it off. We had to call the front desk. The bellman arrived quickly and resolved the problem.
The bathroom is a little dated with the plastic enclosure. But, it worked well with good water pressure and constant temperature. The big towels are good and soft. The hairdryer works well.
The included breakfast is quite nice. There is a lot of variety; including sparkling wine, hot chocolate, fresh milk, yogurts, cheese, cold cuts, fresh tomatoes, cucumbers and peppers. There are a lot of breads and rolls. The hot foods are great especially with the yummy Slovenian sausages. We had a much better experience when we arrived early before the crowd.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    352
    84
    17
    6
See reviews for
90
264
77
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic stay. No negatives at all. Beds were super comfortable, breakfast had enough variety to keep everyone happy. Though they tend not to replace certain items as it gets closer to closing time.

Location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed there while traveling through Ljublijana and were very pleased with the overall experience. The room was very comfortable, with great bed and very silent. It is in the center of town and has a parking (although for secure parking you have to pay an extra 18 euros... a bit pricey...). The staff was exceptionally helpful and nice and the breakfast absolutely great! I highly recommend this hotel and I will be using it again for sure. The room and interior of the hotel could use a bi of renovation though....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I booked the hotel not expecting too much having stayed in a “normal” Best Western a few weeks before. The “Premier” version is so much better. All the staff I met were friendly and helpful. The room (641) had a super view of the castle, although I think only rooms 634-641 have such a view due to buildings in the way for other rooms. The room was fairly small, but fine for me. Comfortable bed, fast wifi, lots of hot water…what more could you want? The buffet breakfast was amazing, plenty of choice, and a free a la carte menu if you wanted a proper meal rather than the buffet (I ordered the eggs benedict – very tasty). The spa area was a little odd though, with it being a unisex area, and the showers without curtains overlooking the “relaxing area”. The minibar was very overpriced, but there is a Spar shop downstairs. The location is nearly unbeatable for central Ljubljana. I’d definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 634-641 have super views of the castle. Same rooms on the 5th might have a similar view. Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay here on Christmas eve, The room was clean although not as spacious as we like.
The staff is friendly and the bar has a very nice selection of Slovenian wines and very affordable prices.
We had dinner in the restaurant and were very pleased with the quality of the food and service.
This hotel is right in the center of the city, a block from the town square and not far from the train station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Rooms are comfortable but a bit small for the category of hotel. As others have noted, the concierge service was excellent, the lady went out of her way to suggest different things we could see and do. Gym is quite small but was empty so not a real problem. Car park is a good walk from hotel and not included in price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Except of WiFi, everything was just excellent. We are a couple that stayed in the hotel for two nights in the beginning of January, 2014. Clean rooms, nice atmosphere, comfortable feeling, great staff, great location, excellent breakfast.
Unfortunately, WiFi was absolutely terrible. Most of time we were unable to connect at all. It’s a pity as all other facilities in the hotel were just fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon

Address: Slovenska cesta 34, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#6 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the very heart of Ljubljana city centre. It takes only a few minutes’ walk to the old city core, the Ljubljana castle and all the main city sights. All rooms have been newly renovated and among other feature modern decoration, LCD screens with DVD players. The new luxurious bed concept is composed of new mattresses, duvets and an extensive pillow menu. The bed linens are made of the finest Egyptian cotton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Priceline and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ljubljana
Ljubljana Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.