We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction site” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slovenska cesta 34, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Manchester UK.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Construction site”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. On arrival it was a building site outside and a huge area inside ( For a new lift shaft I guess ) was cordoned off. We were not informed on booking so disappointed to be held hostage on checking in. I found the staff to be generally grumpy, Esp the cafe guy who shouted he didnt open until 9am when I sat down at 8.55 am !!!! Rooms were very good and the bedding nice clean and very comfy. Air con would not go below 19 degrees and struggled to keep the whole room cold ( 36 degrees outside ).
This place is in a great location and the breakfast was really good but the unexpected building work disappointing..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregorLJU, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us. We understand your dissapointment because of our elevator renovation and lobby area marble flooring update. We are renovating for you, to be even more attractive for all our future guests and to provide more comfort and satisfaction. Lifts needed urgent replacement, therefore we could not wait for less busy period of the year. Luckily tis is a short term renovation and will be completed by monday the 19th of August. We are informing our guests about this renovation on our web page. The notice is very clear and can be seen on the 1st page, although as you correctly stated your guest room experience was not affected by noise. During your stay, outside temperatures hit history record and were declared at 40,5 degrees Celcius. Our airconditioning is strong, at normal circumstances, but this clearly was not the case that weekend. This week, temperatures are back to normal and our hotel is chilled to all international standards.
Regarding the comment about the coffe shop grumpy staff member, we are very sorry about this unpleasant experience. We will investigate the incident and act accordingly against the person in charge. This certainly is not acceptable and actions will be taken against such behaviour.
Kindest regards,
Gregor Jamnik
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    472
    126
    27
    9
See reviews for
128
394
98
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

the hotel is good, the location is very good because it is near the main street, the only complaint is that the price for the offer is big, by that I mean the quality of the furniture. Neat, clean, but shows that they need to re-invest the money in the renovation, but it's nothing that someone who stays there for seven days can't survive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
270 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The rooms had good space for third bed. Good air conditioning. Concierge helpful with good dinner and other recommendations.

Only negative was slight noise in morning from outside construction and internal rennovations of elevators.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very nice hotel in an excellent location - 2-3 mins from the Triple Bridge. Nice rooms, and even have a pillow menu which is a very nice touch in getting a good nights sleep.

Only criticism would be the renovations taking place in the lobby which means the usual lifts are unavailable, and access to the bar had to be by leaving the hotel and walking along the street. This was never mentioned when we booked, which may have meant we'd have booked a different hotel.

I'd definitely stay there again once renovations were complete and would recommend it to friends. Our experience would be Good, but once back to normal I am sure people would find it Very Good/Excellent.

Also, breakfast was excellent. Comprehensive buffet and will also do cooked english breakfasts to order too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were staying at the Best Western Slon for 2 nights at the end of
July. While there, we got a sad news that a family member of one of us in the group passed away.
The lady that was manning the concierge desk, I think her name is Leyla, was super helpful. She managed to get a ticket to Paris at a moment notice. Thank you for such a great service in time of great sorrow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Slon go three nights early August an find it perfect for our needs. Perfect location three walking minutes from the three bridges (center), professional and warm service, mainly in the dining room. Breakfast is very good. The beds are so comfortable we wanted to stay longer... The only drawback was they were in the midst of renovating the elevator. No compensation offered. Parking is for additional charge of 18 Euros per day. Eitan

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The room was a bit small but that was ok. It was clean, the bathroom nice. The elevator was tiny and hot (mirrored walls), I didn't like it and usually don't mind those things. The parking was an extra $20-30 which we hadn't expected, but they certainly brought the car around in the morning promptly. The hotel itself is trying to upgrade and modernize it's dark interior. Walking to old town Ljubljana was easy, close. And did I mention the incredible breakfast buffet? Wow! Don't expect any view, it's in the business district. It was noisy when we were there, but that's due to construction out front. Didn't even bother us at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#6 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#16 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
G Design Hotel
G Design Hotel
#2 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
#5 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#14 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon

Address: Slovenska cesta 34, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the very heart of Ljubljana city centre. It takes only a few minutes’ walk to the old city core, the Ljubljana castle and all the main city sights. All rooms have been newly renovated and among other feature modern decoration, LCD screens with DVD players. The new luxurious bed concept is composed of new mattresses, duvets and an extensive pillow menu. The bed linens are made of the finest Egyptian cotton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ljubljana
Ljubljana Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.