We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modernized castle, mimial attractions, great restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ljubljana Castle

Ljubljana Castle
Grajska Planota 1, Ljubljana, Slovenia
+386 1 306 42 93
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Ljubljana Castle like an insider
Top Rated
$11*
and up
Ljubljana Walking Tour with Ljubljana Castle...
Ranked #10 of 105 things to do in Ljubljana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A mighty medieval fortress, a symbol of the Slovenian capital Ljubljana is an interesting tourist point, the idyllic grounds for long strolls just a glance away from the lively city centre. The Ljubljana castle offers many cultural, historic and entertaining events throughout the year.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Modernized castle, mimial attractions, great restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Mid afternoon we took the funicular up to the castle which is located in the centre of the city.
We heard the climb up the hill was quite steep so if you are short on time or have mobility issues, we suggest taking the funicular. Although there was little to visit, the views were excellent. We could see the Julian Alps in the distance.

Our dinner was at the highest rated restaurant for typical Slovenian food, Gostilna na Gradu. Our waitress was so pleasant and made our evening very enjoyable.

The castle has been renovated extensively, so you don't see much of the original structure. The interior venue must be used for corporate events, or large cocktail parties. We did not see the museum exhibits so we cannot comment on them. There are several outdoor cafés for drinks.

Going to this castle is more about the views, getting a birds-eye look at Ljubljana and the mountains beyond. You can also climb the tower for even better views.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    489
    310
    53
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Sweet Hilltop Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Ljubljana Castle totally stole my heart on a recent visit to Ljubljana. The castle itself has been renovated extensively, so there isn't very much about it that still retains that ancient feel that some european castles can have, but it does have a lot going for it. The museum exhibits are excellent and give you a good overview of the history of the castle itself and Slovenian history in general. There is a very good animated video that explains the history of the castle in a unique way.

Of course, the VIEWS are the main thing. What better way to get a birds-eye look at the whole of Ljubljana and the hills and mountains beyond? You can get some good views from walking along the castle walls, but climb the tower for the best views of all.

I also highly recommend making time for a meal here. Either stop in at the cafe for a cappucino and dessert or eat at the fabulous restaurant (locally-sourced foods, traditional Slovenian dishes).

The climb up the hill is really quite steep and can be challenging for some visitors, so if you are short on time or have mobility limitations, I recommend giving the furnicular railway a try.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Castle with city view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I like the walk up to the castle thru a small path from the old town. Can truly explore the area nnone can enjoy the fauna during the walk. The view from the castle was breathtaking and beautiful

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Dinner at the Top of the Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wow, the view was great. The food was good, but a little pricey for my tastes. But, it was our last night to eat in Ljubljana, so we splurged. We were a bit under-dressed, but what the heck, they still served us and accepted our money. My opinion - "Been there, done that." I don't need to go back, not because it was bad, but eh, it was a once time thing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing view, great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Ljubljana castle is a great composite of old and new, renovated in a sympathetic way. In my opinion it's well worth the trek up the hill if you want to walk, or take the cable car if you don't have the energy. We did the champagne tour which, for only slightly more money meant that we had a lovely guide who spoke fantastic English and gave us a really informative tour of the castle and the renovations. We also got a glass of champagne at the top of the tower with a beautiful view over the city. We also, on a separate occasion, went to the castle courtyard for an outdoor cinema which I can also highly recommend for a lovely evening under the stars!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ljubljana Castle also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Ljubljana Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ljubljana Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.