We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun cable car, great city view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ljubljana Castle

Ljubljana Castle
Grajska Planota 1, Ljubljana, Slovenia
+386 1 306 42 93
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Ljubljana Castle like an insider
Top Rated
$11*
and up
Ljubljana Walking Tour with Ljubljana Castle...
Ranked #10 of 104 things to do in Ljubljana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A mighty medieval fortress, a symbol of the Slovenian capital Ljubljana is an interesting tourist point, the idyllic grounds for long strolls just a glance away from the lively city centre. The Ljubljana castle offers many cultural, historic and entertaining events throughout the year.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
1,044 helpful votes 1,044 helpful votes
“Fun cable car, great city view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited on a clear night last summer and had a lot of fun. There isn't really much to see at the castle itself, but of course it offers amazing views of the city and the Julian Alps. We rode the cable car up, which in and of itself was fun. It's a very quick and steep ride, and it's cool to see the tops of the buildings as you rise above. i don't remember how much it cost, but the ride was pretty inexpensive.

At the castle, there were one or two free, not-too-exciting rooms to see. There was also an exhibit of photographs by Steve McCurry (famous for the photo of the Afghan girl with piercing eyes on the cover of National Geographic), but we didn't want to pay to get in. There was also a restaurant or cafe or something, which we didn't eat at because we'd heard it was expensive with just average quality.

The star attraction was the city view! We spent quite a while looking out. The viewpoint appeared to have been recently renovated/restored and was quite nice. there was a (free!) WC on the bottom level, also nice. We went up around sunset, so the views were especially amazing. After getting our fill of the view, we explored the outskirts of the castle. This was also where there was a path to walk back down (we opted to ride the cable car). It was a well-marked path of wooden planks/stairs and didn't look incredibly long.

* If you like my review, I appreciate you clicking the 'helpful' button; those of us who take the time to write reviews live for those and it motivates us to do more :) *

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    486
    309
    53
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Spectacular City View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent several days in Ljubljana in September. My wife and I walked up to the Castle prior to the start of our Adriatic tour. We approached from the south side near St Florian's Church and then took the path up to the Castle. Along the way there were numerous views of the city, topped by the view from the Castle itself. As we got there we found ourselves in the middle of a wedding celebration: it's apparently a very popular wedding venue. Within the castle walls there is a restaurant with a very good reputation, unusual for a tourist stop.

Instead of the funicular, we took the very steep path that takes you back to the town center at the Triple Bridge. Exercise great caution if you take this path down. We should have taken the funicular, because my wife slipped on the loose gravel on the path and did a marvelous job of skinning her knees. We were helped by a wonderful German couple, and went straight to the pharmacy in the Triple Bridge Square. She was a great sport about it, but she spent the rest of the trip with bandages on them.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great views, but little else to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Grad Ljubljana in some form, dates back to Roman times, when the city was an outpost of the empire called Emona. Since then, it's changed hands several times between the Ottomans, the Hapsburgs, the French, etc. It has been a fortress, a royal residence, an armory and a prison. Today, it's sort of a catch-all entertainment complex with concerts, fine dining, etc. (locals can get married here for free). You'd think that with all that history, that the displays would be a little more interesting. But the appeal of this castle is just being here and soaking up the atmosphere and the great views of Ljubljana. Save your money and skip the historical film--it doesn't reveal anything more than I've written here, and I got all that from the brochure and my guidebooks. The climb to the top of the tower is rewarding, but you can get almost the same panoramic view from the walkway on the outer wall.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perfect other then some works inside disturbing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

All of us loved funicular there - we think it is the best we ever seen and we have seen a few - the sense of safety together with 360 degree views, rare combination

Castle itself is pretty ordinary but hey take care of it very well. Older kids enjoyed virtual castle tour.

Couple of other things - interesting chapel, filled with bright historic paintings - coats of arms of previous owners

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic view of Alps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The best part of the Ljubljana castle is the view you get on a clear day of the alps in the distance. Its especially beautiful in the winter, on a rare clear day, when the alps are covered in snow. There are several ways to climb up and down the castle hill, and all day you will find Slovenes walking up the hill and through the adjacent park to get their exercise. Explore the park a bit and you'll find remnants of the old fort, and lots of locals walking their dogs. Its a lovely way to spend an afternoon in Ljubljana! I haven't acutally ever paid to go into the castle; enjoying the grounds is free.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ljubljana Castle also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Ljubljana Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ljubljana Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.