We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week-long vacation in Slovenia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slovenia Explorer Tours - Day Tours

Slovenia Explorer Tours - Day Tours
Celovska 69c, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
+386 40 555 656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 61 Activities in Ljubljana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours, trips and excursions in Slovenia for groups and individuals. Scheduled daytrips to the most popular tourist highlights of Slovenia. Private tours in Slovenia, including guide, transport, accommodation, sightseeing and activities. Custom-made tours to lesser known natural, cultural and historic sights. Specialist tours. Photo tours and courses. Fly fishing holidays with expert fly-fishing guides. Cycling and hiking tours. Gourmet and wine tasting tours. Golf holidays. Booking of accommodation, transfers (including near-by airports), adventures and other services.
Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Week-long vacation in Slovenia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A friend and I spent a week in early October 2012 travelling all over Slovenia with Gregor's company Slovenia Explorer. We also stayed in the Old Church apartment near the city-center of Ljubljana that Gregor manages, which was a great home-base and everything worked out perfectly.

We only had a half day left on the day we arrived, which we spent at Predjama Castle & Postojna Cave. Postojna Cave is without a doubt the most amazing cave experience I've ever had -- it was definitely one of the highlights of the trip for me! On the second day we went to Celje Castle, Ptujska Gora, Maribor, Ptuj (Celje was a personalized stop specifically for us; all the other stops are part of the regular Maribor & Ptuj day trip). I absolutely LOVED Celje but then I have a definite weakness for old castles! ;) Day three was spent sightseeing in Ljubljana on our own. The Coastbusters Tour (Seaside in 1 Day) was on the agenda for day four: Socerb Castle, Hrastovlje, Piran, Portorož, Koper. Piran was my favorite on this trip; both the city itself but also the Soline salt fields. Amazing stuff! We booked the Celtic Pathways Tour on day 5 (Krka River Valley: Žužemberk, Novo Mesto, Kostanjevica), which was a very leisurely day with not as much sightseeing of places packed in, as much as it was appreciating the beautiful scenery and lovely old castle ruins & villages. On the sixth day we went to Lake Bohinj and Lake Bled, with a small special stop (= personal request) at the Savica River to enjoy the *gorgeous* views. As part of this daytrip we visited a World War cemetery in Nova Gorica and explored Vintgar Gorge, which was ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE and which I would highly recommend to anybody who enjoys nature's beauty. The Gorge was definitely another highlight of our Slovenia trip for me! The last day was spent on Slovenia Explorer's Soča Valley -- Nature & Adventure trip: visiting Kransjka Gora, Bovec, Kobarid, Vršič Pass, the Russian Chapel and Lake Jasna (= we did this trip the other way around compared to the normal routine, to accommodate our departure schedule better). We also spent a couple of hours kayaking on the Soča River as part of that day's fun, which was truly fantastic!

We had the privilege of getting to know most of Slovenia Explorer's current guides throughout these 7 days: Gregor, Ivana, Nejc and George and all of them were *exceptionally* knowledgeable, kind and fun to be with! We were impressed with how flexible they were (in terms of timing, special arrangements, etc.) and how willing to work with us in regards to special requests, etc. I must've asked hundreds and hundreds of (sometimes quirky) questions throughout that week and the answers truly reflected the love and passion all of the tour guides have for their country -- and their incredible knowledge of all things "Slovenia". None of those bored, standard or trite remarks I've experienced in other places -- more often than not, we had fantastic, in-depth conversations about the country, the history, the people, the food, politics.... you name it! This was of course only possible because we were always just a small group or even just the two of us (we shared the trips with others on a couple of days but there were never more than a total of 8 of us; on several days it was just the two of us, which was really fantastic and made for a very personalized experience). I also particularly enjoyed the food/restaurant choices: I couldn't get over how inexpensive (yet wonderfully delicious!) the meals were and I loved going to "insider" spots thanks to the local knowledge of our tour guides.

One of the major bonus points of travelling like this was that we never had to worry about anything (other than the cost of meals), everything else was sorted out for us: all the travel to and from places, entrance fees, the timing to get in to certain tours, etc. etc. It made for a very stress-free and relaxed experience, with the focus on enjoying the moment and the country vs. having to worry about "all the little details".

I have absolutely no reservations about recommending Slovenia Explorer to others; on the contrary, we wholeheartedly recommed Slovenia Explorer if you want to discover Slovenia not just as a tourist but to get a sense of the locals daily lives.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    15
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Personable and good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I will echo the previous reviewers. We chose Slovenia Explorer based on the Trip Advisor excellent reviews. We were so sold based on the experience of the previous travellers that we booked three tours on consecutive days.

First day: Maribor & Ptuj where we were picked up in a van by Gregor and Ivanna. Gregor was the driver/guide and owner of the business. Gregor was courteous, friendly, accommodating, a good driver, unhurried (we left at 8:30 a.m and returned at 7:00 p.m.). He speaks excellent English. We visited a Carthusian Monastery (old romanesque door), then to a church at Postuja which has the oldest gothic architecture in Slovenia and a beautiful view and further went to have lunch at Ptju, where we had the lowest price lunch of our entire trip through Austria and Slovenia. It was a large lunch, good and excellent value. Gregor knows where to take his guests! It was a place that the locals frequent! We had a walking city tour and visited the castle/museums. Afterwards we drove to Maribor for a walking city tour and wine tasting. There was only one more person with both of us in this tour. It was an informative tour, but we wished Gregor would have freely given us more information about the history, culture and politics of Slovenia. He did answer our questions when asked, but we would have wished it would have come more freely.

2nd day: We were picked up promptly at our hotel again in a van and this time, accompanied by a trainee and couple from Germany. We visited Lake Bled, Predjama Castle and Postojna cave and an Argentinian lady joined us in the van for the afternoon part of the tour. Ivanna speaks excellent English with a slight Australian accent. She gaves pertinent information during the tour, but we found and told her as a constructive criticism that instructions to the travellers needed to be more explicit.

3rd day: Ivanna picked us up again promptly and this time it was a "private" tour since there were only the two of us in a jeep. We visited the Socerb castle, Soline salt fields, Piran and Koper and also Hrastovlje, since we had the time, where we saw the original fresco of the dance macabre.

The great advantage of Slovenia Explorer is that it uses van or jeep, therefore, offering a completely different experience from the large tour buses as getting in and out is faster and it can be stopped at different points more easily and much more personable. Moreover all the prices are included in their excursions, avoiding this addition of expenses and collecting money at different attractions. Of course, lunches/snacks are not included, but the wine tasting in Maribor is! It is well recommended!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent choice to explore Slovenia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Slovenia Explorer guided us through the country for 3 days. Very professional guide with much knowledge aboiut the country.
Next to attaractions booked upfront, he also showed us other interesting sides of Slovenia.
Would certainly use them again in future.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Professional with amateur spirit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent one whole day with our driver/tour guide Gorast aka George. He was punctual, friendly, knowledgeable, and fun. We really enjoyed the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience touring a majority of Slovenia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The tour started almost as soon as the plane landed, we managed to time our first tour perfectly with our arrival. we were whisked off by Slovenian Explorer to predjama caves which featured a train journey deep into the caves which featured amazing rock formations. and the must see human fish.

Over the rest of our holiday we enjoyed several more tours, the tour guides had a great mix of local knowledge furnishing us with local information and ledgends from each of the areas we visited. they were able to adapt the trip to our needs a case in point was an old church that was normally closed(locked) that was open on the day we passed and the tour guide was able to add a quick stop to see some brilliant paintings that would normally we would have missed by the convential means.

The best thing I have to admit to enjoying was being driven around on these tours removing the hastle of getting lost or having to concentrate on the road and after a long day being able to have the option of joining in the conversation with the rest of the vehicle or just shutting my eyes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slovenia Explorer Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Slovenia Explorer Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slovenia Explorer Tours - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.