We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mescanka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mescanka to your Saves list
Mescanka
Kljucavnicarska 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tillsonburg, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We loved this accomodation. It's right in the centre of town on a beautiful street, draped in Willow trees and lined with trendy cafes. Our room was small but was very clean, nicely decorated and had a beautiful bathroom. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. They allowed us to leave our luggage on site until we were leaving later in the day. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting to visit beautiful Ljubljana.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
60
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It is an apartment, with kitchen facilities, free, easy and fast wi-fi, TV. There is no cleaning service, so be careful if you stay for a long journey (they change the towels after 2 days). The location is wonderful, but no access to car (careful if you have many luggage), there is no 24h door service, but they explain exactly how to get there, and they wait for you if you check in out of regular time. From there it is possible to walk to the main places and restaurants. There is a stair to carry the luggage (careful again) , one or two floors. The bed linen is OK, the towels OK, but the bed is quite noisy when you sleep. There is heating and air conditioning. It is not a luxurious place but you feel like at home, you can prepare your breakfast or lunch, buying food close to the apartment.

Room Tip: I stayed in the biggest room, second floor, with a separate bed room, very ample and with view by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

An excellent if fairly small room, the only way they could improve it would be to paint it in lighter colours. It was very dark. It did have everything we needed and couldn't have had a better location. It was a 20 minute walk from the station, but once there we were in the heart of the old, pedestrianized, city. The internet was down on the public access pc for our whole stay, but these things happen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Location is great, right at the center. 20 min walk to the station with luggage. We booked an apartment. It's on the top of the floor aka. the attic. My husband and i are not super tall. But we still have to bend a little sometimes, like going to the toilet. I think some of the photos here show our attic-like room. There is a well-equipped kitchen and a fridge which i appreciate a lot. Bed is okay. Onr strange thing is it comes with two very thick quilts. Those quilts are for unbearable winter nights, not an air-conditioned room. Overall it's a nice place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

These apartments could not be faulted. In a perfect position right in the old town, they represent excellent value for money. Information about location and parking was accurate and informative. It’s important to find the car park with the easiest access as dragging bags across cobblestones can be problematic. The apartments themselves are furnished and decorated in a smart and contemporary way, linen is excellent and they are extremely clean. The kitchen was well equipped and we could cook a complete meal. Wifi and airconditioning worked perfectly. There are seven apartments in the building from studio to 2 bedroom and from our observations they are all equally well furnished and decorated. There is one important fact to be aware of. We had booked a studio with a view onto the river. When we arrived we were given a one bedroom apartment at the rear of the building with no outlook and little natural light. Luckily we had a copy of our original booking and were able to show this to the extremely helpful young man. He contacted the manager who agreed to upgrade us at no extra cost to a larger apartment overlooking the river. The manager claimed that it was sometimes necessary to alter bookings and this was absolutely acceptable as long as the price was the same. She claimed it was explained in the ‘house rules’. This is not okay. A room or apartment with a view is infinitely better than one without, regardless of size. If you both a room with a view that’s what you book.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I recently stayed in Mescanka apartment Ludmila with two friends. We were very pleased with the location (in the middle of everything) as well as with the apartment itself - it was stylish, clean, very well equipped (from shower gel and hair dryer to full sets of different kitchenware). Would definitely stay here again! Wi-Fi worked flawlessly in our studio.

Please consider however that there is no lift and Ludmila is located on the top floor (quite a climb).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The room was great - great air conditioning, comfy bed, large room. Amazing location. The only negative was the internet was TERRIBLE. Great service as well and easy to get to............................................................

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mescanka, Manager at Mescanka, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I'm really glad that you have enjoyed your stay and I apologise for the terrible wifi signal! We realised that someone unplugged one wifi receiver so one area of the house was not covered properly. We have already fixed that and put a sign asking the guests not to unplug it. The wifi is now working like it should. Sorry for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mescanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mescanka

Address: Kljucavnicarska 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the river, beneath the castle and between the two central bridges of the city, Meščanka apartments (pronounced 'Meshchanka', meaning City Lady) offer you the perfect place to stay to discover Ljubljana. You can choose between rooms, studios or fully equipped flats, all with private bathroom. The clean and cosy premises were completely renovated in 2011 to blend a great mix of old refurbished furniture and modern interior design. Come and stay in Meščanka and you will feel why people fall in love with Ljubljana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mescanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mescanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.