We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cubo to your Saves list
Hotel Cubo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Slovenska Cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

A few top luxury hotels could learn from the superior level of service displayed by staff and management at this lovely hotel. There are no plastic smiles here, there is genuine warmth and interest from each member of staff. The culture of excellence in service and a genuine attempt to create the best experience shines through. Hotel Cubo is a neat, modern and very agreeable hotel close to the old town but this isnt why I give it such an exceptionally high rating. I have stayed in some leading luxury hotels around the world, at a price to reflect of course, yet I would rarely bother to write a review. This is because even in such fine hotels staff are trained in a formality of approach that sees them always polite but generally distant and this makes the total experience feel a little formulaic. Hotel Cubo just gets it right. They are the best representatives for their beautiful country too. I hope they don't change a thing.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    87
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
299
48
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I travel frequently and rarely give a hotel 5 stars since there is usually something missing. Hotel Cubo was close to perfect. The other reviews have captured the quality. It is well-designed with good room layouts, and a high comfort level. The staff were wonderful, pleasant and helpful at all service levels. The breakfast was the best continental I have ever seen and beautifully displayed; it was a nice way to start the day. The lunch menu was superb. I have stayed in Ljubljana before and consider this the best hotel. I recommend it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a street facing room for the best view. There is no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay three nights at this boutique hotel in downtown Ljubljana - 5 minute walk from downtown square and 2 minutes from university. We stayed in a Jr. Suite - which was very roomy and modern. Large HD TV for entertainment.
Breakfast buffet was included. Nice assortment of fruit, cereal, eggs, bacon, bread/pastries, yogurts, meat/cheese and juices. Excellent service for your coffee/eggs/bacon.
While the room was great, we couldn't believe the staff. EVERYONE WANTED TO HELP IN ANY WAY and seemed genuinely interested that you enjoy your time in their hotel as well as their city and country. They all seemed like good will ambassadors!!!!!
Would highly recommend Hotel Cubo if you're going to Ljubljana.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was in a party of six and stayed at the Hotel Cubo for 5 nights. We had a fantastic stay and were very impressed with the hotel. The service we received was excellent and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
We had double rooms on the front of the hotel which were quiet, clean and comfortable with excellent facilities - Wi-Fi, mini-bar, safe, dressing gowns etc. The breakfasts were cold buffet style with a good choice and hot food such as eggs, bacon etc could be ordered. We particularly like the mixed omelettes.
The location of the hotel was ideal for a city break as it takes less than 5 minutes walk to reach the centre of Ljubljana. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a base for a trip to Ljubljana.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I decided to book this hotel based on the exceptional reviews here and on other websites. I spent 5 nights and can only confirm what everybody has already said.

Location: Ljubljana is small, so the hotel Cubo is very central even if not located within the pedestrian central area (this is probably a plus if you come with luggage). Just cross the street and you are facing a beautiful park (good restaurants at night!) with the castle in the background. And just across the square you are already in the river. Perfect. There is also a big parking under the park although it won't be cheap.

Room: I had a big bedroom that could accomodate three. It was a corner unit but not the one with the round beds. The bed was fantastic, with several pillows to choose from. There was an extra long desk to work, three windows, a bathroom and a separate toilet. L’Occitane toiletries. Everything was very good quality and very clean. This is probably a good room if you have a kid because there is a sofa/small bed and the bathroom is not transparent as in other rooms. It has the number X09. It is also facing the back of the hotel so there was no street noise. The minibar was very complete, free, and they fill it back every day. It made me discover Cockta, a sort of cola drink that I'd never heard of.

Breakfast: I found the breakfast ok with two highlights: the girls taking care of the service (both were lovely every time) and the eggs that they would cook for you!

Service: everybody was extremely nice from the time I contacted them before my arrival to get them to boock a taxi for me to the very last moment. At no time I had the impression there were less than happy to be there taking care of us. The two nights that we were out until late they prepared the room for my return closing the windows and opening the bed. This is the first time I've seen this in a hotel and it is lovely.

Other details: Make up mirror for ladies although the lighting could be better. Electrical plugs all around the room (unlike many hotels where you need to choose between the TV or charging your phone). There are speakers for the TV in tha bathroom (I dind't find how to turn them off so it made a funny stereo effect).

Overall: great quality, great service, great location and lovely city. I found the price to be a third or less of what it would have costed in another European capital so go ahead and spoil yourself if you stop by Ljubljana! you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I chose this hotel for a two night stay at be start of a trip to Slovenia, and strangely it was one of three hotels we stayed in in Ljubljana. Initial impressions were good after a call to advise we would be late as our flight was delayed, resulted in a taxi being arranged to pick us up from the airport. The small bar and reception area are unprepossessing and although the welcome was warm and friendly do not give an accurate impression of the quality of the hotel.
The room was spacious and very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent both in terms of quality and service.
Overall while there are potentially good cheaper options, this was money well spent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood Essex UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We chose this hotel from the great reports it had. We were not disappointed, you could not find anything but perfection from the time we arrived until we left.
The rooms had everything that we wanted with the most comfortable bed you could wish for. Free mini bar, which was replenished every day.
We had rooms at the front, which I know one report said was noisy. Let me tell you it is NOT noisy, The position was so central as well, just cross the road and walk 50 yds and you are in the main central location.
The staff could not do enough for you, they arranged everything we asked for.
The taxi was there to collect us, which they had arranged. Complimentary coffee was given on arrival. Every time the 6 of us went out, they supplied us with free water to take. These are all nice touches that make a difference.
The breakfast again was fabulous with the staff so attentative and food standard was brilliant.
We booked trips through Roundabout tours, which again were first class.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.
Ljubliana is a wonderful city and again the restaurants were such good value and very high standard. The restaurant Julija was our favourite and the 3 course meal and lots of drink was £62 per couple. You can find cheaper places, but that one was fabulous.
Thank you to Sandy and all his staff for making our trip so enjoyable ,we will definately be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#6 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
3.6 mi away
G Design Hotel
G Design Hotel
#2 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
#5 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#15 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#4 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Address: Slovenska Cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The word Cubo stands for originality, setting new standards and a cosmopolitan atmosphere. Contemporary design, exclusive materials and central location is what you'll experience with Cubo Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cubo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.