We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cubo to your Saves list
Hotel Cubo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Slovenska Cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our first visit to Slovenia and was scheduled to coincide with a concert at the Dvorana Stozice in Ljubljana. The hotel was booked after visiting their website and reading reviews on Trip Advisor. Sometimes this a a dangerous thing to do but in this case every positive comment on your site lived up to our experience.
From the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff were absolutely wonderful. we had only booked for two nights and we asked when we arrived if it were possible to stay for an extra night. We were told that the hotel was fully booked and it was not possible. So we made arrangements to move to the Hotel Kempinski at Portoroz. At breakfast the next morning Liza from reception told us that a room had become available if would would like to stay on. We told her that we had booked with the Kempinski and that there would be a big cancellation fee. So she said to leave it with her. The outcome was the hotel changed dates free of charge and we got to stay another night at this wonderful hotel.
The rooms are beautifully styled with all the facilities that you could ever want for example free WiFi. The minibar was free, however the choice of of drinks and goodies were rather limited. The breakfast was truly wonderful, everything from the the fruit, cereals, bread, home made jams, pastries was just first class. On top of that you got hot food cooked to order which was superb. Lastly the staff here were also top class people.
There was only one negative and that was the cost of garaging our car per day. It was over and above what one would have expected. Having said that the Kempinski charged the same so perhaps that's the norm in Slovenia.
All in all we would recommend this hotel to anybody that was visiting Ljubljana and wanted a first class hotel in a good location. If we ever return to Ljubljana we will definitely return to the Cubo.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the castle, absolutely no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    73
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
255
40
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

On our trip we stayed in 3 five star hotels and 3 four star hotels, and Hotel Cubo was the hands-down stand-out. First of all, the staff are efficient, proactively helpful, and welcoming. Second, the hotel is very clean. Third, the rooms are well-sized and nicely appointed. The bathroom, always a surprise when traveling in Europe, had a great shower and ample counter space for two girls and all our toiletries. Fourth, location was superb - an easy 5 minute walk to the river. Lastly, breakfast was beautifully laid out with the opportunity to order eggs and pancakes as desired. All the way around, one of the nicest hotel experiences I have had. The hotel even has a contracted taxi driver that you can arrange in advance for train station to hotel transfer for a flat 5 euro fee. I would not consider staying in a different hotel should my travels take me back to Ljubjlana in the future. Special appreciation for Liza and Luka who arranged our transport to Verona, Italy which I had not been able to finalize before I left on vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

While researching places to stay during my first trip to Slovenia, I came across Hotel Cubo and decided to contact the hotel directly to find out its availability and price, since they don't have a online booking engine for me to book directly. In less than 12 hours, I received a reply from Luka at Hotel Cubo and he shared a cost quotation with me. With subsequent email exchanges with Luka, Gregor, and Liza prior to my arrival, they were able to share links to some tour agencies, as well as the sorting out my arrival transportation from the airport to the hotel.

Whoever designs Hotel Cubo really have an exquisite taste. I stayed at the apartment/suite and it worth every single cent. The room was huge and everything was so nicely decorated. Of course, just like other guests, I am very happy to have the free minibar. The hotel is located right off the old town and you can walk there in less than 3 minutes. To make it even better, because it's not right inside the old town, you can avoid all the noise and music from the bars along the river bank.

Lastly, the breakfast WAS simply AMAZING!. They don't serve everything as a buffet like the typical big hotel chain. The hot items are all made to order. It really made you happy when you were served such good food first thing in the morning. I wish my time in Ljubljana was longer so that I could stay a few more nights there!

Room Tip: Contact them and book direct and you end up getting a better deals than via the online travel websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telaviv
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Best value for money in Solvenia.Piad for Villa Bled 50 pc more and got half value for money.
Such a hotel in London would cost twice or more.
Brand new hotel.Great rooms.Great servic.Cant ask more.Great value for money.Great b
Staying now and enjoying every minute.Best location possible

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

From the moment you walk into the lobby, you know you are someplace special. The staff is amazing, friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and I could go on about all of their wonderful attributes! The place is modern, well appointed, with streamlined and tasteful decor. They even offer free wi-fi and a loaner ipad if you didn't bring your own gadget to stay "connected."

Why anyone would ever want to leave this hotel to go sightseeing is a mystery, but Ljubljana is a gorgeous city and the hotel is just a block or two away from the restaurants, canals, main square, etc.

The hotel even arranged for one of their drivers to pick us up from the train station. Said driver, Slobodon, was one of the nicest, most gracious people you'll ever meet! He even ended up taking us to the nearby Potoyna Caves "on his way" to pick up a client at the Venice airport (yes, the Venice airport 3 hours away). As far as front-desk staff Luka and Liza are amazing and even researched local trasport shuttle options for us (like GoOpti.com, for instance), when we needed to get from Ljubljana to Verona. They were relentless in making sure we had safe, affordable transportation to our next destination and made repeated efforts via phone to GoOpti.com and ended up getting us a sweet deal for two in a shared shuttle (85 Euro for 2 from door to door from Ljubljana to the Byblos Art Hotel in Verona -- amazing!).

Breakfast every morning is equally amazing in that there are so many options! Fresh, grilled veggies, assortment of yummy juices, yogurts, grill options made to order. Wow! We loved the food here so much that we also had a late lunch on the street cafe area one day with a lovely glass of red wine (they have a huge variety of wines too).

I wish there was a Hotel Cubo in each city of the world because I would stay there. Ljubljana city is a gem in the treasure that is Europe and this hotel is a shining representation of the hospitality and warmth of this gorgeous place.

Room Tip: There aren't many rooms in this hotel and we asked (and got) one with a view of the side street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This small hotel is very conveniently located and almost everything is within walking distance. The service is courteous and attentive. Breakfast was great. Don't forget to order your omelet or pancakes. They can also cater gluten free very well. Bed was good.

Room Tip: The hotel is located by a major street. If easily disturbed by street noise, ask to get to the inner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sskatoon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hotel Cubo was exceptional from the reception to the room, restaurant . It is a small hotel only 1 year old part of the Small Luxury Hotels. The staff is incredible totally eager to please their clients and make their stay so pleasant. It is located 5 minutes walk from the historic part of Ljubljana.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Address: Slovenska Cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The word Cubo stands for originality, setting new standards and a cosmopolitan atmosphere. Contemporary design, exclusive materials and central location is what you'll experience with Cubo Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cubo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.