We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cubo to your Saves list
Hotel Cubo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Slovenska Cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Everything was Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Our experience was nothing short of perfect. The Hotel is brand new - only 2/3 months open. The best thing about this hotel is that it's a completely NON-SMOKING hotel - OUTSTANDING!!!!! The decor is clean, bright and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was amazing - lots of fresh fruit, cereals, breads and they will make your eggs to order, the cappuccino is included as well. The rooms were a very spacious, the beds were the most comfortable we have slept in in Europe - anywhere. The TV is a flat screen and offers many English speaking channels. The Wi-Fi is included in the room, you don't have to run around looking for a connection. The bathrooms were lovely and the towels, large and fluffy. Housecoats and slippers were in the rooms, again you didn't have to ask for them. They also had washcloths - which is something you don't find in most European hotels. The Staff were attentive and helpful beyond our expectations. When we arrived I asked if they could recommend a hair dresser, they did and they made the appointment for me. They even offered to walk me there so I wouldn't have to look for the shop. They recommended some wonderful restaurants, they even have a Taxi company on call for when you need a cab. The relaionship with the taxi company came in very handy when my husband left his BB in the taxi - a simple phone call to the driver and the phone was brought to the hotel. They offered to bring the BB to us at the restaurant we were going to be eating at if it didn't arrive before we had left. The staff at this hotel simply "Walk the Walk". Sandi, the General Manager was always on hand, always attending to customers needs - he took our luggage out to our car - the bellman was busy with another customer. We have travelled extensively throughout Europe staying at many different hotels and this hotel is in our top 3. We will continue to stay at Hotel Cubo everytime we travel to Ljubljana.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    73
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
255
40
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Just stayed over at the Hotel Cubo in Ljubljana.
it's one of the newer hotels in the city, and given that there weren't many reviews (only 7) it was a bit of a risk.
Luckily, it paid off, as I found the Hotel to be quite amazing in many respects.

PROS:
* Service was great, staff was friendly and always helpful.
* Location was on Slovenska Ulica (main street of the city) and very close to the old town.
* Room was huge. And I was only only in a single occupancy room. And though my room was facing the street on level 2, there was no traffic noises to be heard.
* Bed was big and very comfortable for a good night sleep. Also had heaps of pillows.
* Massive shower-head in a "rainfall" style.
* Free mini-bar restocked everyday!!!!
* Free wireless which is provided upon check-in, and one needn't beg for it.
* Big screen TV with a LOT of free channels.

CONS
* Not much of a lobby, but then again, I personally didn't mind it nor feel there needs to be a grand one like in most 5 stars.
* No facility to make tea or coffee, but then again, the mini-bar is free so can't complain.

All in all, I think this hotel will be at number 1 for quite a long time, and whenever I'm next in Ljubljana, I will no doubt be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I would highly recommend Hotel Cubo to anyone, and plan to return to Ljubljana to stay there again.

The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The towels and linens were superb. Wireless is free and there was no charge for the mini bar.

The staff went out of their way to help us. They chilled a bottle of wine we brought on our arrival and brought it up to our room 30 minutes later. When we went out for dinner the turn down service included refreshing the towels I used when I got ready for dinner.

The inclusive breakfast was above par, with fresh fruit, vegetables, eggs made to order, custard, seafood and lovely smoked ham in addition to the usual cereal, pastries, and breads.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at the Cubo a couple of nights while attending a conference. Ljubljana is indeed a beautiful city and this hotel certainly matches the beauty. Being central, it is only a few minutes walk to the riverbank with it's bars & restaurants. Very sleek & modern design with nice comfortable beds, lovely bed linen and towels/robes. Large room with free WiFi and minibar as included in price. Breakfast very high standard with fresh cofee, breads, cereals, cheeses, fruit etc. Was also asked if I wanted cooced breakfast but declined this option. Kinda regret that now but heyho. I got a reasonable rate through booking.com at 140 Euros/night. Walk-in rate is (I think - so I am happy to be corrected) about 250 Euros which could perhaps be seen as a bit steep. Very friendly and helpful staff organising airport transfer & ironing of shirts at no extra cost. This is a fantastic hotel and certainly one of the best I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The newest property on Ljubljana map.
The best mixture of modern interiors (big rooms, plenty of air, big TV, nicely setup bathroom with fancy window towards sleeping area) and tradition (it's a refurbished art-deco building). Very good, free wireless internet.
Surprise - minibar is free of charge!
Haven't tested the breakfast though, but I'm saving it for the next visit...

Room Tip: rooms facing the Slovenska cesta might be a little noisy if you are sensitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Address: Slovenska Cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The word Cubo stands for originality, setting new standards and a cosmopolitan atmosphere. Contemporary design, exclusive materials and central location is what you'll experience with Cubo Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cubo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.