We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in the city!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marley & Me

Marley & Me
Stari trg 9, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
+386 40 564 188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 372 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Price range: $5 - $36
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Slovenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Excellent choice for lunch or dinner in one of the nicest streets of old town. We are small and simple yet excellent..Just for you. Find out yourself! :). We received from Ljubljana municipality a certificate of quality. We are rated among top 15 in Ljubljana!
Palermo, Italia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in the city!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and me stayed 1 week in Lubiana, and we went in this restaurant 4 times!!!
Why? because the dishes, the owner and the stuff (Mattej and Daniel) and above all the Chef were delicious, perfect, very friendly, really the best in the all city!
We went also in other 3 restaurants but we didn't feel and we didn't eat as well as in Marley & Me!.
If you are a couple I recommend to reserve the only place next to the window, soooo romantic!
Marley & Me is a special place, you need to go to feel it like us!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    146
    54
    28
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Real Slovenian food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Don't be put off by the outside! We almost didn't go in, but are so glad we did. The manager of the cafe-restaurant was so helpful. We asked him for a recommendation of the 'most typical' Slovenian dish, and he recommended two that weren't even on the menu, but which they prepared for us anyway. Both dishes were fabulous. They also had great Slovenian wine and spirits. If you can, save room for their dessert prekmurska gibanica. After the huge meals served here, this dessert is big enough to share and is delicious! Highly recommended to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“So friendly and welcoming and how we enjoyed the food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Another place to revisit on our list. We dined there on New Year's Day. The food was excellent and the wine was really nice and Slovenian, of course. The waiter took time for a personal chat with all his customers. The things he recommended were superb. The restaurant is not big but this creates an enchanting atmosphere. Praise for such a marvellous diner! Thank you for your effort and welcome!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I'm usually visiting Marley & Me with co-workers. Food is great and prices are really normal. Todays Risotto was so delicious, that memory of it will haunt me for years.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fresh food at normal prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Most of the affordable everyday restaurants in Ljubljana have huge menus with very generic food. This place is one of the rare few that mostly provides just daily menus based on currently available ingredients (at least that's what they're pitching). The owners post daily offers on their Facebook page.

We occasionally have work lunches there and we're always very satisfied. The prices are quite low considering the quality of the food, the place may not be very fancy, but feels kinda homey.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marley & Me also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Marley & Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marley & Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.