We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marley & Me

Marley & Me
Stari trg 9, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
+386 40 564 188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 386 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Pasta, Slovenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Excellent choice for lunch or dinner in one of the nicest streets of old town. We are small and simple yet excellent..Just for you. Find out yourself! :). We received from Ljubljana municipality a certificate of quality. We are rated among top 15 in Ljubljana!
Ljubljana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Best meal in town. Very tasty food with a taste like your grand ma did. Nice chill out atmosphere in centre of old town pedestrian street

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    181
    66
    32
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The service here was truly superb and makes all the difference. The wine was great and the pasta cooked perfectly. Highly recommend

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

When I like the waiter or something about the place, it's hard to give it a so-so review. So despite the wonderful conversation we had with our waiter - and how he really extended himself (for example, making sure that we didn't have smoke blowing in our faces), the food has to measure up.

I had to take the tomato soup back. I haven't sent a dish back in years! It was like someone put a can of tomato sauce in a big batch of water. Ugh. The mains were better, but you're better off going next door to Julija's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seems nice, but sadly food isn't anything special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the gnocchi and lasagna and while they both looked great, found both to be disappointing. Tasteless and a bit 'soggy', but okay.

House wine was good and the food was a fair price. Also excellent service. Lovely decor and a nice atmosphere.

Such a shame the food wasn't quite up to scratch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb lunch and dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I discovered Marley&Me this summer when I wanted to taste some really good food with my friends in my home city. It was hard to choose between all those tasty dishes, but the waiter was really a bless and reccomended me a beefsteak in mushroom sauce with red house vine, which was out of this world delicious! A friend had octopus salad and the other had a tuna file. I tried it all and really enjoyed the taste. I became a regular guest for lunch because of nice, calm atmosphere, good music, reasonable prices and awesome waiters. Soups are also very nice, especially corn and lentil soup. To conclude I have to underline that if you are a tourist, looking for a nice meal and also service experience, or just a local, looking for a tasty lunch, you MUST give Marley&Me a chance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marley & Me also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Marley & Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marley & Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.