We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden paradise in a hidden country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gosposka Ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hidden paradise in a hidden country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I know Ljubljana and Slovenia well as I lived and worked there between 1994-99, right after the independence of the country. I have seen Ljubljana slowly moving away from the past. Today it got a serious facelift which shows its central European beauty. Ljubljana is certainly a hidden paradise for a weekend escape and Antiq Spa a pearlish cove. Everytime I return to my beloved Ljubljana I stay in this cove. The hotel is tailor made for families as all rooms are suites.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the attics
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us and maybe will return for second adventure in Ljubljana. In any case, please feel free to contact us, we would be happy to make your stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    77
    13
    14
    6
See reviews for
49
112
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Located in the very center of the old city (pedastrian zone). Very friendly and attantive staff. Excellent 2 story suits. Thought through design and comfort in the rooms. Very stylish - quite unique combination between antient building, very modern style and comfortable and light appartments. All attractions within short walk distance.

Room Tip: chose suites, higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us and maybe will return for second adventure in Ljubljana. In any case, please feel free to contact us, we would be happy to make your stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I organised a 4 day trip in Ljubljana for 23 of us in February for big birthday celebrations. As you can imagine it took a long time to plan and Ljubljana was not my first choice. Imagine my surprise when I came across the Antiq Palace Hotel by accident through a web search. When contacting the hotel to plan for this special trip, Katie, the manager, was extremely helpful and really helped me plan was is now a trip we will remember for a very long time. The rooms were excellent (make sure you choose the historic rooms) and the staff really looked after us, from drinks reception, to our special room for breakfast and even making sure that our restaurant bookings were up to scratch :) The recommendations for activities were also very helpful and we have now declared Ljubljana to be our new Paris! We had such a lovely stay that we plan to come back to the very elegant Antiq Palace Hotel very soon! PS: as the rooms are all so different, it would be helpful for future stays to have a description of all rooms on the website (one room even had a piano and another one a smoking terrace complete with separate outside bathroom!)

Room Tip: Choose the historic rooms and ask for a description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us and maybe will return for second adventure in Ljubljana. In any case, please feel free to contact us, we would be happy to make your stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We absolutely love this hotel. Have visited Slovenia twice, and stayed here on the way in and the way out - both times. It's a beautiful aristocratic mansion - lovingly decorated, with heaps of style. It has a warm ambience, with huge elegant flowers, a 'snug' with free liqueurs - and last time there was even a smell of baking in the air when we arrived in the evening, and they brought 'complimentary croissants' to our room. The suites are beyond enormous (bigger than our London home!), with high ceilings, comfy sofas, often C17th frescoes and extra rooms - and once, even a piano. True, it's a little quirky (unlike the standard faceless luxury of big city minimalism), but that gives it character. It suits the lovely nature of Ljubljana perfectly - is great value if you choose your days well - and I can't imagine why anyone would stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Go for the poshest suites (they are periodically very good value) - even if you have to wiggle aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us and maybe will return for second adventure in Ljubljana. In any case, please feel free to contact us, we would be happy to make your stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

great experience, in the center of the town, little hard to reach by car and the navigator doesn't really help.
Once we found the hotel (3 colleagues) we had 3 different types of room, i must say one of of 3 was not so good.
i do recommend the place for 2 or 3 night maximum over that can be boring.
Overall the palace is an excellent palace, beautiful and helpful staff.
will go back again anytime

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us and maybe will return for second adventure in Ljubljana. We are terribly sorry for navigation problems you had to deal with. We understand that one cannot change the experiences in the past, however, would be truly delighted for an opportunity to showcase you the unique historic interiors Antiq Palace offers. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay, pleasant, relaxing and so it meet your expectations of service.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in mid feb and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful and the room was massive. It is in a nice quiet area of Ljubljana and well situated. My only comment is the plumbing in the bathroom left a bit to be desired. What looked like a space age shower cubicle turned out to be a disappointment as the shower heads were coated in limescale the whole thing was somewhat over engineered and the water ran cold about every 3 minutes. The breakfast was very good and I would return to this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Please be kindly advised that none of your remarks were taken lightly and will only be used to further improve our services. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed only one night very briefly and even without breakfast. So just a superficial review. Building has a splendid historic feel. Reception staff very welcoming And nice. My room , however, was not so splendid. Nice parquet floor, bed was fine, but soundproofing was zero, very noisy if anybody passed the room. Bathroom equipped with plastic cabin which was adequate but crappy cheap material. In conclusion; nice historic feel and atmosphere, but soso comfort.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us and maybe will return for second adventure in Ljubljana. We understand that one cannot change the experiences in the past, however, would be truly delighted for an opportunity to showcase you the unique historic interiors Antiq Palace offers. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay, pleasant, relaxing and so it meet your expectations of service.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: Gosposka Ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#11 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#12 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.