We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location a little bizare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gosposka Ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Amazing location a little bizare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Have had a great iniation to Slovenia, our third day we arrived in Ljubljana.. Great location..but rooms beyond eclectic. Back of hotel essential. Stairs..no lift..concern...my mirror too low..light dim..love my porch..room 12... Back of house..

Room Tip: Back of house..room 11 bad. 12. Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We value your opinion greatly and will use your constructive remarks to further improve the level of our services. We would like to thank you for your kind appraisal of the unique ambience of the Antiq Palace, which dates to early 16th century and enjoys a convenient and premium location in the heart of the Old Town centre of Ljubljana.

We sincerely regret that our team was not able to recognise your concern with the occupied suite at the time of your stay, what could have possibly given us the opportunity to turn your experience around. Please be kindly advised that Antiq Palace features over 13 spacious suites of more modern décor (as the one you were staying in ) and historic suites, each of unique layout and design, which have been renovated in the style that would depict and highlight its original purpose and that is the aristocratic residence from 16th century. As we understand, the peaceful stay and no noise were essential to you for a comfortable stay and hence the suites allocated to you were situated either facing the Vegova street or were mansard suites on the top floor of the building.

Please be kindly advised that in light of the unique structural features of the Antiq Palace the suites and duplex apartments situated on the top floor of the building have only staircase access ie from the 2nd floor one must take one flight of stairs to reach their suites. Our helpful staff is available around the clock to assist the guests with the luggage whenever needed. Unfortunately, on the day of your arrival the two-bedroom suites on the ground levels were already occupied and hence we could not make an alternative suggestion at the time for what we apologise profusely.

We regret sincerely for not being able to recognise your dissatisfaction with certain aspects and details at the time of your stay at the Antiq Palace, which could have possibly given us an opportunity to turn your experience around. Should such opportunity become available to us we kindly ask you to contact us at a time convenient for you to discuss the ways in which we can make your next stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    83
    15
    16
    6
See reviews for
53
121
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The price for a room for 4 people is good 320 € per room per Night.(40€ per person)
Is near to the river & in the center.
Perfect location & nice big rooms.
Nice guys at the reception
I suggest if you are more than 2 people if you want to save money and stay in the center!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The location of this hotel is superb. If you are heading there with a car then it might prove little difficult since the hotel is located in a closed off pedestrian area...however they will let you in. The hotel has 2 parking spots reserved on the street which they will charge you for.

The lobby area and public spaces are gorgeous. They have a great gym. Also a sauna and jacuzzi which is 25EUR...however then its only used by you. This could mean a lot of things :)

The rooms are actually suites. Very big. My only disappointment is the toilets which was very small and the toilet paper is a disgrace. It should never appear in any hotel....

Breakfast was very nice.

Anton (receptionist) and also the others were great.

Great hotel. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Essex.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've just returned from 3 days staying at the splendid Antiq Palace Hotel. My suite was beautiful, huge, three massive crystal chandeliers hung in the space and I felt spoilt. I was told by a member of staff that I had one of the smaller suites so one can only wonder at the others. The hotel staff were so helpful and friendly, giving advice and information on everything - travel, buses, trains, restaurants etc. I lacked the time to indulge in the SPA but it looked fabulous. It is situated in the old town in a very quiet area so a good night's sleep was guaranteed. I would absolutely recommend this gem of a hotel to anybody and would definitely stay again. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Staff are very helpful and will explain the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and would definitely stay again. The suite was beautiful and extremely spacious. The staff were very helpful, arranging transfers and researching bus timetables for us. The private use of the of the sauna room and jacuzzi really made our stay relaxing and the jacuzzi bath on the suite was a real treat. The location is perfect with only a short walk to the river and main attractions. For the price we felt thoroughly spoiled and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Suite 14 was more spacious than we expected and quiet as well. Two bedrooms, jacuzzi, nice living room and kitchen.
Couple things to consider when traveling with children or older people. We didn't know that the suite has two floors, 'cause there was no info about this on hotel website. Kitchen and living room are upstairs. You also have to climb long stairs to arrive to suite. This is not very practical with small children and luggage.
Other thing is with kitchen, which should be fully equipped. We noticed that there are many basic things missing. Good thing is that you just have to call to reception and they will fix it.

Bathroom is spacious and jacuzzi nice. Some coat racks would be nice though. Toilet seat was also broken in separate toilet.

Otherwise we enjoyed very much. The service was awesome from the moment we arrived. Location is good as well.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This htoel is a gem in the middle of the old town. Very well located, yet still quiet during the night. Defintely not for people expecting the usual business mass-hotel look. More of a small castle feeling with many little couloirs and corners. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms can be compared to renovated old-town appartments with very high ceilings. The beds are super comfortable. My bathroom was quite small but had everything I needed. At one point the bathrooms need new silicone joints - when everything else looks great, this can make a difference. Equipment in the room is complete like in a five star. For business travellers essential: in-room ironing for business shirts and suits.
The breakfast was fresh and very tasty and in a cozy living room-type of atmosphere. Fruit, juices, fresh breads, fish, ham, cheeses, great coffee,... However no (scrambled) eggs available.
Totally recommendable, even for short overnight business trips!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: Gosposka Ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#12 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.