We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprising find in an amazing city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gosposka Ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Suprising find in an amazing city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have travelled to Ljubjana many times and never seen or heard of this hotel but a chance find online has lead to an amazing find! We will never stay anywhere else again.
Despite booking just a standard 2 rooms for my parents and my partner we were shown to our rooms and were unsure we had the right allocation. We were paying little more than a travelodge cost in the UK and were shown to our suites which were unbelievable in size.
My 'room' consisted of a grangd entrance hall complete with a bar, leading to a very large bedroom which was the biggest room I have ever stayed in. We had a spa shower bathroom which was great.
My parents room had 4 rooms with dining room, sitting room and large bedroom. The breakfast was well worth the cost with champagne and cavier if you wished. Beautiful decor all round and greatn staff.
I would recommend this for any traveller but please dont tell anyone.... I think this is one of Slovenia's best kept secrets

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    77
    13
    15
    6
See reviews for
49
113
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It's something very special, to stay in an historic palace, with decor and furnishings to match the period. The location is excellent and the staff were very helpful. The public rooms were also very beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel is a series of apartments which in a way make you feel like you’re living the life of royals. Ours had a kitchen with a dining table, a living room and a bedroom, all well-appointed with furniture of the period. What’s amazing is that even though the hotel was almost full, we never saw or heard another guest. It’s as if we had the whole place to ourselves. The hotel is right in the middle of the old town so you can walk everywhere. Oh, and if you go to the castle, make sure you take the tram up the hill. This is definitely the place to stay when visiting Ljubljana.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have just returned home from a short break at the Antiq Palace Hotel. We were impressed by this characterful hotel.

First, the plus points: a terrific location close to the river in the old city; atmospheric with Gothic vaulted ceilings and ornate fireplaces downstairs and lighted candles everywhere; very helpful and friendly staff; good Continental buffet breakfast; huge rooms the size of a small flat. There were a few negative points however: our room, whilst being vast in size, felt bare and lacked charm; the bathroom had not seen much recent maintenance and some of the issues an earlier Trip Advisor reviewer commented on had not been put right since; use of the Spa was subject to half an hour's wait for the sauna and steam room to heat up which, although understandable from an energy saving point of view, was nevertheless a bit inconvenient.

Often what marks out a great hotel is attention to the small detail that either impresses and makes a stay more comfortable, or disappoints. For example, in our room (Suite 2) there was no TV channel list supplied so we could not readily access the channels we wanted; nowhere to lay our clothes in the bedroom and we had to resort to using chairs in the kitchen area, or the wardrobe off the kitchen; and anyone sitting on the toilet is plainly visible to others outside the bathroom through the unfrosted glass in the door, which some might find disconcerting.

But overall, the positives certainly outweighed the negatives and we had a most enjoyable stay. We would recommend this hotel to those seeking a memorable hotel experience in a very beautiful city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Antiq Palace Hotel and Spa over New Year for five nights. Having read other Tripadvisor reviews about noise from nearby pubs, I made sure I booked a residential suite on the top floor. The room was HUGE. It was like an apartment - duplex with one bedroom, lounge and kitchen on the top floor and another room and seperate bathroom and toilet on the bottom floor. The room has lovely wooden floors and is nicely decorated, however it does lack a bit of personality. The decor is a bit too neutral...
Apart from that, the room was quiet, comfortable and the bathroom had a jacuzzi bath which was a lovely surprise.

The breakfast was not really to our taste so we only had it two mornings. There is a spa which you can reserve privately for no extra cost. It has two saunas, a steam room and a jacuzzi. Unfortunately they forgot we had booked it so we had to wait about 15minutes for everything to be turned on and warmed up but the jacuzzi was tepid....

The location of the hotel is great. It is very central and is merely minutes walk to restaurants and attractions.

The staff are very helpful and friendly and were happy to recommend restaurants and make bookings. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a 4 star stay in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is un-assuming, you really do not know you are at a hotel until you walk through the doors but once inside it is beautiful. Originally an old home it was renovated and turned into a hotel but even with the renovations, they kept much of the charm of the original structure. I believe all the rooms are suites and they are massive. Our room had at least 4 massive chandeliers, hard wood floors, 2 balconies, a fireplace and even a formal sitting room. The only down side to our room was the bathroom. The toilet was in it's own seperate room (which was nice) but don't sneeze or you will knock your self out on the sink. The shower was a new addition to the room and it was unusual, nice but unusual.

We did not take advantage of breakfast or meals in the hotel but I also didn't hear any complaints. The hotel is beautiful and charming, it is also in the old part of the city so cars are technically not allowed unless you have a pass to enter that part of the city. When we return to Ljubljana, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

From the time we stepped through the front door we felt welcomed and very comfortable. One of the staff members met us at the entrance to the old town where our taxi stopped to drop us off (the hotel is in a sealed part of the city). The rooms are huge, in fact more of an apartment feel than hotel. Our suite had a separate bedroom, lounge room, bathroom and kitchen/dining area - so much space.
The location of the hotel is fantastic - within walking distance to the charming shops, river, castle and other main attractions.
There is complimentary wifi available throughout and the tv has many English channels (very welcome after 3 weeks of traveling and only being able to watch CNN or BBC!)
We had breakfast at the hotel and found it reasonably priced (€10 each) - breakfast was not included in our package. The selection at breakfast was good, however not a cooked breakfast.
Overall this was a very pleasant place to stay and I would definitely stay here again when next we travel to Ljubljana. I will also be recommending this hotel to friends and family traveling to Ljubljana in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: Gosposka Ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#11 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#12 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.