We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel no elevator” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Center to your Saves list
Hotel Center
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Slovenska 51, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 47 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Nice hotel no elevator”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights here. The hotel seem farther from the train station than they say but we did go there after a ten hour train ride from Budapest so maybe the walk just seemed far. We arrived after midnight and the girl running the front desk stayed late to check us in. She was very gracious and answered all our questions even helped carry our bags up the stairs even though I am sure she wanted to go home. The biggest disadvantage is their is no elevator so we had to walk up and down two flights of stairs. You get a free breakfast which is served in a restaurant a few doors down. It was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    53
    32
    9
    5
See reviews for
8
63
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Advantages:
1.Its location is quite central and quite close to main train station as well,if you don't have a very heavy luggage,you could walk from there to the hotel (about 7-8 min,when you exit from the train station turn right on the main street and then the second turn left and there you are) As well it's quite close to main square of the old city-Prešeren Square (about 7-8 min walking).
2.The staff was very kind and Helpful.
3. very clean and a nice room design.
Disadvantages:
1.No air conditioning (there is fan though but it's quite noisy)
2.There was a bit noise (bearable if windows are closed) during morning time caused by construction works that are currently taking place near the hotel.
3.The hotel is a bit pricey for such a kind of hotel.(In General,the hotels in Ljubljana are very expensive,in my view without any reasonable reason,so you may find center hotel cheaper in comparison to others,but in an absolute terms i think it should be cheaper for what it's offering)
4.The hotel doesn't accept credit cards as a payment method .they accept only cash even if you make your reservation via websites like booking.com etc.they never charge it and your credit card details are only used as a guarantee,you will be requested to pay in Cash upon Check-In.
5.There's no Elevator in the hotel.
6.Breakfast is not served in the hotel but in a restaurant near it.
7.No mini bar,coffee making facilities,safe in the rooms.
Overall,it's a matter of budget. if you can spend more I believe you could find better hotels.if your budget is limited then this hotel could be a quite good option (above all because its location).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a nicely located hotel, especially handy for the train and bus station. The guy at reception, Marko, was very helpful, enthuastic and knows his city very well. He certainly made up for the miserable, unhelpful guy at the train station info centre! Marko made recommendations for places to eat and explained how to get to Lake Bled easily.

The hotel is very nice inside; it was being fitted out with some new wood paneling and was very clean and tidy. We didn't get a chance to drink in the hotel bar, but it looked like a fun - they have a rather large collection of Nespresso pods... if that's your thing. Perfect for a stay in Ljubljana. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were booked into this hotel for 2 nights July 2013. Our room was at the front of the building. It was extremely noisy with the street traffic and folks out late at night. There was no airconditioning. We opened the window and got no air only noise 24 hours. The room was small and dark. There was no place to set things. We payed for the 2 nights upfront. We asked to check out after one night and they did refund our money for the second night. I would only stay there again if we were desperate for a place to stay. All hotels in Ljubljana seem to be over priced. It is a great city but expensive

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was not looking for a fancy hotel but a well located one with a private bath which was clean. This hotel is very near to the train and bus stations and an easy walk to downtown. There are plenty of busy restaurants and snack shops in the direct vicinity as this is located directly on a busy street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A very honest hotel. The staff are very friendly and genuinely care about giving you suggestions on what to see and where to eat, and that alone warrants a good review. The rooms are very clean and cosy. The hotel is not too far from the city centre, the distance is a pleasant short walk. It's not a luxury hotel with minibar and room service and all the frills, but hotels shouldn't be reviewed against such aspirations. This hotel does not pretend to be something it's not, and that's a winner. For what it is, it's excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Because this appears to be an upgraded hostel, my expectations were not very high. However, I was shown to a lovely en-suite room at the back of the building by a welcoming receptionist. This proved to be very comfortable, big enough for my one-night stay, and very quiet, being at the back of the hotel. Breakfast - plentiful - was available at discounted rate at a nearby restaurant. I'd definitely return, and was sorry I'd only booked in for one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Center

Address: Slovenska 51, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Center 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stars furnished rooms but two stars pricing policy - Welcome to Hotel Center Ljubljana! Brand new hotel is located in the very centre of Ljubljana. It is placed in the XIX century building which was totally renovated (outside and inside) in the year 2009. The hotel is approximately 300m away from the railway and bus station as well as from the bus stop link with the airport terminal and 400m from the Ljubljana Fair. City bus stops are also in immediate vicinity.Our place is furnished as three star hotels but priced just as two stars hotels. Each room (double or single) has unique furnishing, 4m high ceilings and, of course, entirely new equipped bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.