We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay, centrally located with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Center to your Saves list
Hotel Center
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Slovenska 51, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 47 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Vancouver
1 review
“Perfect stay, centrally located with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Center is lovely. It's tucked up behind a shop, but the location is very central to both the train station and the old town. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the staff are friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    57
    36
    15
    5
See reviews for
8
68
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The best feature of Hotel Center is Alexandra, the weekend receptionist who greeted us, gave advice on parking, told us that we weren't late, made us feel welcome, and offered us plenty of good advice and answers to questions that we asked. Besides her, everything else about Hotel Center says "low budget" and "barely adequate." Guests have to compete for hot water; choose the wrong time for your shower and you'll get a cold one. The showers in our two rooms both leaked water all over the bathroom; it's very difficult to confine the water to the shower area. The "free wi-fi" works only occasionally; I'm glad we brought along an alternative. There is no parking available - we had to scrounge for blocks to find a spot for our rental car. The back-alley entry is far from hospitable.
But the rooms were clean, and we slept well, and the price was low. The feeling I get from Hotel Center is that here is a place that has cut expenses to the bone. Too bad Alexandra isn't the manager; I have a feeling that she would make it a much nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Situated relatively close to all the "Jazz" and at a fair price, this hotel was a good place to lay our head at for a night in lovely Ljubljana.
A bit uncomfortable is the fact that this hotel gives you the idea that you arrived at a hostel rather than a hotel. The entrance is pretty tricky and back-doored.
In summary - I'd spend a night or two if I needed a budget-place again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August 2012.
The room wasn't air conditioned but did have a fan.
The location was great, it was only about a ten minute walk to the centre.
Comfortable enough for a short stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Center for 5 nights while we were exploring Ljubljana and Slovenia. For 60 euros/night, you can't beat the price and the location.

The rooms were what you'd expect from a budget hotel--sparse, but clean. Each side of the bed had a bedside table, the bathroom was quite nice and clean, and we were provided with a fan (it was at least 90 F every day). No TV in the room, but that was fine by us. Breakfast was not included, we were given vouchers to buy breakfast for 4 euros in the bar next door. We didnt' end up using them, because it was cheaper to buy from the bakery down the street. If you rely on the bar, however, be aware that they're closed on Sundays and holidays, so the option was only available to us 2 of the 4 days we were staying.

Now, as for the noise--yes, there is definitely noise from the road, so make sure you bring earplugs. That being said, for the location (5-min walk from the old town), you won't find a better price. I much prefer road noise to bar noise, so it wasn't as bad for me. The noise was a lot better with the window closed, but it became unbearably hot. It was also hot in the hallway because there are no windows/AC/etc., so there is no air movement.

We found that all of the people who worked at reception were nice and helpful, especially Alexandra. She gave us several suggestions on places to eat, things to see, etc. Any time we had a question, she was great.

Overall, yes, Hotel Center does have a noise problem, but for the price and location, you really can't beat it. The rooms are basic but well equipped and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Let me say first of all, I'm not fussy in any way when it comes to hotels, if I sleep well I'm happy. I've seen reviews of people complaining that the paint work was below par etc. I've slept in the grubbiest of hostels and had a wonderful nights sleep. This is just my experience of the place and also hopefully helpful information for others.

Access up to the rooms is up two steep flights of stairs and is definitely unsuitable for the elderly or handicapped. For us isn't wasn't too much of a problem though.

Staff seemed friendly enough and they have a policy of if you want your room cleaned you leave a card hanging on the door. Which is good so you're not constantly being disturbed.

Rooms are smallish but easily big enough for the both of us.

Bathrooms are very good with excellent showers, which were perfect after a long day out.

We paid upfront as they explained that they aren't at reception 24/7, which is fair enough and we had no problem with this. Though anyone booking, I'd recommend emailing them in advance to advise your arrival time so that someone is there to meet you.

Breakfast is at the sandwich bar next door, you get the choice of toast, croissants or sandwich. You get given a voucher on arrival and you can use it to buy breakfast for about 4 euros.

Quality of sleep.... This is where we had a big problem and this is how I judge a hotel.

The rooms are like ovens and it gets unbearably hot, so the window open is a must... However, the window looks onto the main road into town which is a 4 lane road and bus route. Unfortunately there isn't a fan of any description so the window has to be left open. Although even when it is shut, the noise from the larger vehicles was enough to wake us up.

Another problem we encountered on both nights was the phone in the reception. It is very loud and sound travels a lot in this place as the rooms are only just down a flight of stairs from it.

The main problem was that as the reception is only manned from 8am, the phone was constantly ringing from about 6am, making it impossible to sleep during this time, and even when there were staff there they were in no rush to pick up the phone to stop the ringing.

I do not like to leave bad reviews on people's businesses as it is their lively hood, but this was the worst 2 nights sleep I have ever had and found myself in envy of the homeless man I saw soon after sound as sleep in the park.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marko041, Manager at Hotel Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We regret that the guests did not make a complaint after their first night as we could place them into one of the other 17 rooms (and even on another floor). We have fans but we place them into the rooms only in july and august as they would only be in the way when there is not so hot outside, and also our rooms have very high ceilings (3,7 m) what is the reason why even in the hottest days the rooms do not warm up as much as the ones with lower ceilings (normally 2,4 m). We apologize for the telephone ringing and we have also already reduced the volume of the ring tone. All of the personnel of the Hotel Center is trying very hard to please the guests as well as higly appreciate all kinds of opinions. However we try to solve all of the complaints as soon as possible and we are sorry that we had to learn about yours via TripAdvisor.
Hotel Manager,
Marko Tramsek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ljubljana hotels

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The Hotel Center lives up to its name - you could hardly find a better located hotel for access to Ljubljana old town and sights, and the bus and train stations are only a 10 minute walk away. The room itself was OK, clean if a bit gloomy. There was free internet (and complementary oranges!) but no TV. At 60 euro per night is represents good value for money, though inevitably there is some traffic noise. A good place to stay if you just want somewhere to sleep and wash and intend to spend as much time as possible out and about.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#17 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Park Ljubljana
Hotel Park Ljubljana
#23 of 29 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#20 of 29 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#16 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stari Tisler
Stari Tisler
#15 of 47 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Slamic B&B
Slamic B&B
#5 of 47 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Center

Address: Slovenska 51, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Center 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stars furnished rooms but two stars pricing policy - Welcome to Hotel Center Ljubljana! Brand new hotel is located in the very centre of Ljubljana. It is placed in the XIX century building which was totally renovated (outside and inside) in the year 2009. The hotel is approximately 300m away from the railway and bus station as well as from the bus stop link with the airport terminal and 400m from the Ljubljana Fair. City bus stops are also in immediate vicinity.Our place is furnished as three star hotels but priced just as two stars hotels. Each room (double or single) has unique furnishing, 4m high ceilings and, of course, entirely new equipped bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.