We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper is not always better!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Center to your Saves list
Hotel Center
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Slovenska 51, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 44 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheaper is not always better!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We had booked in for 2 nights. When we arrived the staff were friendly and the hotel itself is very clean and in a central location. However, it is above a night club/ late bar and between the noise from that and the street we got no sleep at all! Considering it was a Monday night, we thought we would be ok and go with the cheaper option but we checked out straight away the next morning!

You have to pay for your room in advance which I thought was a bit unusual. If you want to take a chance, I'd suggest paying by night just in case. However, when we went to complain there was no problem getting the 2nd night refunded.

Ljubljana isn't a cheap city for hotels but if you are visiting the city it is worth while doing some research. I'd pick a hostel over this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
56
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here on a Monday night in July. It was very hot with no air conditioning or fan, we had to leave window open and the noise from the street was unbearable. There is a bar beneath the hotel which has revellers on the street singing and shouting until 5am. Very little sleep. They also get you to pay your room in advance which made me suspicious as to how comfortable my stay would be.

Bottom line is, its a cheap, clean central option but dont stay here if you want an uninterrupted nights sleep. Perfect for party revellers!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I'll arrived by train and walked to the hotel. When looking for number 51, you see there are several houses with the same number.
When you see the sign "Hotel Center" you have to walk in some dark place and coming out in a bar. When you walk back, you really think, I have to be here.
A girl was coming after me and se opened a door from the bar to the hotel?
Upstairs there was a desk, it was very dark over there. And she asked I have to pay in advance otherwise she will hold my passport.
Keeping my passport is illegal, because Dutch law tells me, I have to keep it and my side.

Because I already payed the first night in advance, she was fine I was going to pay that night or next morning.

It is also n ot possible to pay by creditcard, only cash.

The biggest surprise is, no tv. Every hotel, cheap or expensive is having tv on the room.

The room and bathroom looks really nice, but how they are acting about paying and having no breakfast and no tv at the rooms is bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

we came straight off the night train from vienna to the hotel, check in is at 14,but the kind girl in the reception told us she would call if they had a room for us earlier, and she did! over 2 hours before we could check in,we got to rest our tired selfs! the room was okay but the bathroom looked brand new! the hotel is over a bar and the girl warned us that there was going to be a rave in a nearby park and it wolud be LOUD and that they expected lots of noise from the downstairs bar since it was their national day. we even got coupons for free drinks downstairs :)
we thought lets join the party in the old town center and when we got home we heard nothing... but when we opened the window,there was a lot of car noise outside.
there is no breakfast here, but lots of places that open early nearby.
theres a short walk to the train/bus station and to the old town center.
all in all ,good value! and WIFI!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Very well run, closed to train stationand town.
We like to thank the lady at the bar for helping us to get a taxi to go to the train station during a heavy rain fall.We strongly recommendthis hotel.

John &linda Y
Canada

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Yes, we knew it would be above a nightclub and we may have issues actually getting to our room... Luckily, the nightclub was closed that weekend and someone was waiting for us to arrive. (if arriving from Ljubljana airport - get the shuttle for EUR9 takes you to hotel) The room was of decent size, bathroom all in working order and there were random free oranges at the rarely attended reception desk (not a full time job) There are stairs to climb. I cant' fault the location - 5 min walk and you're at the Triple Bridge. A bit strange they had everything there for a TV connection but there wasn't one, there was free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

I was very apprehensive about staying at Hotel Center after reading reviews about the noisy nightclub downstairs open until 5am however the weekend break was fantastic.
When booking we were offered a "Romantic Package" which included a free 3 course meal & drink at a local restaurant. The meal itself would have cost us 50 euros alone and the room for two nights was 60euros so it was definitely a bargain. Also the free meal offered a huge selection of dishes including lots of choise for vegetarians.
We did have a room facing the main road but the traffic wasn't so bad that we needed the complimentary earplugs, the shower was fantastic and thankfully the bar downstairs was closed (possibly we were out of season) so we both had a very good nights sleep. The receptionist was friendly and although there's no breakfast included or tv in the rom I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Center

Address: Slovenska 51, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Center 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stars furnished rooms but two stars pricing policy - Welcome to Hotel Center Ljubljana! Brand new hotel is located in the very centre of Ljubljana. It is placed in the XIX century building which was totally renovated (outside and inside) in the year 2009. The hotel is approximately 300m away from the railway and bus station as well as from the bus stop link with the airport terminal and 400m from the Ljubljana Fair. City bus stops are also in immediate vicinity.Our place is furnished as three star hotels but priced just as two stars hotels. Each room (double or single) has unique furnishing, 4m high ceilings and, of course, entirely new equipped bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.