We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down at the VERY last minute” 1 of 5 stars
Review of MartaStudio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added MartaStudio to your Saves list
MartaStudio
Trzaska cesta 24, Ljubljana 1000 , Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Let down at the VERY last minute”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Myself and my boyfriend were due to stay here for 3 nights. We booked an apartment and paid a deposit months in advance of our visit. Only when we arrived on the doorstep were we told that there had been a mistake and the apartment was double booked, so she had nowhere for us to stay. I find it extremely hard to believe that she could not have informed us of the mix-up at least 24hrs before we were due to arrive. The owner did not seem to care less. We had only arrived into the country that day and could not believe the disgraceful customer service shown to us.
The owner told us that she had tried to find us alternate apartment accommodation but there was nothing availabe at such short notice - the best she could find was a hostel. We had no choice but to take it for that night, but couldn't help feeling that we were being scammed in some way. We went to the tourist information the next day and explained our situation, and they were able to find us suitable accommodation.
I would never recommend MartaStudio to anyone. They are completely unreliable.
It is very disappointing that our first encounter in Slovenia could have tarnished our entire view of this beautiful country.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lulea, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed in the big apartment, 100 sqm, for one night in July on our way back from holiday in Italy. Ljubljana was in our plans nothing more than a conveneient stop on our way home, but turned out to be a very nice experience. We found some of the hotels a bit expensive given that we are four persons (two grown-up children joined us). This apartment was big, very clean, very well equipped with flat screen TV, free wi-fi, all necessary kitchen utensils, nicely furnished and with good bed comfort. All in all a lot more cosy and still with more space than a normal hotel. And a lot cheaper.
As for the location I suppose you can choose to stay in a more charming area, but it takes 15 minutes to walk to the charming districts. Martastudios are a part of a normal apartment bildning on a main road going into the centre. We found the area safe enough, just a bit boring as these blocks outside the very centro storicos could be. But who cares about that when you have the nice downtown area just a walk away! I would definitely choose this place before paying too much money for less comfort in the very city centre. You can buy what you need for breakfast or any other meal at the supermarket 100 meters away, at surprisingly low prices...
We found the host friendly and caring and we got all the information and help we needed. I like this kind of accomodation a lot when travelling with family and on vacation

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This apartment is quite far from the city; No lifts; They give a card for the buses, you just have to put money on it. Shop where they said you could put money on, was closed. I walk a bit difficult, it was a nightmare. Was booked for 2 nights, stayed only 1; They should tell you in advance, this place is very far from city, with no lifts. When I got there and I told the lady that was not at all what I had in mind, I woud've appreciate it if they would 've tell me, ok, you paid a deposit, but you can go and stay elsewhere without any other costs. They let me pay for 2 nights. Will never ever recommend anybody to this place..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed at MartaStudio for two nights in early July 2011. We paid 50 EUR per night for a double room. As this is more of an apartment than a hotel, there was no breakfast available.

First of all, this place can be a bit tricky to find. The actual MartaStudio rooms and apartments are inside a regular building, with only one tiny sign hanging on one wall on the main street. The actual entrance (without any signs whatsoever) is on the other side of the building and the office/check-in is on the third floor of an anonymous-looking staircase. They should really do something about this and it could easily be fixed with a couple of extra signs on the other side of the house!. After we finally found the place and got hold of a person (by calling a number posted on the locked office door), we got our room.

Even though credit card was listed as a payment option when we booked the room online, the staff accepted only cash payment at least when we were staying there. The "receipt" was a hand-written note, so if you need an official receipt then that might prove difficult.

The room itself was very nice and quite spaceous, with a refrigerator and a small kitchenette that allowed us to prepare our own breakfast. The room had a large LCD tv with international channels, and the free Wi-fi worked flawlessly throughout our stay in Ljubljana.

The "hotel" is situated about 1 km from the city centre, so we had no problem in walking there and back. The city and the town centre is quite small, so you can get everywhere walking. There is a grocery store about 200-300 m from the hotel, which is open every day from 6-24 (we got our breakfast stuff from here).

We arrived by car and were happy to see that there were a lot of free parking space on a quiet street behind the hotel (we kept our car there for two days without any problems).

MartaStudio can be easily recommended, as long as you know what you are getting. It is not a hotel, so do not expect any amenities/services you would expect in a normal hotel! But if you are looking for a nice and clean room for an excellent price (with good wi-fi!), choose MartaStudio.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Marta studio was a 15 - 20 min walk from the town centre. We walked back after dinner a couple of times and felt quite safe in the streets. The studio was on a busy noisy main street, however the double glazed windows ensured the traffic noise did not disturb us. As with many private accommodations in Europe, cash payment for the total amount of the stay was required on check in, however no receipts are given. On leaving the studio there was a small mixup with the owner thinking we had not paid for the accommodation. Suggest owner give a receipt to avoid this confusion.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

You can really tell the family that hosts these apartments has really put some TLC into the suites. The room we had was clean, had loads of space and the kitchen was ideal for a couple of people. Downtown was only a 15-minute walk away, and the area around the suites had quite a bit of free parking.

Only here for one night, but was nice to stay somewhere unique, rather than the usual.

One downside was the wifi was out and the staff didn't seem to be in any rush to fix it, the wired LAN option they presented didn't work, either. If you're here on business, another option may be better.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Histon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed here on the weekend of the floods in mid-September this year. Unfortunately, the weather in Ljubljana clouded our visit to the city a little (it rained torrentially for our entire stay), but this apartment was a lovely haven to return to after a few hours of traipsing around in the rain.

We are a couple with a one-year old baby/toddler... so have some fairly specific needs from our accommodation!

Situation:
The apartment was right on a main road in/out of the city (so expect a bit of traffic noise if you stay here - not least the emergency vehicle sirens!), but the windows were excellent at shutting out quite a bit of the noise, and they also had blackout blinds (great if you have children!). There was no noise at all from other apartments. The walk into the city is minor - barely 15 minutes to the city centre. Fantastic! There is also a Mercator supermarket appx. two minutes walk away (opposite the petrol station you can see from the main street if you head away from the City), which opens from 7am until 10 or even 12 at night (we also noticed a bar in that shopping area). Be warned that the Mercator looks closed from the outside as it has blackout blinds for some reason, but it is great for all your essentials!

The Apartment:
This was a really spacious and spotlessly clean apartment - nice bathroom, a shower room off the kitchen, a separate toilet, large lounge with big dining table and TV, and a large bedroom. The owners kindly put a baby travel cot in the bedroom for us (the bedroom was huge, so space for the cot wasn't an issue). The bathroom had a bath (important for kids!) and a shower, plus hairdryer and vanity mirrors. The toilet *did* have a strange smell emanating from it, but it turns out that this kind of smell is rampant around the toilets in the entire city - something to do with the sewer system or perhaps the flooding that was going on in the country while we were there? Anyway - it was all spotlessly clean, so no problems.

The kitchen was fairly well equipped (a distinct lack of kitchen utensils, but no big shakes), and no kettle - which seems to be a Slovenian thang rather than anything else. You do get a cute little coffee pot to put on the hob though ;-) If you are coming with a baby, you might want to bring a bottle warmer and cold sterilising tablets or the like, as there is no microwave and no kettle - so fast bottle preparation is a bit tricky! The kitchen had lots of pots and pans, and glasses/crockery etc... and again, everything was totally spotless.

There is a TV with lots of local channels, and some sky channels? There is also excellent access to Wi-Fi, which you can use for nothing.

The beds were reasonably comfortable, and again - very clean.

There is parquet flooring throughout the apartment, and an area you can stand wet stuff or bags (like a little utility room?) - we used this to stand our baby buggy in... There are also two fabulous art deco style heaters in the apartment, which are presumably more for decor these days - but look fab!

Service:
We had absolutely great service here. Communications before we stayed were great - they also recommended a fab taxi transfer company (MNJ Transfers), that ferried us to and from the airport with no problems whatsoever! We arrived after 7pm, which was no problem, and on our last day they let us stay until 2pm as there was nobody else coming after us. Really kind, especially when you have a baby that needs to nap! They gave us some good tips (i.e. the supermarket and how to get into the city), and even lent us a plug-in electric heater to help dry our soaking wet shoes out!

All in all, we thought this was a great apartment and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MartaStudio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MartaStudio

Address: Trzaska cesta 24, Ljubljana 1000 , Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your MartaStudio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MartaStudio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.