We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, friendly staff, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allegro Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Allegro Hotel to your Saves list
Allegro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Gornji trg 6, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 44 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
New York City
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly staff, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Recently stayed here for two nights, warm, comfy room, large bathroom, ample breakfast, and a very helpful front desk, they even arranged an earlier breakfast as we were taking a train to Zagreb, even scheduling a cab to pick us up. The complimentary taste of the local aperitifs was also a treat, would love to go back, they were terrific, room overlooked the pedestrian only street, loved waking up to a child singing on way to school

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    49
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
55
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Situated on a pedestrian-only street just a short stroll from the river and countless restaurants, this charming hotel has comfortable rooms and a friendly, helpful staff. The lounge is inviting and the breakfast above average.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prievidza, Slovakia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice already and I have to say that it is a very nice boutique hotel in city centre. You need to book in advance should you request parking (they have only two parking spots available). The closest public parking is around 300m. The hotel is very clean, the staff is polite, the rooms are smaller (it is boutique hotel in centre) however very nice. The best thing about this hotel is breakfast, fresh orange juice (made by you), fresh fruit, cold and warm buffet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just had a lovely weekend, well long w/e - 3 nights here. Very very clean. Great location, right near the centre. Very friendly, helpful staff. Exactly as described. Quirky decor & style. Great breakfast. 100% spot on for our requirements

Room Tip: Pre-book taxi from airport, which is about 20+ miles from city. The taxi rank/collection point 100m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business as "all the usual" hotels were full.

The hotel is well located in the old city. It is a small "character" hotel with a cosy reception and bar and very good service. The rooms are in a courtyard and I had to go up 2 flights of stairs outside to get to mine.

My room was in the attic and was big but quite strange. For example, there was an ironing board but no iron (I am sure if I would have asked for one it would not have been a problem). The safe was not attached to anything and could have been taken out.

But overall it was OK. It is the sort of hotel that would be fun to stay in for a short holiday.

Room Tip: if you have difficulty climbing stairs check that you can get to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We book 2 nights... the heating was not functioning correctly so we ask to change to another room.
They gave us another one but small. I ask to be refunded for the difference but they refused. I ask to talk to the manager and they also refused (there is no manager in the hotel, only some students who don't seem to care much)
The rooms are also badly sound isolated, so we were wake up at 3am by some partying neighbours

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hello again! Just spent 3 nights in Ljubljana with my honey at the Allegro Hotel. I have to thank the Trip Advisor community for their reviews - I have had excellent accommodations based on their reviews; the Allegro being one of them. The Allegro is in an excellent and pretty location in the Old City; the room was very clean and comfortable; good service; and a good buffet breakfast.

Ljubljana, the old city, is very small; a full day is more than sufficient to take it in. Based on your travel preferences, plan accordingly. Three nights were two nights too many for the Old City, but we did do a day trip to Lake Bled which was very nice; and there are other day trips to be made - Slovenia is small. Ljubljana would make a good base. But...if I were to do again, I would have made Piran (on the coast) my base, and then day trip from there to Ljubljana, Lake Bled, etc.. Piran is a lovely seaside town which we visited on our way to Croatia from Ljubljana.

Please, post your reviews; they are very helpful. Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Allegro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Hotel

Address: Gornji trg 6, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy and luxurious hotel in the center of old Ljubljana opens its doors. It does not matter why guests come to us, but to satisfy them in all their expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Allegro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.