We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spajza

Spajza
28 Gornji, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
01 425 3094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 373 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We visited the Spajza while in Ljubljana based on Tripadviser advice. It was good, but not great, as we anticipated. Prices are higher than most restaurants in the region, and while the dishes were OK I would not say they are great value.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    153
    36
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Unusual and Outstanding Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Tired of sausage? How about horse, venison, or rabbit and an all-local wine list. You can ask the waiter to choose excellent local wines by the glass. I had the gnocchi with morel mushrooms in a nettle sauce which was excellent and beautifully presented. They make it a point to use local foods. Because it was in season, we had wild asparagus.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Ljubljana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We visited Cajna hisa in May 2014 for an early evening dinner. The restaurant is in a very picturesque part of the town, just down the end of the main pedestrian street of Ljubljana. Try their house wine, which is delicious and incredibly cheap. The prices are high for the Ljubljana standards (but much lower than the European average for a good restaurant) but service is really good and the atmosphere distinctive and cosy.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Intimate, local, and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

All foodies should visit Ljubljana. Two nights here have resulted in two of the best meals and best service I have had. Spajza was a wonderful restaurant with an intimate, but not stuffy feeling. Žiga was our waiter. He was probably the best waiter we have ever had....and we have been to the best restaurants around the world. We asked him to simply bring us the best of each course and to pair wines with the food. It was an incredible experience. He explained each course and then each wine to perfection...including the type of wood barrel used it the wine maturation. All was fabulous.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious & Vegetarian Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We'd initially been put off going to this restaurant, as the Brandt travel guide said it was a contender for the most expensive restaurant in Ljubljana. However, we're so glad we did go as the food was delicious and the service exemplary. As a vegetarian you sometimes meet a level of impatience in high-end restaurants, but our waiter was fantastic. He directed us to items that were suitable on the menu and options available by adapting other dishes. He also brought 2 red wines for my companions to try so they could decide which they preferred. I tried the Slovenian demi-sec sparkling white - if you like bubbles but find most too dry, I can highly recommend it and at around €4 for a glass, it's not too pricy. For food, I had asparagus with walnut cream, Slovenian pasta with truffles and creme brûlée, which came to around €25. Given the quality & freshness of the food, the pleasant surroundings and the great service I though that was reasonable. In addition, there was an amuse bouche and very tasty home made bread provided. There were some expensive meat and fish dishes on the menu, but I can't comment on those. I would definitely recommend from a vegetarian perspective and would encourage people to check it out.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spajza also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Spajza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spajza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.